Intro

Bridge Committee

  • Maintaining bridges in good condition has proven to extend service life and to be more cost effective than allowing deterioration to progress, resulting in the need for more extensive and costly rehabilitation or replacement projects. By developing and implementing a comprehensive bridge preservation plan, a local agency can better identify its needs, prioritize its actions, and allocate available funds appropriately. Developing a successful bridge asset management plan requires quality inspection data, an understanding of bridge costs and actions as well as an understanding of asset management principles.

Committee Members

  • Committee Members

    Rebecca Curtis, Bridge Management Engineer (Bridge Committee Chair)
    Michigan Department of Transportation
    curtisr@michigan.gov
    (517)449-5243
    Ms. Curtis represents the Michigan Department of Transportation

    Donald Disselkoen
    Ottawa County Board of Commissioners
    ddisselkoen@miottawa.org
    (616)395-9820
    Mr. Disselkoen represents the Michigan Association of Counties

    Al Halbeisen, Director/Bridge Advisor
    OHM Advisors
    Al.halbeisen@ohm-advisors.com
    (616)897-0074
    Mr. Halbeisen represents the American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC) of Michigan.

    Brad Wieferich, Bureau Director
    Michigan Department of Transportation
    Bureau of Development
    wieferichb@michigan.gov
    (517)241-3998
    Mr. Wieferich represents the Michigan Department of Transportation

    Gary Mekjian, Assistant City Manager/Director of Public Services
    City of Farmington Hills
    GMekjian@fhgov.com
    (248) 871-2510
    Mr. Mekjian represents the Michigan Municipal League

     

    Keith Cooper, LAP Bridges Supervisor (Bridge Committee Vice Chair)
    Michigan Department of Transportation
    cooperk@michigan.gov
    (517)373-2346
    Mr. Cooper represents the Michigan Department of Transportation-Local Agency Programs

    William (Bill) McEntee, Retired Vice Chair
    Road Commission for Oakland County
    Billfacts@aol.com
    (248)672-5459
    Mr. McEntee represents the County Road Association

    Wayne Harrall, Deputy Managing Engineer/Bridge Advisor
    Kent County Road Commission
    wharrall@kentcountyroads.net
    616-242-6914
    Mr. Harrall represents the County Road Association

    Joanna Johnson, Managing Director
    Road Commission of Kalamazoo County
    jjohnson@kalamazoocountyroads.com
    (269) 381-1760
    Ms. Johnson represents the County Road Association

    Brian Vilmont, Senior Project Manager
    Prein & Newhof, Inc.
    bvilmont@preinnewhof.com
    (616) 364-8491
    Mr. Vilmont is an Asset Management Subject Matter Expert