Psychiatric Hospital or Unit LicenseAgency: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Community and Health Systems issues licenses to Psychiatric Hospitals or Units.
A “Psychiatric Hospital” is an inpatient facility for the treatment of individuals with serious mental illness or serious emotional disturbance.
A "Psychiatric Unit" is a unit of a general hospital that provides inpatient services for individuals with serious mental illness or serious emotional disturbance.
A psychiatric hospital or unit that is state licensed can be federally certified to participate in Medicare/Medicaid.
A. NAME OF LICENSE OR APPROVAL:
Health Facility License – Psychiatric Hospital or Psychiatric Unit
B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
Public Act 258 of 1974, as amended (Michigan Mental Health Code)
C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:
D. SUMMARY OF LICENSE/APPROVAL PROCESS:
1. Applicability (activities that require the license)
Offering inpatient psychiatric services to patients that do require hospitalization.
2. Pre-Application Requirements
Medical staff ready to start, policies and procedures established to offer inpatient and outpatient services, supplies and equipment ready, etc.
3. Application Submission Requirements
4. Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval
To be state licensed as a psychiatric hospital or unit, a provider must first receive Certificate of Need, Health Facilities Engineering and Fire Safety approvals. A provider also must submit an application for state licensure. After confirmation of the necessary approvals, a pre-licensure inspection will be conducted by the State Licensing Section. If the applicant is in compliance with the Code and applicable rules, a license will be issued and a post-licensure inspection will be conducted. Once licensed, the department will conduct routine inspections and complaint investigations as required.
5. Operational Requirements
Facility ready for occupancy and license.
$500 annual license fee plus $10 per bed. There is a $2,000 application fee for initial licensure.
7. Appeal Process
8. Public Input Opportunities
E. Contact Information:
Contact the Bureau of Community and Health Systems at 517-241-1970.