
Issued under Public Act 281 of 1967. This booklet is intended as a guide to  
help you prepare your credit claim. It does not take the place of the law.

FILING DUE DATE: 
SEPTEMBER 30,  2022

W W W. M I C H I G A N . G OV/ TA X E S

	� E-file your Michigan Home Heating Credit Claim (MI-1040CR-7) and eliminate 
many of the errors that lengthen processing times.  E-filed returns are usually 
processed within 14 business days. Allow 14 days before checking the status of  
your e-filed return.  

	� Visit www.MIfastfile.org for a list of e-file resources, how to find  
an e-file provider, and more information on free e-file services.

Home Heating Credit Claim

W W W. M I FA S T F I L E .O R G

2021 MICHIGAN 
MI-1040CR-7

FILING DEADLINE. The deadline for filing your 2021 home heating credit is September 30, 2022. The 
filing of an extension for income taxes does not extend the due date for the home heating credit. 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION. Michigan’s home heating credit is funded by the federal Low-Income Home 
Energy Assistance Program block grant. If you need assistance paying for your home heating costs, file the home 
heating credit claim with or without a Michigan Individual Income Tax Return (MI-1040). The credit may be issued 
directly to your heat provider, or may be issued directly to you as a draft or check. Your credit may be larger or 
smaller than the credit you received last year because the amount of money Michigan receives from this grant varies 
every year. For general information visit www.michigan.gov/heatingassistance.
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Tax Information and Assistance

Tax Assistance
The Michigan Department of Treasury (Treasury) offers 
a variety of services designed to assist you, and most are 
available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

IMPORTANT: To obtain information about your 
account using the Internet and Telephone Options listed 
below, you will need the following information from 
your return:
•	 �Social Security number (SSN) of the primary filer 

(the filer listed first on the return)
•	 Tax year of the return
•	 �Adjusted gross income (AGI) or total household 

resources
•	 �Filing status (single, married filing jointly, married 

filing separately).
Internet Options
www.michigan.gov/incometax
Find the following information on this website: 
•	 Current year forms and instructions
•	 Answers to many tax preparation questions
•	 Most commonly used tax forms
•	 Free assistance in preparing your return
•	 Other tax resources.
Select “eServices Individual Income Tax” where you can:  
•	 Select “Guest Services” to:
	 •	 Check the status of your return
	 •	� Check estimated payments you made during the 

year�
•	 Select “Account Services” to:
	 •	 Change your address
	 •	 Access letters sent by Treasury
	 •	 Check responses to letters you have sent to Treasury 
	 •	 Submit specific account requests 
	 • � You have the option to ask a question by choosing 

“Create a service request” 
	 • � �You must provide a valid email address to submit 

a question. 
Telephone Options
517-636-4486 
Automated Information Service
With Treasury’s automated phone system, you can:  
•	 Request the status of your refund
•	 Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury
•	 Request information on estimated payments
•	 Order current tax year forms.
While most questions can be answered by the Automated 
Information Service, customer service representatives 
are available from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through 
Friday.
Assistance is available using TTY through the Michigan 
Relay Service by calling 711. 

Forms
Find tax forms using the Internet and Telephone Options 
listed on this page.  Commonly used forms are also 
available at most public libraries, Northern Michigan 
post offices, and Michigan Department of Health and 
Human Services (MDHHS) county offices.
Additional Help 
If you need help completing your credit form, contact 
your local community service agency or senior citizen 
center to find out if a volunteer tax assistance program is 
available in your area.
Completing Your Forms 
Review your claim for the following common errors that 
may delay your refund:
•	 �The MI-1040CR-7 is a two-page form; both pages 

must be completed and filed to be processed
•	 Illegible writing
•	 Transposing numbers in the SSN
•	 Entering figures on wrong lines
•	 Math errors
•	 �Filling in lines if they do not apply to you or if the 

amount is zero
•	 �Missing, incomplete, or applied for Social Security 

number. If your household member does not have an 
SSN, apply for one through the Social Security 
Administration. Do not report them on your  
MI-1040CR-7, line 17, until you have received their 
SSN.�

•	 �Failing to report total household resources from all 
sources, both taxable and nontaxable

•	 �Failing to reduce the heating credit by 50 percent 
when heat is included in your rent.

Before you mail your claim, review it carefully and 
make sure it is complete.  Keep a copy of your claim and 
all schedules for six years.   
Mail your claim to: Michigan Department of Treasury
		            Lansing, MI  48956

You can file a home heating credit for the      
current tax year only.

Identity Theft
Tax-related identity theft occurs when someone 
uses your Social Security number to file a tax return 
claiming a fraudulent refund. Refer to the “Identity 
Theft” section on page 4 of the MI-1040 booklet or visit  
www.michigan.gov/identitytheft for more information.
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Important Information for All Claimants
This booklet contains forms and instructions to file 
and calculate your home heating credit. Please read 
these instructions carefully. The request for your Social 
Security number is authorized under United States Code 
(USC) Section 42. Social Security numbers are used by 
Treasury to conduct matches against benefit income 
provided by the Social Security Administration and other 
sources to verify the accuracy of the home heating and 
property tax credit claims filed, for mandatory federal 
reporting requirements and to deter fraudulent filings.
Social Security numbers must be provided for all 
household members. Household members include the 
filer, spouse, dependents and all other individuals who 
normally live with you that are not dependents. All Social 
Security numbers must be valid and assigned to a U.S. 
citizen or qualified alien. When full nine-digit Social 
Security numbers are not provided or are invalid, the 
credit will be denied.
You  may claim a home heating credit if you owned or 
rented a homestead in 2021 regardless if you currently 
receive Family Independence Program (FIP) assistance or 
other public assistance. 
If you receive FIP assistance, State Disability Assistance 
(SDA), or you are enrolled with the MDHHS for direct 
payment, by law Treasury must send your credit directly 
to your heat provider.
If your heat is provided by DTE Energy, Consumers 
Energy, or SEMCO Energy Gas, your home heating 
credit may be sent directly to your heat provider.  
(See instructions for line 18 on page 7.)
If, at the time you file this claim, your heating costs are 
included in your rent, your credit must be reduced by 50 
percent. Your credit will be issued as a check, rather than 
an energy draft (see MI-1040CR-7, lines 10 and 41).
If you file an income tax return (MI-1040), do not staple 
your home heating credit claim to the MI-1040. Fold it 
and leave it loose in the envelope. You cannot apply your 
home heating credit to your income tax liability.
If you file a property tax credit claim (Michigan 
Homestead Property Tax Credit Claim (MI-1040CR) or 
Michigan Homestead Property Tax Credit for Veterans 
and Blind People (MI‑1040CR-2)) without an MI‑1040, 
you should include your home heating credit claim with 
the property tax credit claim form.
Who May Claim a Credit
This credit helps low income families pay their home 
heating costs.  To see if you may claim a credit, answer 
the following questions:
•	 �Are you a full-time student who is claimed as a 

dependent on another person’s income tax return? 
•	 �Did you live in a licensed care facility for the entire 

year? (See “Licensed Care Facilities” on page 5.)

General Information
If you answered yes to either of these questions, you 
cannot claim a home heating credit. If you answered no 
to both questions, the following must apply in order to be 
eligible for a credit:
•	 Your homestead must be in Michigan, and 
•	 �You must own a home or have a lease agreement to 

pay rent for the home where you live.
•	 �You cannot live in college- or university-operated 

housing (including dormitories, residence halls, or 
apartments)

•	 �Your household resources must be within the income 
limits listed in Tables A and B on page 19.

You can have only one homestead at a time and you 
must be the occupant as well as the owner or renter. 
Your homestead can be a rented apartment or a mobile 
home on a lot in a mobile home park. A vacation home or 
income property is not considered your homestead.
Your homestead is in your state of domicile. Domicile is 
the place where you have your permanent home. It is the 
place to which you plan to return whenever you go away. 
College students and others whose permanent homes are 
not in Michigan are not Michigan residents. Domicile 
continues until you establish a new permanent home.
If you owned or rented only part of the year, you must 
prorate your credit. See “Part-Year Resident or Occupied 
Homestead Less Than 12 Months” on page 5. 
Spouses who share a home are entitled to only one 
home heating credit based upon the number of allowable 
exemptions in the household or the heating costs for the 
home, and joint total household resources. 
If you were separated for all or part of the year and file 
a joint federal or Michigan income tax return with your 
spouse, your credit claim is based upon either the heating 
costs of only one home or the number of exemptions in 
each household. The total household resources must be 
the combined income of both spouses for the entire year.
Spouses who maintain separate homes for the entire 
year and do not file joint federal or Michigan income 
tax returns may each claim a credit based upon 
their separate heating costs or exemptions and total 
household resources. Include Married Filing Separately 
and Divorced or Separated Claimants Schedule  
(Form 5049), which can be found on Treasury’s Web site.
If you were separated or divorced during 2021 and do not 
file joint income tax returns, your credit must be based 
on your share of the heating costs or exemptions before 
separation, plus your exemptions and individual heating 
costs after separation. Include a schedule showing your 
computation and Form 5049.
When to File
The final date for filing a 2021 home heating credit is 
September 30, 2022.  (Your claim must be postmarked 
by September 30, 2022) The filing of an extension 
for income taxes does not extend the due date for the 
home heating credit. File early to receive priority 
processing. 
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Amending Your Credit Claim
File a new claim form and check the Amended Return 
box at the top of page 1 of the form. If applicable, include 
a copy of your heat statement(s).
NOTE: An amended MI-1040CR-7 claim requesting 
an additional refund will not be accepted after  
September 30, 2022.
Exemptions
You may claim one exemption for each of the following:
•	 �Yourself, unless you are eligible to be claimed as a 

dependent on someone else’s return
•	 �Your spouse, unless you are filing a married filing 

separately claim
•	 �Your children who live with you, even if their support 

comes from FIP assistance or someone else.  If you do 
not have custody of your children, you cannot claim 
them on your MI-1040CR-7, even if you can claim 
them on your MI-1040

•	 �Any other dependent who lives with you and for 
whom you provided more than half of their support.

A special exemption may be taken if you, your spouse or 
your dependents qualify. Special exemptions are available 
for individuals that are deaf, disabled or blind. An 
additional exemption is available for qualified disabled 
veterans. If your dependent files a credit claim, you or 
your dependent, but not both, may claim the dependent’s 
exemption(s). See instructions for line 16.
Deceased Claimants
If the taxpayer died during 2021, the personal 
representative may claim the standard heating credit but 
may not claim the alternate heating credit. If your spouse 
died in 2021, use the same number of exemptions you 
would have used had your spouse lived all year.
The surviving spouse may file a joint claim for 2021. 
Write your name and the deceased’s name and both Social 
Security numbers on the MI‑1040CR-7. Write “DECD” 
after the deceased’s name. You must report the deceased’s 
income. Sign the claim on the deceased’s signature line, 
write “Filing as surviving spouse.” Enter the deceased’s 
date of death in the “Deceased Taxpayer” box on the 
bottom of page 2 of the form.
If filing as a personal representative or claimant for 
a single deceased taxpayer or when both taxpayers are 
deceased:
•	 �You must include a U.S. Form 1310 or Michigan Claim 

for Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer (Form MI-1310) 
•	 �Enter the name(s) of the deceased person(s) in the 

Filer’s and/or Spouse’s name fields with “DECD” next 
to the name(s) and the representative’s or claimant’s 
name, title and address in the home address field

•	 �Use the deceased’s Social Security number on the 
form

•	 �Enter the date(s) of death in the designated boxes on 
the bottom of page 2

•	 �You must prorate for the number of days from  
January 1 until the date of death.  See page 5 for more 
information on prorating the credit.

Total Household Resources
Total household resources are the total income (taxable 
and nontaxable) of both spouses or of a single person 
maintaining a household. They are AGI, excluding net 
business and farm losses, net rent and royalty losses, and 
any carryover of a net operating loss, plus all income 
exempt or excluded from AGI. 
Total household resources include the following items 
not listed on the form:
•	 �Capital gains on the sale of your residence regardless 

if the gains are exempt from federal income tax
•	 �Compensation for damages to character or for 

personal injury or sickness
•	 �An inheritance (except an inheritance from your 

spouse)
•	 �Proceeds of a life insurance policy paid on the death of 

the insured (except benefits from a policy on your 
spouse)

•	 Death benefits paid by or on behalf of an employer
•	 Minister’s housing allowance
•	 �Forgiveness of debt, even if excluded from AGI  

(e.g., mortgage foreclosure)
•	 �Reimbursement from dependent care and/or medical 

care spending accounts
•	 �Scholarships, stipends, grants, and payments, except 

government payments, made directly to third parties 
such as an educational institution or subsidized 
housing project
NOTE: COVID-related government cash grants paid 
directly to students in higher education institutions are 
included in total household resources.

•	 �Forgiven Paycheck Protection Program loans, include 
the amount of the forgiven loan reduced by business 
expenses related to payroll, rent and utilities that were 
not deducted in determining AGI.

Total household resources do NOT include:
•	 �Net operating loss deductions taken on your federal 

return
•	 �Payments received by participants in the foster 

grandparent or senior companion program
•	 Energy assistance grants
•	 �Government payments made directly to a third party 

(e.g., payments to a doctor, GI Bill benefits, payments 
from a PELL grant and the 2021 MSHDA Eviction 
Division Program (EDP) or COVID Emergency Rental 
Assistance Program (CERA) to the extent not included 
in AGI).
NOTE: If payment is made from money withheld 
from your benefit, the payment is part of total 
household resources. (For example, the MDHHS may 
pay your rent directly to the landlord.)

•	 �Money received from a government unit to repair or 
improve your homestead

•	 Surplus food or food assistance program benefits
•	 �State and city income tax refunds and homestead 

property tax credits
•	 �Chore service payments (these payments are income 

to the provider of the service)



5

•	 �The first $300 from gambling, bingo, lottery, awards, 
or prizes

•	 �The first $300 in gifts of cash or merchandise 
received, or expenses paid on your behalf (rent, taxes, 
utilities, food, medical care, etc.) by parents, relatives, 
or friends

•	 �Amounts deducted from Social Security or Railroad 
Retirement benefits for Medicare premiums

•	 �Life, health, and accidental insurance premiums paid 
by your employer

•	 Loan proceeds
•	 Inheritance from a spouse
•	 Life insurance benefits from a spouse
•	 �Payments from a long-term care policy made to a 

nursing home or other care facility
•	 �Most payments from The Step Forward Michigan 

program
•	 Compensation for wrongful imprisonment
•	 Economic Impact Payments 
For more information on Total Household Resources, 
visit www.michigan.gov/taxtotalhouseholdresources.
Special Provisions for Farmers
If you received a farmland preservation tax credit in 
2021, you must include it in total household resources. 
You may subtract the business portion of your homestead 
property tax credit if you included it in taxable farm 
income.
Licensed Care Facilities
If you live in a licensed care facility, generally you 
do not qualify for the home heating credit. Licensed 
care facilities include adult foster care homes, licensed 
homes for the aged, nursing homes, and substance abuse 
treatment centers. If you lived in a licensed care facility 
only part of the year, you could qualify for a partial 
credit for the period you lived outside the facility. See 
“Part-Year Resident or Occupied Homestead Less Than 
12 Months” on this page.
If your spouse lives in a licensed care facility and you 
live in the family homestead, you may still qualify for a 
credit.  File a joint credit claim and do not check a box 
on line 15.
Subsidized senior citizen apartments are not licensed 
care facilities. If you live in a subsidized senior citizen 
apartment, you may apply for a credit.

Standard Credit
The standard credit computation uses standard 
allowances established by law. Use Table A on  
page 19 to find the standard allowance for the number of 
exemptions you claimed.
Shared Housing Standard Allowance
If you share a home but are not the owner or you do 
not have a contract to pay rent, you cannot claim a 
credit.

When two or more single adults share a home, each may 
claim a credit if each has contracted to pay rent or owns a 
share of the home. Each should file a home heating credit 
based on his or her total household resources and his or 
her share of the standard allowance. First, determine the 
standard allowance from Table A on page 19 by adding 
the personal exemptions of all the claimants sharing a 
home.  Divide this standard allowance by the number of 
claimants in the home.
Example:  Three men share an apartment.  Each has 
a signed lease and pays 1/3 of the rent.  The standard 
allowance for three exemptions is $846. Each person 
must use a standard allowance of $282 ($846 ÷ 3 = $282) 
to compute his credit.
If you are eligible for a special exemption, compute 
your standard allowance following this example:
Example:  Gertrude and Betty share a home and each 
pays one half of the rent. Gertrude is age 59, and Betty 
is age 65 and totally and permanently disabled. They file 
separate MI-1040CR-7 claims. They must first divide 
$672 (the standard allowance for two exemptions) by two. 
Gertrude’s allowance is $336 ($672 ÷ 2 = $336). Because 
Betty qualifies for a special exemption for being disabled 
(she is entitled to a disabled exemption until she is eligible 
for full Social Security at age 66 and 2 months), she may 
add the difference between the standard allowance for 
three ($846) and the standard allowance for two ($672) to 
$336.	
	 $846 - $672 = $174 + $336 = $510

	 $510 is the standard allowance for Betty. 
If you are eligible for a dependent exemption, 
compute your standard allowance following this 
example:
Example: Marlin and Brody share an apartment. 
Each person has signed the lease agreement and pays  
one-half of the rent in 2021. The standard allowance for 
two exemptions is $672. Each person must use a standard 
allowance of $336 ($672 ÷ 2 = $336) to compute the 
credit.
Brody is eligible for a dependent exemption for his son, 
Logan, so he would then compute his credit as follows:
The standard allowance as computed above is $336. Then 
add the difference between the standard allowance for 
three ($846) and the standard allowance for two ($672) 
to $336.
	 $846 - $672 = $174 + $336 = $510

	 $510 is the standard allowance for Brody. 
Part-Year Resident or Occupied Homestead Less 
Than 12 Months 
You must prorate your standard allowance for the 
number of days you owned or rented and occupied 
your Michigan homestead. For example, you moved to 
Michigan on September 1. It is 122 days from September 1 
to December 31. Divide 122 by 365 days and multiply 
the result by your standard allowance. Enter the prorated 
standard allowance on line 38 of your claim.
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Lines not listed are explained on the form.
Amended Return box: If amending your 2021 credit, 
check the box at the top of the form. See page 4.
Lines  1,  2 and  3:  Enter your name(s), current address, 
and full nine-digit Social Security number(s). If you are 
married filing separately, enter both Social Security 
numbers but do not enter your spouse’s name. All Social 
Security numbers must be valid and assigned to a U.S. 
citizen or qualified alien. When full nine-digit Social 
Security numbers are not provided or are invalid, the 
credit will be denied.
Line  4:  Enter your two-digit county code from the 
County Code Table on page 19.
Line 5: Check each box to indicate if the filer and/
or spouse is a U.S. citizen or qualified alien. Qualified 
alien means an individual who is lawfully admitted 
for permanent residence under the Immigration 
and Nationality Act and all others as defined under  
8 USC 1641. The information is required under the 
federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity 
Reconciliation Act (PRWORA).
Line 6: Enter your heat provider name code from Table 1 on 
page 10. If you have heat included in your rent, ask your 
landlord to identify the heat provider for your homestead.
Line 7: Enter your three-digit heat type code from  
Table 2 on page 10. The heat type entered here must be 
for your primary household heating source. If you have 
heat included in your rent, ask your landlord to identify 
the heat type for your homestead.
Line  8:  Filing Status. Check the box to identify your 
filing status. All couples who are married under the laws 
of the State of Michigan, or under the laws of another 
state, and are treated as married for federal tax purposes 
must claim either married filing jointly or married filing 

separately status on the home heating credit. If you file 
a joint federal return, you must file a joint home heating 
credit. Married couples who live together all year and 
file returns as married filing separately must check the 
box for joint filing status and include the total household 
resources of both spouses. An individual who became 
separated from their spouse during the tax year but is 
still married as of December 31 and who filed a return 
as married filing separately should check the married 
filing separately box and include Form 5049. If you filed 
your federal return as head of household or qualifying 
widow(er), you must file the home heating credit as single.
Line  9:  Residency. Check the box that describes your 
Michigan residency for 2021. If you and your spouse had 
a different residency status during the year, check a box 
for each of you. If you checked box c, enter the dates 
of Michigan residency in 2021. You must then prorate 
your standard allowance following the instructions on  
page 5 for “Part-Year Resident or Occupied Homestead 
Less Than 12 Months”. If you are a nonresident, you are 
not eligible for the home heating credit; do not file this 
form. College students and others whose permanent 
homes are not in Michigan are not Michigan residents.
Line  10:  If your heating costs are included in your rent, 
you must check the box on line 10 and complete line 41 of 
the form to receive a check. Failure to do so will result in 
your credit being issued as a draft. You will then have to 
return the draft with a note of explanation to Treasury. It 
may take 120 days or more to issue a check to replace the 
draft.
Line 11: Based on information you provide in this 
application, you may be qualified for other support 
programs. Check this box if you would like the State of 
Michigan to investigate and alert you to any opportunities 
for other assistance. 

Line-by-Line Instructions for MI-1040CR-7

If you are a part-year resident, you must include all 
income received from any sources while a Michigan 
resident in total household resources. 
Alternate Credit
The alternate credit uses heating costs to compute 
a home heating credit.  Add the amounts you were 
billed for heat from November 1, 2020 through  
October 31, 2021 (see instructions for line 14).  If you 
buy bulk fuel (oil, coal, wood, or bottled gas), add your 
receipts to get your total heating cost. Treasury may 
request receipts to verify your heating costs. If your 
claim is for less than 12 months or your heating costs 
are currently included in your rent, you cannot claim 
an alternate credit. You may claim heating costs on your 
Michigan homestead only.  You may not claim heating 
costs on a vacation home or a home outside of Michigan.
For assistance in determining the credit for which you 
may qualify, visit www.michigan.gov/heatingassistance.

Credit Payments
If you are responsible for paying your heating bills, 
State law requires Treasury to issue your credit in the 

form of a State of Michigan Energy Draft.  You can only 
use the draft to pay heat bills.  Give the draft to your 
enrolled heat provider who will apply it to current or 
future heating bills for your home.  If the amount of your 
draft is more than you owe, you may request a refund of 
the difference by checking the box on line 18. See the 
instructions for line 18 on page 7 for more information.
If you receive a draft and your heat provider is not 
enrolled in Michigan’s energy assistance program, your 
heat is in someone else’s name, or if you use bulk fuel 
and have already bought your energy supply for the year, 
return the draft with a note of explanation to Treasury. 
Treasury will review your explanation and, if appropriate, 
reissue your credit in the form of a check. It may take 120 
days or more to issue a check to replace the draft. If you 
are notified of denial, you have the right to a hearing.
If you receive FIP assistance or other MDHHS benefits 
or you are enrolled with MDHHS for direct payment, the 
law requires your credit to be sent directly to your heat 
provider, who will then apply it to your account.  
If your heat is provided by DTE Energy, Consumers 
Energy, or SEMCO Energy Gas, your home heating 
credit may be sent directly to your heat provider.  
(See instructions for line 18 on page 7.)
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Line  14:  If you checked the box on line 10 or the 
taxpayer died during the tax year and the credit is being 
claimed by a personal representative or claimant, skip 
this line.  If you were not a full-year Michigan resident 
and/or were not billed for 12 months’ heating costs 
between November 1, 2020 and October 31, 2021, skip 
this line.  Otherwise, enter the heating costs you were 
billed from November 1, 2020 to October 31, 2021 on 
your Michigan homestead.  Many fuel companies include 
the total heating cost for those 12 months on the October 
bill. If you cannot find your bills or the information is not 
on your October bill, contact your heat provider.
Line  15:  If you lived in one of the care facilities listed 
on line 15 for all of  2021, you are not eligible for a home 
heating credit and should not file this form. If you are 
married and your spouse lived in a licensed care facility 
while you lived in your homestead, do not check a box. 
Also, do not check the “Licensed Home for the Aged” 
box if you live in subsidized senior citizen housing.  
See “Licensed Care Facilities” on page 5.
Line  16:  Exemptions. 
Line 16a: Personal Exemption. Enter “1” if you are 
single or married filing separately; “2” if you are married 
filing jointly.
Line 16b: Michigan Special Exemptions: Deaf, Blind, 
or Certain Disabilities. Complete this line, claiming 
only one exemption per person as it applies to you, your 
spouse and your dependents. If your dependent files a 
credit claim, you or your dependent, but not both, may 
claim the dependent’s special exemption. You qualify 
for this exemption if you are deaf, blind, hemiplegic, 
paraplegic, quadriplegic, or totally and permanently 
disabled.
•	 Deaf means the primary way you receive messages is 

through a sense other than hearing (e.g., lip reading 
or sign language).

•	 Blind means your better eye permanently has 
20/200 vision or less with corrective lenses, or your 
peripheral field of vision is 20 degrees or less. 

•	 Totally and permanently disabled means disabled 
as defined under Social Security Guidelines 42 
USC 416. If you were age 66 by October 31, 2021, 
you may not claim an exemption as totally and 
permanently disabled.

Line 16c: Qualified disabled veteran. Taxpayers may 
claim an extra exemption if the taxpayer or spouse is a 
qualified disabled veteran, or a dependent of the taxpayer 
is a qualified disabled veteran. To be eligible for the 
additional exemption an individual must be a veteran 
of the active military, naval, marine, coast guard, or air 
service who received an honorable or general discharge 
and has a disability incurred or aggravated in the line 
of duty as described in 38 USC 101(16). This additional 
exemption may not be claimed on more than one credit 
claim. 
Line 16g: Dependent Adults. Include dependents 
over the age 18 who live with you and for whom you 
provided more than half of their support. If your 
dependent files a credit claim, you or your dependent, but 
not both, may claim an exemption for the dependent.
Line  17:  To comply with the federal Personal 
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act 
(PRWORA), the names, Social Security numbers, and 

status as a dependent and U.S. citizen or qualified alien 
for all household members must be reported. Use the 
chart provided to enter this information. For purposes of 
this chart, household members include:
•	 All those claimed as dependent children on lines 16d 

through 16f 
•	 All those claimed as dependent adults other than 

your spouse on line 16g
•	 All other individuals living with you and not 

already included on lines 16d through 16g. 
Include individuals temporarily absent from the 
homestead due to illness or employment. Do not 
include individuals absent from the homestead for 
90 consecutive days or more during 2021. Do not 
include individuals who are filing a separate form for 
their own home heating credit.

For each household member, enter their SSN in column B. 
If the SSN is left blank, the credit will be denied. Enter 
the years of age in column C. For children 12 months and 
under, enter one year in column C. Check all the boxes in 
column D that apply to each household member. 
If you have more than four household members, complete 
the Michigan Home Heating Credit Claim MI-1040CR-7 
Supplemental (Form 4976) on page 15. 
Line  18:  If your heat is provided by DTE Energy, 
Consumers Energy, or SEMCO Energy Gas, your home 
heating credit may be sent directly to your heat provider. 
If the credit amount exceeds your heat account balance, 
check this box to receive a refund from your heat 
provider for the overpayment, when eligible.
If you received heating assistance from MDHHS, a 
governmental agency, or a nonprofit organization in 
the 12 months prior to the receipt of your home heating 
credit, your heat provider will apply your credit to any 
outstanding balance still remaining on your account. 
If, after nine months, a refund balance still remains on 
account with your heat provider, your heat provider will 
issue a refund to you. If you have not received heating 
assistance in the past 12 months, your heat provider will 
first apply your credit to any outstanding balance on your 
account and then issue any remaining balance to you 
as a refund. The home heating credit is not considered 
heating assistance for determining when you may receive 
a refund.
Heat Provider Contact Information
Consumers Energy.....................................1-800-477-5050

www.consumersenergy.com
DTE Energy...............................................1-800-477-4747

www.dteenergy.com
SEMCO Energy Gas..................................1-800-624-2019

www.semcoenergygas.com
Total Household Resources
You must complete lines 19 through 37 on MI‑1040CR‑7  
even if you filed a homestead property tax credit claim 
(MI-1040CR or MI-1040CR-2). Include all taxable and 
nontaxable income you and your spouse received in 2021. 
If your family lived in Michigan and one spouse earned 
wages outside Michigan, include the income earned both 
in and out-of-state in your total household resources. 
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Line  19: Enter all compensation received as an employee. 
Include strike pay, supplemental unemployment benefits 
(SUB pay), sick pay, or long-term disability benefits, 
including income protection insurance and any other 
amounts reported to you on Form W-2.
Line 20: Do not include business dividend and interest 
income reported as a distributable share on your federal 
Schedule K-1.  See line 21 instructions.
Line  21: Enter the amount to the extent included in AGI 
from:
•	 U.S. Schedule C (Profit or Loss from Business)
•	 Part II (Ordinary Gains and Losses) of the  

U.S. Form 4797
•	 Part II (Income or Loss from Partnerships and  

S Corporations) and Part III (Income or Loss from 
Estates and Trusts) of the U.S. Schedule E

•	 U.S. Schedule F (Profit or Loss from Farming)
•	 Include income items reported as a distributive share.
If the total is negative enter “0.” Include amounts from 
sources outside Michigan. Include the above federal 
schedules with your claim.
Line  22: Enter the amount to the extent included in AGI 
from:
•	 Part I (Income or Loss from Rental Real Estate and 

Royalties) of the U.S. Schedule E
•	 Part IV (Income or Loss from Real Estate Mortgage  

Investment Conduits (REMIC)) of the U.S. Schedule E 
(rents, royalties)

•	 Part V (Net farm rental income or (loss) from  
Form 4835) of the U.S. Schedule E.

If the total is negative enter “0.” Include amounts from 
sources outside Michigan. Include the above federal 
schedules with your claim.
Line 23:  Enter all annuity, retirement, pension, and 
individual retirement account (IRA) benefits. This should 
be the taxable amount shown on your U.S. Form 1099-R.  
If no taxable amount is shown on your U.S. Form 1099-R, 
use the amount required to be included in AGI. Enter 
zero if all of your distribution is from your contributions 
made with income previously included in AGI. Include 
reimbursement payments such as an increase in a 
pension to pay for Medicare charges.  Also include the 
total amount of any lump sum distribution including 
amounts reported on your U.S. Form 4972. Do not include 
recoveries of after-tax contributions or amounts rolled 
over into another plan (amounts rolled over into a Roth 
IRA must be included to the extent included in AGI).
You must include any part of a distribution from a Roth 
IRA that exceeds your total contributions to the Roth 
IRA regardless of whether this amount is included in 
AGI.  Assume that all contributions to the Roth IRA are 
withdrawn first.  NOTE: Losses from Roth IRAs cannot 
be deducted.
Line  24:  Enter net capital gains and losses. This is the 
total of short-term and long-term gains less short-term 
and long-term losses from your U.S. Schedule D (losses 
cannot exceed $3,000 if single or married filing jointly or 
$1,500 if married filing separately). Include gains realized 
on the sale of your residence whether or not these gains 
are exempt from federal income tax. 

Line  25:  Enter alimony received and other taxable 
income. Only include alimony received if due to a divorce 
granted prior to 2019. Other taxable income includes: 
awards, prizes, lottery, bingo, and other gambling 
winnings over $300; farmland preservation tax credits 
if not included in net farm income on line 21; and 
forgiveness of debt to the extent included in federal AGI 
(e.g., mortgage foreclosure).
Line  26:  Enter all Social Security, Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI), and/or Railroad Retirement 
benefits. Include death benefits and amounts received 
for minor children or other dependent adults who live 
with you. Report the amount actually received. Medicare 
premiums reported on your Social Security or Railroad 
Retirement statement should be deducted.
Line  27:  Enter child support and all payments received 
as a foster parent. NOTE: If you received a 2021 
Custodial Party (CP) End of Year Statement (FEN-851) 
showing child support payments paid to the Friend of the 
Court, enter the child support portion here and include a 
copy of the statement. Also see line 32 instructions.
Line 28:  Enter all unemployment compensation received 
during 2021.
Line  29: Enter the value over $300 in gifts of cash or 
merchandise received, or expenses paid on your behalf 
(rent, taxes, utilities, food, medical care, etc.) by parents, 
relatives, or friends. This includes the amount of financial 
support you received if you are claimed as a dependent 
on someone else’s return. Do not include government 
payments made directly to third parties such as an 
educational institution or subsidized housing project.
Line  30:  Enter other nontaxable income. This includes: 
•	 �Nongovernmental scholarship, stipend or grant 

payments paid directly to an educational institution
•	 �Compensation for damages to character or for personal 

injury or sickness
•	 �An inheritance (except an inheritance from your 

spouse)
•	 �Proceeds of a life insurance policy paid on the death of 

the insured (except benefits from a policy on your 
spouse)

•	 Death benefits paid by or on behalf of an employer
•	 Minister’s housing allowance
•	 �Forgiveness of debt to the extent not included in federal 

AGI (e.g., mortgage foreclosure)
•	 �Reimbursement from dependent care and/or medical 

care spending accounts.
For more information, see “Total Household Resources” 
on page 4.
Line  31:  Enter workers’ compensation, service 
connected disability compensation and pension benefits 
from the Veterans Administration. Veterans receiving 
retirement benefits should enter the benefits on line 23.
Line  32:  Enter the total payments made to your 
household by MDHHS and all other public assistance 
payments such as state adoption subsidies. Your 2021 
Client Annual Statement (DHS-1241) mailed by MDHHS 
in January 2022 will show your total MDHHS payments. 
Your statement(s) may include the following: FIP 
assistance, State Disability Assistance (SDA), Refugee 
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Assistance, Repatriate Assistance, and vendor payments 
for shelter, heat, and utilities. 
NOTE: If you received a 2021 FEN-851 (include a copy), 
subtract the amount of child support payments entered on  
line 27 from the total MDHHS payments and enter the 
difference here.
Line  34:  Enter total adjustments from your 
U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1. Describe  adjustments 
to income. These adjustments reduce total household 
resources and include some of the following: 
•	 Payments to IRAs, SEP, SIMPLE, or qualified plans
•	 Student loan interest deduction
•	 �Moving expenses incurred by members of the Armed 

Forces on active duty and, due to a military order, 
move into or within Michigan because of a 
permanent change in station. Moving expenses when 
moving out of Michigan cannot be included in “Other 
Adjustments” to reduce total household resources. 

•	 Deduction for self-employment tax
•	 Self-employed health insurance deduction
•	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings
•	 Alimony paid if deductible on your U.S. Form 1040
•	 Jury duty pay you gave to your employer
•	 Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA) deduction
•	 �Health Savings Account (HSA) deduction
•	 �Any other adjustments to gross income included on 

your 2021 U.S. Form 1040, Schedule 1.
Line  35:  Enter health insurance premiums, Health 
Maintenance Organization (HMO) premiums, or other 
insurance premiums you paid for yourself and your 
family. Include the following premiums:
•	 Medical insurance 
•	 Dental insurance
•	 Vision insurance
•	 Prescription drug plan
•	 Automobile insurance (medical care portion only).
Do not include any insurance premiums deducted on 
line 26 or line 34, amounts paid for income protection 
insurance (long-term disability), long‑term care 
insurance, or amounts paid by an employer with pre‑tax 
payroll contributions.
You must reduce an insurance premium by the federal 
premium tax credit received under the Patient Protection 
and Affordable Care Act. Use the 2021 U.S. Premium Tax 
Credit Form 8962 to calculate the net insurance premium. 
The annual total insurance premium (line 11(a) of  
U.S. Form 8962 or the sum of lines 12(a) through 23(a) of 
U.S. Form 8962) less the total premium tax credit  (line 
24 of U.S. Form 8962) may be claimed.
Your Credit
There are two ways to compute a home heating credit:  
the standard credit and the alternate credit. If you are 
eligible to claim either credit, figure your credit both 
ways and claim the larger amount. 
Lines 38 through 40:  Standard credit.  See Table A on 
page 19.  Find the number of exemptions you are allowed 
and the corresponding income ceiling amount. If your 

total household resources are less than this amount, you 
are eligible to use this method to calculate your credit.
Example:  You and your spouse have three dependent 
children, so you are allowed five exemptions. Your total 
household resources are $15,000. This is less than the 
$34,157 income ceiling for five exemptions. Complete the 
form using the standard credit method.
If you are a part-year resident or occupied your 
homestead  less than 12 months, see page 5 for 
information on how to prorate your standard allowance.
Line  41:  If your heat is included in your rent at the 
time you file this claim, you must reduce your computed 
standard credit by 50 percent (0.50).  Multiply line 40 by 
0.50.  Enter this amount on lines 41 and 46.
Lines  42  through  45:  Alternate credit.  If your claim 
is for less than 12 months or your heat cost is included 
with your rent, you are not eligible to use the alternate 
credit method. 
If your total household resources are less than the 
maximum income for your number of Michigan 
exemptions, you may claim this credit. See Table B on 
page 19.
Example:  You are single, have one dependent child and 
your 70-year old father is also your dependent. You are 
allowed three exemptions. Your annual heat costs were 
$1,100 and your total household resources are $5,500. 
This is less than $25,775 the maximum income for three 
exemptions.
Line  46:  If you completed line 41, you must enter that 
amount here. Otherwise, enter the larger amount from 
line 40 or line 45. 
Line  47:  Multiply the amount on line 46 by  
100 percent (1.00) (the percentage of federal home heating 
assistance funds available for this year) and enter here. 
This is the amount of your 2021 home heating credit.
When You Have Finished
 Sign your return
Review your claim to make sure your name(s), Social 
Security number(s), address, and all other important 
information are on the claim. If the return is completed 
by a tax preparer he or she must include the name, 
address, telephone number of the firm he or she 
represents, and preparer tax identification number or 
federal employer identification number. Check the box 
to indicate if Treasury may discuss your return with your 
preparer. 
The Taxpayer Protection Act requires paid preparers 
to sign the return and provide his or her preparer 
tax identification number. Additional information 
on the Taxpayer Protection Act is available at  
www.michigan.gov/taxes.  
A paid preparer must not engage in any fraudulent tax 
activity. Any concerns related to fraudulent activity 
of a paid preparer may be reported to the Michigan 
Department of Treasury, Fraud Unit, P.O. Box 30140, 
Lansing, MI  48909. Any tax-related identity theft 
concerns, see page 4 of the MI-1040 booklet.
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Table 2: Heat Type Codes 

100 Electric Heat 
200 Fuel Oil
300 Natural Gas
400 Propane/LP Gas
500 Wood and Other Heat Types Not Listed

Wood and Other Heat Types 
Not Listed
96492
8244138
4289
24034
195425
202175
3425749
672
8451
200734
9424005
1930205
8922999
2121270
2100252
6873115
669
160747
202769
2155410
9999999

B. Decare
B. Kirschner
B. Moeke
Cooks Forest Products
Countryside Firewood
DT Firewood
Enchanted Acres
Family Farm and Home 
Hauger Forest Products 
Hess Corn Energy Products
J. Blades 
J. Helsel
K. Sadler
Kellys Tree Service
K. Walraven
Lutke Forest Products
M. Heikkinen
Mid Michigan Tree Service
Ryan’s Firewood Processing
Services by Tim
Other

Fuel Oil 

901212
900486
900115
900166
900347
900231
900238
900292
900360
900415
183488
900573
5264520
902042
901297
900764
900863
900992
1321795
901181
9999999

American Gas & Oil
Blarney Castle
Bowman Gas & Oil Co
Cass City Oil & Gas
CF Fick & Sons
Coyne Oil
Crystal Flash
Ellsworth Farmers Exchange
Forward Energy
Gary Oil Company
Growmark Inc
Johnson Oil Co.
Keweenaw Petroleum Services
Krist Oil Co
Marlette Oil & Gas 
Naser Oil & Propane
Peterson Oil Co.
Scotland Oil Co.
Suburban Propane LP
Webster & Garner
Other

Electric Heat

901832
901748
900203
0900213
0900257
900815
900550
901334
901413
901142
901207
900656
9999999

Cherryland Electric Cooperative 
City of Bay City
Cloverland Electric Cooperative
Consumers Energy 
DTE Energy
Great Lakes Energy Cooperative
Indiana Michigan Power Company
Lansing Board of Water and Light
Tri County Electric Cooperative
Upper Peninsula Power Company 
Wisconsin Electric Power Co.
Xcel Energy/Northern States Power Company
Other

Propane/LP Gas

96531

900098

3460040

900347

9913090

900238

900292

900793

6187524

900360

3914321

44650

7468172

42923

3225004

7889343

5118611

901131

1573603

4939245

9999999

Amerigas

Blarney Castle

Blue Flame

CF Fick & Sons

Coyne Propane

Crystal Flash

Ellsworth Farmers Exchange

Ferrellgas

Fischer LP Gas

Forward Energy

Fruitport LP  Gas

Heintz Propane

Irons Bottle Gas Inc.

Suburban Propane LP

Sunrise Gas

Tall Pines Propane

Tapper Propane

Tri Gas Dist Co.

UP Propane LLC

Ziehm LP Gas

Other

Natural Gas
900198
0900213
0900720
1111171
900908
0901035
6541563
901247
900656
9999999

Citizens Gas Fuel Co.
Consumers Energy 
DTE Energy
Michigan Gas Utilities (MGU) 
Presque Isle Electric & Gas Cooperative 
SEMCO Energy Gas
Superior Energy Co. LLC
Wisconsin Public Service Corp 
Xcel Energy/Northern States Power Company
Other

Table 1: Heat Provider Name Codes. Heat Provider Name Codes are listed alphabetically within each heat type 
with code numbers to the left of the names.
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01	 Alcona
02	 Alger
03	 Allegan
04	 Alpena
05	 Antrim
06	 Arenac
07	 Baraga
08	 Barry
09	 Bay
10	 Benzie
11	 Berrien
12	 Branch
13	 Calhoun
14	 Cass
15	 Charlevoix
16	 Cheboygan
17	 Chippewa
18	 Clare
19	 Clinton
20	 Crawford
21	 Delta

22	 Dickinson
23	 Eaton
24	 Emmet
25	 Genesee
26	 Gladwin
27	 Gogebic
28	 Grand Traverse
29	 Gratiot
30	 Hillsdale
31	 Houghton
32 	 Huron
33	 Ingham
34	 Ionia
35	 Iosco
36	 Iron
37	 Isabella
38	 Jackson
39	 Kalamazoo
40	 Kalkaska
41	 Kent
42	 Keweenaw

43 	 Lake
44	 Lapeer
45	 Leelanau
46	 Lenawee
47	 Livingston
48	 Luce
49	 Mackinac
50	 Macomb
51	 Manistee
52	 Marquette
53	 Mason
54	 Mecosta
55	 Menominee
56	 Midland
57	 Missaukee
58	 Monroe
59	 Montcalm
60 	 Montmorency
61	 Muskegon
62	 Newaygo
63	 Oakland

64	 Oceana
65	 Ogemaw
66	 Ontonagon
67	 Osceola
68	 Oscoda
69	 Otsego
70	 Ottawa
71	 Presque Isle
72	 Roscommon
73	 Saginaw
74	 St. Clair
75	 St. Joseph
76	 Sanilac
77	 Schoolcraft
78	 Shiawassee
79	 Tuscola
80	 Van Buren
81	 Washtenaw
82	 Wayne
83	 Wexford

COUNTY CODE TABLE

TABLE  A: 2021 Home Heating Credit Standard Allowance

Your Exemptions
(from line 16h)

Standard
Allowance

Income
Ceiling

0 or 1 	 $497 $14,186
2 	 $672 $19,186
3 	 $846 $24,157
4 	 $1,021 $29,156
5 	 $1,196 $34,157
6 	 $1,371 $39,157

+ $175 for each 
exemption over 6

+ $5,000 for each 
exemption over 6

TABLE  B
Exemptions and Maximum Income for the Alternate Credit Computation

Your Exemptions
(from line 16h)

Maximum
Income

0 or 1 $15,237
2 $20,504
3 $25,775
4 or more $27,700

NOTE:  If you lived in your homestead for less than 12 months, you must prorate 
your standard allowance (see instructions).
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Index Help With Child Care Costs

If your family income is at or below levels established by the 
Michigan Department of Education, you may be eligible for help 
with child care costs.  For example, a family of three with an income 
of less than $40,632 may qualify for partial payment of child care 
costs.  Contact any local Michigan Department of Health and Human 
Services office or your Great Start to Quality Resource Center for 
assistance in the application process. For more details about the Child 
Development and Care program, visit www.michigan.gov/childcare. 
To find a licensed or registered child care provider in your area, visit 
www.greatstarttoquality.org.

Winter Protection Plan
If you are a low income or senior citizen customer of a natural gas or 
electric utility company, regulated by the Michigan Public Service 
Commission and would like to participate in the Winter Protection Plan, 
a payment deferral program that provides winter shut off protection 
from   November 1 to March 31, contact your local energy supplier or the 
Michigan Public Service Commission at 1-800-292-9555 for details.

Low Interest Home Improvement Loans
Energy bills too high?  The Michigan State Housing Development 
Authority (MSHDA) offers low interest home improvement loans          
(4 percent to 8 percent) to qualified homeowners.  You can borrow up 
to $25,000 without any equity, and add insulation, replace your furnace, 
install energy efficient windows, and pay for other eligible energy 
improvements.  For more details, visit www.michigan.gov/mshda, then 
click on the Home Improvement link.  You may also call 517-373-8017.

Affordable Rental Housing
Looking for affordable rental housing? 
Go to www.MichiganHousingLocator.com. It is the best source 
for affordable rental housing across the State. It’s a free resource for 
property owners and renters with over 240,000 unit listings.


