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1.	 What is Accelerated Withholding Tax?
	 a. �Accelerated withholding tax is a modified payment 

schedule for remitting Michigan withholding 
tax. Public Acts 82 and 83 of 1991 require 
taxpayers to make their payments in the same 
manner and according to the same schedule as 
their federal withholding tax payments, when 
they paid a monthly average of $40,000 or more 
income tax withholding in the preceding calendar 
year. For more information, see MCL 205.19 at  
www.legislature.mi.gov. 

2.	� A division of a corporation does not have as 
great a liability as the corporation itself. Is the 
division required to file its withholding tax on an 
accelerated basis?

	 a. �Yes. The corporation is considered one legal entity, 
which includes all divisions.

3.	� I am required to file on an accelerated basis for 
Withholding tax, but my Sales and Use tax liability 
is quite small. How shall I file my other taxes?

	 a. �Once any Sales, Use or Withholding (SUW) tax 
has been determined an Accelerated filer, all other 
SUW taxes must be filed on a monthly frequency. 
Additionally, an Annual Reconciliation Return is 
required February 28 of each year. 

4.	� Are Accelerated Withholding accounts required to 
file a monthly return?

	 a. �Yes. A return for each month must be filed by 
the 20th of the subsequent month. Accelerated 
withholding accounts can file an electronic return 
via MTO or through approved proprietary third-
party software. If neither option is available, 
visit www.michigan.gov/taxes for forms that are 
available for paper filing.

5.	� When am I required to begin Accelerated 
Withholding Tax payments?

	 a. �The Michigan Department of Treasury will notify 
you in writing of your change to accelerated 
withholding. Accelerated withholding tax payments 
must continue unless you are notified in writing 
of a change to your filing status. These written 
notifications are generally mailed in April, and the 
changes are effective for the July tax period. 

6.	� What are the payment requirements and schedule 
for Accelerated Withholding ?

	 a. �Accelerated withholding tax payments must be 
made according to the same schedule as your 
Federal withholding tax payments. Accelerated 
withholding tax payments must be made by 
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) through Michigan 
Treasury Online (MTO) website, by ACH Credit, or 
by using approved proprietary third-party software. 
Payment by wire transfer will not be accepted. 

7.	� Can I send a check with my return?
	 a. �No. Accelerated tax payments must be made by 

EFT. Accelerated payments not made by EFT are 
subject to penalty and interest.

8.	� When do I have to initiate a payment for it to be 
timely? 

	 a. �For timely receipt of payment through MTO, filers 
must complete their payment transaction by 8 
p.m. EST one business day prior to the due date. 
ACH Credit and approved proprietary third-party 
software filers will need to contact their financial 
institution for payment transaction requirements.

9.	� What if the pre-payment or return due date falls 
on a weekend or holiday?

	 a. �If the 20th day of the month falls on a weekend, 
state holiday or banking holiday, the due date is the 
next business day. 

Key Factors About Filing Your Withholding Tax on an Accelerated Schedule 
Required for withholding tax liability that averages $40,000 or more each month of the previous calendar 

year (total liability of more than $480,000)
Payment schedule is changed to match your payment schedule for Federal Withholding tax
You are required to file returns on a monthly basis on or before the 20th day of the subsequent month
Payments must be made via an electronic payment method i.e. ACH Credit payment, EFT Debit payment 

through Michigan Treasury Online (MTO)

https://www.legislature.mi.gov


	 b. �NOTE: For a listing of specific state holidays, refer 
to Sales, Use and Withholding Tax Due Dates for 
Holidays and Weekends (Form 3149.)

10.	What notification is needed if I change banks?
	 a. �EFT Credit Filers need to provide their new 

financial institution with Instructions for Payments 
of Michigan Sales, Use, Withholding, and Other 
Michigan Business Taxes Using Electronic Funds 
Transfer (EFT) Credit (Form 2329.)

	 b. �EFT Debit filers have the capability of adding, 
changing, or deleting bank account and/or routing 
number information through their bank account 
accessed through MTO. This is done by selecting 
the “Other Payment Options” tab located in MTO, 
then clicking “Manage Payments,” From there, you 
will be redirected to JP Morgan Chase’s website 
where you can access these functions by clicking 
“Manage Accounts.”

11.	�How far in advance may I complete my payment 
data?

	 a. �Taxpayers making payments via MTO can initiate 
payments up to 90 days in advance of the settlement 
date. 

	 b. �Taxpayers making ACH credit payments or using 
approved proprietary third-party software to file and 
remit payments are advised to consult with their 
financial institution for further information.

12.	Can other business taxes be paid by EFT?
	 a. �Yes. EFT Credit filers should refer to Form 2329 

for a listing of the tax type codes to use in the 
transmission of the new tax type. 

	 b. �You can make payments for Sales, Use, Withholding, 
Michigan Business, Corporate Income, and 
Marihuana Retail Excise taxes through Michigan 
Treasury Online. 

	 c. �Additional information regarding EFT payments 
can be found at www.michigan.gov/treasury by 
clicking the link for Michigan Treasury Online  or at  
www.michigan.gov/biztaxpayments.

13.	�Will registering to pay other business taxes 
electronically eliminate the return requirement?

	 a. �No. Although payments can be remitted 
electronically, you will still be required to file a 
return on a monthly basis. 

14.	What if I pay more than one type of tax?
	 a. �A separate transmission must be made for each 

tax type. You may not combine Sales and Use tax 
payments into one lump sum transmission. The 
following five-character tax codes should be used 
to complete your transmission(s):

	 	 i.	 �01100 Withholding - Employer and 
Retirement

	 	 ii.	 04200 Sales Tax
	 	 iii.	 04400 Use Tax on Sales and Rentals
	 	 iv.	 04500 Use Tax on Purchases
	 	 v.	 02355 Michigan Business Tax Extensions
	 	 vi.	 02655 Michigan Business Tax Annual
	 	 vii.	 02670 Corporate Income Tax Annual
	 	 viii.	02170 Corporate Income Tax Estimate
	 	 ix.	 02370 Corporate Income Tax Extensions
	 	 x.	 07020 Marihuana Retail Excise Tax
15.	What if I hire or change a payroll service?
	 a. �A taxpayer can add a payroll service provider 

for their account by completing the “Manage 
Representatives” option under the Registration 
function in MTO, or by completing and submitting 
the Authorized Representative Declaration (Power 
of Attorney Form 151.)

16.	What if I still have questions?
	 a. �If you have questions concerning your account 

or the accelerated process, call (517) 636-6925, 
visit www.michigan.gov/AskSUW, or send 
correspondence to:	

	 	 Michigan Department of Treasury 
	 	 P.O. Box 30427 
	 	 Lansing, Michigan 48909

https://www.michigan.gov/treasury
https://www.michigan.gov/taxes/efile/biz
https://www.michigan.gov/AskSUW

