2024 MICHIGAN Corporate Income Tax

Insurance Companies FORMS AND INSTRUCTIONS

FC.

- ✤ E-filing your return is easy, fast, and secure!
- ✓ Visit Treasury's Web site at www.MIfastfile.org for a list of e-file resources and how to find an e-file provider.

WWW.MIFASTFILE.ORG

This booklet contains information on completing a Michigan Corporate Income Tax return for calendar year 2024.

FILING DUE DATE: All filers – March 1, 2025

WWW.MICHIGAN.GOV/TAXES

This booklet is intended as a guide to help complete your return. It does not take the place of the law.

2024 General Information for Insurance Companies

Standard Taxpayers and Financial Institutions: See the Michigan Business Tax (MBT) Instruction Booklet for Standard Taxpayers (Form 4600) or the MBT Instruction Booklet for Financial Institutions (Form 4599) at www.michigan.gov/taxes.

This booklet is intended as a guide to help complete the CIT return. It does not take the place of the law.

Who Files an Insurance Return?

All insurance companies, except those authorized under chapter 46 or 47 of the insurance code of 1956, that are engaged in the business of writing, or that are authorized to write, insurance or surety contracts within the State of Michigan file the *Insurance Company Annual Return for Corporate Income and Retaliatory Taxes* (Form 4905).

An *insurance company* is defined to mean an authorized insurer as defined in section 108 of the insurance code of 1956, 1956 PA 218, MCL 500.108. Public Act 276 of 2016 amended the insurance code effective July 1, 2016, which now includes a health maintenance organization (HMO) as an "insurer." If an HMO is an "authorized" "insurer" under the insurance code, is not otherwise exempt from tax, that HMO is required to file a CIT insurance return. In the case that an HMO would file as a CIT standard taxpayer for a federal tax year that straddles PA 276's effective date, two short-year returns (one short-year standard return and one insurance return) will be required for that year.

All insurers, domestic and foreign, must submit copies of the Michigan Business Page of Schedule T when filing this return.

Using This Booklet

This CIT booklet includes forms and instructions for all insurance filers. Read the General Information first. It is recommended that taxpayers and tax preparers also review the instructions for all forms.

There are both nonrefundable and refundable credits available for insurance companies to help reduce the calculation of tax.

The Michigan Association and Facilities Credit and the Michigan Examination Fees Credit are claimed on Form 4905. In addition, the Workers' Disability Supplemental Benefit (WDSB) Credit is a refundable credit that is also claimed on Form 4905. When claiming the WDSB Credit the taxpayer will need to attach the document provided by the grantor to the return to substantiate the claim of this credit.

Overview of CIT for Insurance Companies

The CIT imposes a tax on insurance companies equal to 1.25 percent of gross direct premiums written on property or risk located in Michigan. There is no filing threshold for insurance companies.

Direct premiums do not include:

- Premiums on policies not taken
- Returned premiums on canceled policies
- Receipts from the sale of annuities
- Receipts on reinsurance premiums if the tax had been paid on the original premiums

• The first \$190,000,000 of disability insurance premiums written in Michigan. This exemption is reduced by two dollars for every dollar that an insurance company's gross direct premiums everywhere (both within and outside of Michigan) exceed \$280,000,000.

An insurance company is subject to tax as calculated under the CIT or the retaliatory tax under Michigan Compiled Law (MCL) 500.476a, whichever is greater. The tax imposed under the Income Tax Act is in lieu of all other privilege and franchise fees or taxes, except for real and personal property taxes and sales and use taxes.

Filing CIT Quarterly Tax Estimates

If estimated liability for the year is reasonably expected to exceed \$800, a taxpayer must file estimated returns. A taxpayer may remit quarterly estimated payments by check with a *Corporate Income Tax Quarterly Return* (Form 4913) or may remit monthly or quarterly estimated payments electronically by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). When payments are made by EFT, Form 4913 is not required.

NOTE: Formerly, taxpayers could pay by check on a monthly or quarterly basis by remitting a check with a Combined Return for Michigan Tax (Form 160). Form 160 was replaced. The new form no longer accommodates CIT payments. As a result, Form 4913 is the only form that supports a CIT estimated payment.

Estimated returns and payments for calendar year taxpayers are due to Treasury by April 15, July 15, October 15, and January 15 of the following year. The sum of estimated payments for each quarter must always reasonably approximate the liability for the quarter.

NOTE: Your debit transaction will be ineligible for EFT if the bank account used for the electronic debit is funded or otherwise associated with a foreign account to the extent that the payment transaction would qualify as an International ACH Transaction (IAT) under NACHA Rules. Contact your financial institution for questions about the status of your account. Contact the Michigan Department of Treasury's (Treasury) Business Tax Customer Service Center at 517-636-6925 for alternate payment methods.

The estimated payment made with each quarterly return must be computed on the actual CIT for the quarter, or 25 percent of the estimated total liability.

To avoid interest and penalty charges, estimated payments must equal at least 85 percent of the total liability for the tax year and the amount of each estimated payment must reasonably approximate the tax liability for that quarter. If the prior year's tax under the Income Tax Act was \$20,000 or less, estimated tax may be based on the prior year's total tax liability paid in four equal installments. ("Four equal installments" describes the minimum pace of payments that will satisfy this safe harbor.) If the prior year's tax liability was reported for a period less than 12 months, this amount must be annualized for purposes of both the \$20,000 ceiling and calculating the quarterly payments due under this method. Payments at a more accelerated pace also will qualify. If the year's tax liability is \$800 or less, estimates are not required.

NOTE: Reliance on the tax liability of the prior year as a means to avoid interest and penalty charges is only allowed if you had business activity in Michigan in that prior year and filed a CIT return for that prior year. A return must be filed to establish the tax liability for that prior year, even if gross receipts in the prior year were less than \$350,000. In addition, if your business was not in existence in the preceding year, no safe harbor exists. In such a case, estimates must be based on the CIT liability for the current year. There is no prior-year safe harbor for a taxpayer's first CIT tax period. For a taxpayer's first CIT tax period the estimates must equal at least 85 percent of the total CIT liability.

Amending Estimates

If, after making payments, the estimated tax is substantially different than originally estimated, recompute the tax and adjust the payment in the next quarter.

Electronic Filing CIT Returns

Michigan has an enforced CIT e-file mandate. Software developers producing CIT tax preparation software and computer-generated forms must support e-file for all eligible Michigan forms that are included in their software package. All eligible CIT returns prepared using tax preparation software or computer-generated forms must be e-filed.

Treasury will be enforcing the CIT e-file mandate. The enforcement includes not processing computer-generated paper returns that are eligible to be e-filed. A notice will be mailed to the taxpayer, indicating that the taxpayer's return was not filed in the proper form and content and must be e-filed. Payment received with a paper return will be processed and credited to the taxpayer's account even when the return is not processed.

Treasury will continue to accept certain Portable Document Format (PDF) attachments with CIT e-filed returns. A current list of defined attachments is available in the CIT "Michigan Tax Preparer Handbook for Electronic Filing Programs," which is available on the Treasury Web site at **www.MIfastfile. org** by clicking on "Tax Preparer," then "Corporate Income Tax Handbook" for the applicable tax year. Follow your software instructions for submitting attachments with an e-filed return.

If the CIT return includes supporting documentation or attachments that are not on the predefined list of attachments, the return can still be e-filed. Follow your software instructions for including additional attachments. The tax preparer or taxpayer should retain file copies of all documentation or attachments.

For more information and program updates, including exclusions from e-file, visit the e-file Web site at **www.MIfastfile.org**.

The taxpayer may be required to e-file its federal return. Visit the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Web site at **www.irs.gov** for more information on federal e-file requirements and the IRS Federal/State Modernized e-File (MeF) program.

Completing Michigan Forms

Treasury captures the information from paper CIT returns using an Intelligent Character Recognition process. If completing a paper return, avoid unnecessary delays caused by manual processing by following the guidelines below so the return is processed quickly and accurately.

- Use black or blue ink. Do not use pencil, red ink, or felt tip pens. Do not highlight information.
- **Print using capital letters** (UPPER CASE). Capital letters are easier to recognize.
- Print numbers like this: 012345678. Do not put a slash through the zero (∅) or seven (≠).
- Fill check boxes with an [X]. Do not use a check mark [✓].
- Leave lines/boxes blank if they do not apply or if the amount is zero, unless otherwise instructed.
- Do not enter data in boxes filled with Xs.
- Do not write extra numbers, symbols, or notes on the return, such as cents, dashes, decimal points (excluding percentages), or dollar signs unless otherwise instructed. Enclose any explanations on a separate sheet unless instructed to write explanations on the return.
- **Date format**, unless otherwise specified, should be in the following format: MM-DD-YYYY. Use dashes (-) rather than slashes (/).
- Enter phone numbers using dashes (e.g., 517-555-5555); do not use parentheses.
- Stay within the lines when entering information in boxes.
- **Report losses and negative amounts** with a negative sign in front of the number (do not use parentheses). For example, a loss in the amount of \$22,459 should be reported as -22,459.
- Percentages should be carried out four digits to the right of the decimal point. Do not round percentages. For example, 24.154266 percent becomes 24.1542 percent. When converting a percentage to a decimal number, carry numbers out six digits to the right of the decimal point. For example, 24.154266 percent becomes 0.241542.

Report all amounts in whole dollars. Round down amounts of 49 cents or less. Round up amounts of 50 cents or more. If cents are entered on the form, they will be treated as whole dollar amounts.

Unitary Business Groups (UBGs) and Combined Filing

Special UBG Instructions for Insurance Companies

By definition, a UBG (as defined below) can include insurance companies, standard taxpayers, and financial institutions. However, in some cases not all members of the UBG will be included on the same return. All standard taxpayer members in a UBG (except those owned by and unitary with a financial institution) file a single combined return on the *CIT Annual Return* (Form 4891). Financial institution members of a UBG (and any standard taxpayer owned by and unitary with a financial institution in the group) file a combined return on the *CIT Annual Return for Financial Institutions* (Form 4908).

Insurance companies are not specifically excluded from the statutory definition of a UBG, and thus may be members of a UBG. However, the tax on authorized insurance companies is equal to 1.25 percent of gross direct premiums written on property or risk located or residing in Michigan. There is no traditional apportionment for insurance companies. Thus, even when an authorized insurance company is unitary with another authorized insurance company, this will have no effect in calculating the tax. As a result, a combined return is not required and each insurance company member of a UBG will file separately on Form 4905.

For further information on the CIT, see the Michigan Department of Treasury (Treasury) Web site at **www.michigan.gov/taxes**. (Click on "Corporate Income Tax" on the left side of the page.) Treasury will post updates here and via Revenue Administrative Bulletin (available on the "Reports and Legal Resources" link on the left side of the page).

Exemption Guidelines

The tax imposed and levied under the Income Tax Act does not apply to an insurance company authorized under Chapter 46 or 47 of the Insurance Code of 1956, PA 218 of 1956, MCL 500.4601 to 500.4673, and MCL 500.4701 to 500.4747.

Filing the Correct Form

A different primary return and instruction booklet is available for standard taxpayers (Form 4891) and financial institutions (Form 4908).

Due Dates of Annual Returns

The tax year of an insurance company is the calendar year. An insurance company must file the annual return on or before March 1, 2025. The extension that is available to the standard taxpayer under MCL 206.685(4) is not available to insurance companies.

Amending a Return

To amend a current or prior year annual return, complete the *Amended Return for Corporate Income and Retaliatory Taxes* (Form 4906) that is applicable for that year, explaining the reason for the changes. Include all schedules or certificates filed with the original return, even if not amending those schedules. Enter the amounts on the amended return as they should be. Do not include a copy of the original return with your amended return.

Current forms are available on Treasury's Web site at **www.michigan.gov/treasuryforms**.

To amend a return to claim a refund, file within four years of the original return's due date. Interest will be paid beginning 45 days after the claim is filed or the due date, whichever is later.

If amending a return to report a deficiency, penalty and interest may apply from the due date of the original return. If any changes are made to a federal income tax return that affect the CIT tax base, filing an amended return is required. To avoid penalty, file the amended return within 120 days after the final determination by the IRS.

Computing Penalty and Interest

Annual and estimated returns filed late or without sufficient payment of the tax due are subject to a penalty of 5 percent of the tax due, for the first two months. Penalty increases by an additional 5 percent per month, or fraction thereof, after the second month, to a maximum of 25 percent.

Compute penalty and interest for underpaid estimates using the *CIT Penalty and Interest Computation for Underpaid Estimated Tax* (Form 4899). If a taxpayer prefers not to file this form, Treasury will compute the penalty and interest and send a bill.

The following chart shows the interest rate that applies to each filing period. A new interest rate is set at 1 percent above the adjusted prime rate for each six-month period.

Beginning Date	Rate	Daily Rate
January 1, 2024	9.30%	0.0002541
July 1, 2024	9.50%	0.0002596
January 1, 2025	9.47%	0.0002595

For a list of interest rates, click on "Reports and Legal" on the Treasury Web site at **www.michigan.gov/treasury**/. Interest rates are updated in Revenue Administrative Bulletins (RABs).

Signing the Return

All returns must be signed and dated by the taxpayer or the taxpayer's authorized agent. This may be the owner, partner, corporate officer, or association member. The corporate officer may be the president, vice president, treasurer, assistant treasurer, chief accounting officer, or any other corporate officer (such as tax officer) authorized to sign the corporation's tax return.

If someone other than the above prepared the return, the preparer must give his or her business address and telephone number.

Print the name of the authorized signer and preparer in the appropriate area on the return.

Assemble the returns and attachments (in sequence order) and use a clip in the upper-left corner or rubber band the pages together. (Do not staple a check to the return.) In an e-filed return, the preparation software will assemble the forms and PDF attachments in the proper order automatically.

IMPORTANT REMINDER: Failure to include all the required forms and attachments will delay processing and may result in reduced or denied refund or credit forward or a bill for tax due.

SIGNING AN E-FILED RETURN: As with any tax return submitted to Treasury on paper, an electronic tax return must be signed by an authorized tax return signer, the Electronic Return Originator (ERO), if applicable, and the paid tax preparer, if applicable.

NOTE: If the return meets one of the exceptions to the e-file mandate and is being filed on paper, it must be manually signed and dated by the taxpayer or the taxpayer's authorized agent.

The CIT Fed/State e-file signature process is as follows:

Fed/State Returns: Michigan will accept the federal signature method. Michigan does not require any additional signature documentation.

State Stand Alone Returns: State Stand Alone returns must be signed using Form MI-8879 (also called the Michigan e-file Authorization for Business Taxes MI-8879, Form 4763). Returns are signed by entering the taxpayer PIN in the software after reading the perjury statement displayed in the software. The taxpayer PIN will be selected by the taxpayer, or the taxpayer may authorize his or her tax preparer to select the taxpayer PIN.

The MI-8879 will be printed and contain the taxpayer PIN. The tax preparer will retain the MI-8879 in his or her records as part of the taxpayer's printed return. CIT State Stand Alone e-filings submitted without a taxpayer PIN will be rejected by Treasury. Do not mail the MI-8879 to Treasury and do not include the MI-8879 as an attachment with the e-file return.

Mailing Addresses

Mail the annual return and all necessary schedules to:

With payment:

Michigan Department of Treasury PO Box 30804 Lansing MI 48909

Without payment:

Michigan Department of Treasury PO Box 30803 Lansing MI 48909

Mail CIT quarterly estimate payments (Form 4913) to:

Michigan Department of Treasury PO Box 30774 Lansing MI 48909-8274

Courier delivery service mail should be sent to:

Michigan Department of Treasury 7285 Parsons Dr. Dimondale MI 48821

Make all checks payable to "State of Michigan." Print taxpayer's FEIN, the tax year, and "CIT" on the front of the check. Do not staple the check to the return.

Correspondence

An address change or business discontinuance can be reported online by using Michigan Treasury Online (MTO), Business Tax Services. See **www.michigan.gov/mtobusiness** for information. In the alternative, *Notice of Change or Discontinuance* (Form 163), can be found online at **www. michigan.gov/treasuryforms**.

Mail correspondence to:

Michigan Department of Treasury Business Taxes Division, CIT Unit PO Box 30059 Lansing MI 48909

To Request Forms

Internet

Current and past year forms are available on Treasury's Web site at **www.michigan.gov/treasuryforms**.

Alternate Format

Printed material in an alternate format may be obtained by calling (517) 636-6925.

TTY

Assistance is available using TTY through the Michigan Relay Center by calling 1-800-649-3777 or 711.

Revenue Administrative Bulletins (RABs)

Treasury provides updates via RABs on the Treasury Web site at **www.michigan.gov/treasury**/. Currently relevant RABs for the CIT are:

- 2013-9, CIT Definition of "Actively Solicits"
- 2013-1, CIT Unitary Business Group Control Test and Relationship Tests
- 2014-5, Michigan CIT Nexus Standards
- Interest Rates: For a list of interest rates, go to **www.michigan.gov/treasury**/ and click on "Reports and Legal."

2024 Insurance Company Annual Return for Corporate Income and Retaliatory Taxes

Issued under authority of Public Act 38 of 2011.

1. Ta	kpayer Name				2. 1	Federal Employer Ide	ntification Numl	ber (FEIN)	
Addre	ss (Number, Street)				3.	Check if Foreig			
City		State	ZIP/Postal Code	Country Code		State of Incorporation		breviation)	
ony							(400 2 1010) 44		
DIRE	CT PREMIUMS WRITTE		Jan		I	Α		В	
	structions before completing	-				Qualified Health In		All Other Polic	
5.	Gross direct premiums written i	•			5.		00		00
6.	Premiums on policies not taken	1			6.		00		00
7.	Returned premiums on cancele	•			7.		00		00
8.	Receipts on sales of annuities.				8.		00		00
9.	Receipts on reinsurance assum		,		9.		00		00
10.	Add lines 6 through 9				10.		00		00
11.	Direct Premiums Written in M If less than zero, enter zero	-			11.		00		00
DISA	BILITY INSURANCE EXI	EMPTION							
12.	Disability insurance premiums v income insurance premiums (se				12.		00		00
13.	Proportional share of limit and p Column A: Divide line 12, colu	ohase-out.							
	Column B: Divide line 12, colu	mn B, by the su	im of line 12, columns	A and B	13.		%		%
14.	Enter the sum of all disability in OR \$190,000,000, whichever is					14.		00	
15.	Gross direct premiums from ins		•					00	
16.	Phase out						280,000		
17.	Subtract line 16 from line 15. If	less than zero,	enter zero			17.		00	
18.	Exemption reduction. Multiply li	ne 17 by 2				18.		00	
19.	Subtract line 18 from line 14. If	less than zero,	enter zero					00	
20.	Allocated reduced exemption. Column A: Multiply line 19 by t	he percentage	on line 13 column A						
	Column B: Multiply line 19 by t				20.		00		00
21.	Adjusted tax base.								
	Column A: Subtract line 20, co	,	,		~				
00	Column B: Subtract line 20, co	-			21.		00		00
	Multiply line 21, column A, by 0					23.	[00]	00	[00
	Tax before credits. Add line 22,	columns A and	D					100	
	DITS Enter amounts noid from 1/1/20	122 to 12/21/20	02 to each of the falle	wing					
24.	Enter amounts paid from 1/1/20 a. Michigan Workers' Comper			-			240		00
			•					· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	00
	• • •							· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	00
	c. Michigan Automobile Insura		-					· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	00
	d. Property and Casualty Guae. Michigan Life and Health In	-						· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	00
25.	e. Michigan Life and Health In Add lines 24a through 24e		-						00
25. 26.	Michigan Examination Fees or								00
20. 27.	Credit. Multiply line 26 by 50%								00
27. 28.	Subtract line 25 and line 27 from								00
20. 29.	Tax Liability after Historic Prese								00
29. 30.	Total Recapture of Certain Busi								00
30. 31.	Total Michigan Tax. Add line 2								00
U 1.	Total mongail las. Aud IIIC 2								100

This form cannot be used as an amended return; use the Insurance Company Amended Return for Corporate Income and Retaliatory Taxes (Form 4906).

Taxpayer FEIN

00 00 00

Foreign and alien insurers complete lines 32 through 46. Use column A to report burdens that would be imposed by the taxpayer's state of incorporation on a hypothetical Michigan company doing the same business in that state. Use column B to report actual burdens imposed by Michigan on the taxpayer.

			A			в			
ΤΑΧΙ	ES		State of Incorporation		Μ	ichiga	n		
32.	State of incorporation tax	32.		ХХ	Х	ХХ	Х	Х	Х
33.	Michigan Tax from line 31	33.	X X X X X X X X X						
FEE	S AND ASSESSMENTS								
34.	Annual statement filing fee	34.		<u>X X</u>	X	<u>х х</u>	<u>X</u>	<u>X</u>	Х
35.	Certificate of Authority renewal fee	35.		<u>X X</u>	X	<u>X X</u>	<u>X</u>	<u>X</u>	Х
36.	Certificate of Compliance	36.		<u>X X</u>	X	<u>X X</u>	<u>X</u>	<u>X</u>	Х
37.	Certificate of Deposit	37.		<u>X X</u>	X	<u>X X</u>	<u>X</u>	<u>X</u>	Х
38.	Certificate of Valuation	38.		ХХ	Х	ХХ	Х	Х	Х
39.	Other fees. Include a detailed schedule of fees	39.							
40.	Fire Marshall Tax	40.		ХХ	Х	ХХ	Х	Х	Х
41.	Second Injury Fund	41.							
42.	Silicosis and Dust Disease Fund	42.							
43.	Safety Education and Training Fund	43.							
44.	Other assessments. Include a detailed schedule of assessments	44.							
тот	AL								
45.	Total Taxes, Fees and Assessments. Add lines 32 through 44	45.							
46.	Retaliatory Amount. Subtract line 45, column B, from column A. If less	than z	zero, enter zero	46.					00
47.	Total Tax Liability. Add lines 31 and 46. Domestic insurers, enter amount	unt fro	om line 31	47.					00
	-								

PAYMENTS AND TAX DUE

48.	Overpayment credited from prior period return	48.	00
49.	Estimated tax payments	49.	00
50.	Tax paid with request for extension	50.	00
51.	Michigan tax withheld or Flow-Through Entity credit (see instructions)	51.	00
52.	Workers' Disability Supplemental Benefit (WDSB) Credit (attach document)	52.	00
53.	Total Payments. Add lines 48 through 52	53.	00
54.	TAX DUE. Subtract line 53 from line 47. If less than zero, leave blank	54.	00
55.	Underpaid estimate penalty and interest from Form 4899, line 38	55.	00
56.	Annual Return Penalty (see instructions)	56.	00
57.	Annual Return Interest (see instructions)	57.	00
58.	PAYMENT DUE. If line 54 is blank, go to line 59. Otherwise add lines 54 through 57	58.	00

OVERPAYMENT, REFUND OR CREDIT FORWARD

59.	Overpayment. Subtract line 47, 55, 56 and 57 from line 53. If less than zero, leave blank (see instructions)	59.	
60.	CREDIT FORWARD. Amount on line 59 to be credited forward and used as an estimate for next tax year	60.	
61.	REFUND. Subtract line 60 from line 59	61.	

Taxpayer Certification. I declare under penalty of perjury that the information in this return and attachments is true and complete to the best of my knowledge.		Preparer Certification. I declare under penalty of perjury that this return is based on all information of which I have any knowledge.		
By checking this box, I authorize Treasury	to discuss my return with my preparer.	Preparer's PTIN, FEIN or SSN		
Authorized Signature for Tax Matters		Preparer's Business Name (print or type)		
Authorized Signer's Name (print or type) Date		Preparer's Business Address and Telephone Number (print or type)		
Title Telephone Number				

Instructions for Form 4905 Insurance Company Annual Return for Corporate Income and Retaliatory Taxes

Purpose

To calculate premiums tax levied on insurance companies under the Corporate Income Tax and to claim credits against that tax. Foreign insurers must also compare burdens in order to determine if retaliatory tax is due, and calculate that tax, if due.

Effects of Public Act 222 of 2018

PA 222 of 2018 amended MCL 206.635, which levies a tax on insurance companies equal to 1.25% of gross direct premiums written on risk located or residing in Michigan. For the 2024 tax year, gross direct premiums attributable to qualified health insurance premiums are taxed at 0.9477%. (See the instructions under "Direct Premiums Written in Michigan" for a definition of qualified health insurance policies.) The remaining portion of the tax base is still taxed at 1.25%.

Line-by-Line Instructions

Lines not listed are explained on the form.

Do not enter data in boxes filled with Xs.

Amended Returns: To amend a current or prior year annual return, complete the *Insurance Company Amended Return for Corporate Income and Retaliatory Taxes* (Form 4906) that is applicable for that year, and attach a separate sheet explaining the reason for the changes. Complete and file all schedules, all forms and all attachments filed with the original return, even if not amending information on a particular form or schedule. Include a copy of an amended federal return or a signed and dated IRS audit document, if applicable. Do not include a copy of the original return with the amended return. Find detailed instructions on Form 4906.

Line 1: Enter the complete name and address including the two-digit abbreviation for the country code. See the list of country codes in the *Corporate Income Tax (CIT) Forms and Instructions for Insurance Companies* (Form 4904).

NOTE: Any correspondence regarding the return filed and/ or refund will be sent to the address provided on this form. The taxpayer's primary address in Treasury files, identified as the legal address and used for all purposes other than refund and correspondence on a specific CIT return, will not change unless the taxpayer files a *Notice of Change or Discontinuance* (Form 163) with Treasury.

FOREIGN FILERS: Complete the address fields as follows:

Address: Enter the postal address for this taxpayer.

City: Enter the city name for this taxpayer. DO NOT include the country name in this field.

State: Enter the two-letter state or province abbreviation. If there is no applicable two-letter abbreviation, leave this field blank.

ZIP/Postal Code: Enter the ZIP Code or Postal Code.

Country Code: Enter the two-letter country code provided in this tax booklet.

Line 2: Enter the taxpayer's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). Be sure to use the same account number on all forms. The taxpayer FEIN from line 2 must be entered in the Taxpayer FEIN field on page 2.

NOTE: Unless already registered, taxpayers must register with the Michigan Department of Treasury before filing a tax return. Taxpayers are encouraged to register online at **www.michigan.gov/businesstaxes**. Taxpayers that register with Treasury online receive their registration confirmation within seven days.

If the taxpayer does not have an FEIN, the taxpayer must obtain an FEIN before filing the CIT. Visit **www.michigan**. **gov/businesstaxes** for more information on obtaining an FEIN.

Returns received without a registered account number will not be processed until such time as a number is provided.

Line 3: Check this box if the company is a foreign insurer. Alien insurers are considered foreign insurers, unless their port of entry is Michigan, in which case the company is considered domestic for the filing of this return.

Line 4: Alien insurers, enter the two-letter postal code for the U.S. state that is your port of entry.

Direct Premiums Written in Michigan

NOTE: For line 5 through line 13 and line 20 through line 22, complete Column A to report Qualified Health Insurance Policies and Column B to report all other policies.

"Qualified health insurance policies" means policies written on risk located or residing in this state that are one of the following types of policies:

(a) Comprehensive major medical, regardless of whether the policy is eligible for a health savings account or purchased on the health insurance marketplace.

(b) Student.

(c) Children's health insurance program.

(d) Medicaid.

(e) Employer comprehensive, regardless of whether the policy is eligible for a health savings account or purchased on the health insurance marketplace.

(f) Multiple employer associations or trusts and any other employer associations and trusts.

Qualified Health Insurance Policies are taxed at a special rate, determined annually using a statutory formula.

Line 5: Enter all gross direct premiums written on property or risk located or residing in Michigan.

Line 6: Enter premiums on policies not taken to the extent these premiums were included in line 5.

Line 7: Enter returned premiums on canceled policies to the extent these premiums were included in line 5.

Line 8: Enter receipts on sales of annuities to the extent these receipts were included in line 5.

Line 9: Enter receipts on reinsurance premiums assumed to the extent these receipts were included in line 5, and only if tax was paid on the original premiums.

DISABILITY INSURANCE EXEMPTION

Line 12: "Disability insurance" includes any policy or contract of insurance against loss resulting from sickness or from bodily injury or death by accident, or both, including also the granting of specific hospital benefits and medical, surgical and sickcare benefits to any person, family or group, subject to certain exclusions.

The exclusion for disability insurance premiums does not include credit insurance or disability income insurance premiums.

Line 22, Column A: Multiply line 21 by 0.9477%.

Line 22, Column B: Multiply line 21 by 1.25 percent (0.0125).

CREDITS

Line 24: Enter the amounts paid to the listed facilities or associations from January 1, 2023, to December 31, 2023, including special assessments. Net the amounts paid and refunds received during 2023 for the same facility or association. If refunds received exceed the amount paid in the year for the same facility or association, enter zero.

Line 24c: For tax years beginning on and after January 1, 2023, amounts paid to the Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement Facility (MAIPF) that are attributable to the assigned claims plan shall not be included in the calculation of this credit.

Line 26: Enter the amount of Michigan Examination Fees or Regulatory Fees paid in 2024 (under Michigan Compiled Law 500.224).

Line 29: If not claiming the CIT Historical Preservation Tax Credit, carry the amount from line 28 to line 29.

Line 30: Enter the Total Recapture of Certain Business Tax Credits from Form 4902. Include a copy of Form 4902.

Retaliatory Instructions

For foreign and alien insurers only; domestic insurers skip lines 32 through 46.

Do not mail this return with the Michigan Annual Financial Statement.

Foreign insurers must pay to Michigan the same type of obligation a similar Michigan insurer is required to pay in the company's state of domicile. Enter all items that are required of a Michigan insurance company. Some taxes and obligations imposed in other states may have no corresponding requirement in Michigan; however, this does not relieve the foreign insurer from the obligation of computing and paying the correct amount of the tax.

Do not include the following Michigan assessments, or comparable assessments in the company's state of incorporation, in the retaliatory calculation:

- Michigan Worker's Compensation Placement Facility
- Michigan Basic Property Insurance Association
- Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement Facility
- Property and Casualty Guaranty Association
- Michigan Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association
- Catastrophic Claims Association
- Assessment under Health Insurance Claims Assessment Act (HICAA).

Line 32: Enter the tax a Michigan company would pay to the taxpayer's state of incorporation if it conducted the same amounts and types of business there as the taxpayer is conducting in Michigan. Attach a copy of the state of incorporation's tax form on which this pro forma tax on the hypothetical Michigan company was calculated.

Lines 34 through 44: In column A, "State of Incorporation," enter the amounts that would be paid by a hypothetical Michigan insurance company doing the same types and amounts of business in the taxpayer's home state that the taxpayer is doing in Michigan.

Lines 39 and 41-44: In column B, "Michigan," enter the actual amounts paid by the taxpayer to Michigan.

Line 44: Attach a detailed schedule of assessments.

Line 46: Subtract line 45, column B, from line 45, column A. If less than zero, enter zero.

PAYMENTS, REFUNDABLE CREDITS, AND TAX DUE

Line 49: Enter the total tax paid with the quarterly estimated tax returns.

Line 51: Enter here Michigan Tax withheld for deferred compensation plans, life insurance and/or lottery annuities issued to a business account number through MCL 206.703(1). Taxpayers can enter the Michigan Tax withheld reported on the W-2G and/or 1099R.

Also report any credit for the taxpayer's allocated share of Michigan flow-through entity (FTE) tax levied on and paid by an electing flow-through entity. Such an electing flow-through entity should be indirectly owned by this taxpayer. Include a copy of the Schedule K-1 with the Schedule K-1 notes, or other supporting documentation received from the electing flowthrough entity, to support the credit claimed on this line.

Line 52: The Worker's Disability Supplemental Benefit (WDSB) Credit is available to an insurance company subject to the Worker's Disability Compensation Act of 1969. The credit is equal to the amount paid during that tax year by the insurance company pursuant to Section 352 of the act, as certified by the director of the Worker's Compensation Agency, Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA), during the tax year. The amount of the credit is provided to taxpayers by LARA. For more information on WDSB credit eligibility, contact LARA, Workers' Compensation Agency, by phone at 1-888-396-5041, by email at wcinfo@michigan.gov, or visit the LARA Web site at www.michigan.gov/wca.

Line 55: If penalty and interest are owed for not filing estimated returns or for underestimating tax, complete the *CIT Penalty and Interest Computation for Underpaid* *Estimated Tax* (Form 4899), to compute penalty and interest due. If a taxpayer chooses not to file Form 4899, Treasury will compute penalty and interest. (Form 4899 is available at **www.michigan.gov/treasuryforms**.)

Line 56: Refer to the "Computing Penalty and Interest" section in Form 4904 to determine the annual return penalty rate and use the following Overdue Tax Penalty worksheet.

WORKSHEET - OVERDUE TAX PENALTY

A.	Tax due from Form 4905, line 54	00
B.	Late or insufficient	
	payment penalty percentage	 %
С.	Multiply line A by line B	00

Carry amount from line C to Form 4905, line 56.

Line 57: Use the following worksheet to calculate Overdue Tax Interest.

WORKSHEET - OVERDUE TAX INTEREST

A.	Tax due from Form 4905, line 54	00
	Applicable daily interest percentage	%
	Number of days return was past due	
D.	Multiply line B by line C	
	Multiply line A by line D	00
	www.amount.from line E to Form 4005 li	

Carry amount from line E to Form 4905, line 57.

NOTE: If the late period spans more than one interest rate period, divide the late period into the number of days in each of the interest rate periods identified under the "Computing Penalty and Interest" section in Form 4904 and apply the calculations in the Overdue Tax Interest worksheet separately to each portion of the late period. Combine these interest subtotals and carry the total to Form 4905, line 57.

Line 59: If the amount of the tax overpayment, less any penalty and interest due on lines 55, 56 and 57, is less than zero, enter the difference (as a positive number) on line 59.

NOTE: If an overpayment exists, a taxpayer must elect a refund of all or a portion of the amount and/or designate all or a portion of the overpayment to be used as an estimate for the next CIT tax year. Complete lines 60 and 61 as applicable.

Line 60: If the taxpayer anticipates a CIT or Retaliatory Tax liability in the filing period subsequent to this return, some or all of any overpayment from line 59 may be credited forward to the next tax year as an estimated payment. Enter the desired amount to use as an estimate for the next CIT tax year.

Reminder: Taxpayers must sign and date returns. Tax preparers must provide a Preparer Taxpayer Identification Number (PTIN), FEIN or Social Security number (SSN), a business name, and a business address and phone number.

Other Supporting Forms and Schedules

The following forms and their requested attachments should be included as part of this return, as applicable:

- Proof of payment for any items listed in the "Michigan" column for lines 40 through 43.
- Worker's Disability Supplemental Benefit (WDSB) Certificate.
- California insurers must include Bureau of Fraudulent Claims assessments.
- New York domiciled companies must file and pay a tentative retaliatory tax to Michigan by the Michigan annual return due date (March 1). Form 4905 must be filed after the actual CT33 is filed with New York. Transfer the CT33 numbers onto the Form 4905 and attach a copy of the CT33 to substantiate the taxpayer's claim.

Country Codes

Countries are identified by two-letter codes – Country Codes – which are required on some Michigan Business Tax (MBT) forms, including the annual returns. The following is a list of countries and their codes.

				1
AF Afghanistan	CK Cook Islands	IN India	NR Nauru	SB Solomon Islands
AX Åland Islands	CR Costa Rica	ID Indonesia	NP Nepal	SO Somalia
AL Albania	CI Côte D'ivoire	IR Iran	NL Netherlands	ZA South Africa
DZ Algeria	HR Croatia	IQ Iraq	AN Netherlands Antilles	GS S. Georgia, Sandwich
AS American Samoa	CU Cuba	IE Ireland	NC New Caledonia	KR South Korea
AD Andorra	CY Cyprus	IM Isle Of Man	NZ New Zealand	ES Spain
AO Angola	CZ Czech Republic	IL Israel	NI Nicaragua	LK Sri Lanka
AI Anguilla	CD Dem. Rep. of Congo	IT Italy	NE Niger	SD Sudan
AQ Antarctica	DK Denmark	JM Jamaica	NG Nigeria	SR Suriname
AG Antigua & Barbuda	DJ Djibouti	JP Japan	NU Niue	SJ Svalbard, Jan Mayen
AR Argentina	DM Dominica	JE Jersey	NF Norfolk Island	SZ Swaziland
AM Armenia	DO Dominican Republic	JO Jordan	KP North Korea	SE Sweden
AW Aruba	EC Ecuador	KZ Kazakhstan	MP N. Mariana Islands	CH Switzerland
AU Australia	EG Egypt	KE Kenya	NO Norway	SY Syrian Arab Republic
AT Austria	SV El Salvador	KI Kiribati	OM Oman	TW Taiwan
AZ Azerbaijan	GQ Equatorial Guinea	KW Kuwait	PK Pakistan	TJ Tajikistan
BS Bahamas	ER Eritrea	KG Kyrgyzstan	PW Palau	TZ Tanzania
BH Bahrain	EE Estonia	LA Laos	PS Palestinian Occ. Terr.	TH Thailand
BD Bangladesh	ET Ethiopia	LV Latvia	PA Panama	TL Timor-Leste
BB Barbados	FK Falkland Islands	LB Lebanon	PG Papua New Guinea	TG Togo
BY Belarus	FO Faroe Islands	LS Lesotho	PY Paraguay	TK Tokelau
BE Belgium	FJ Fiji	LR Liberia	PE Peru	TO Tonga
BZ Belize	FI Finland	LY Libya	PH Philippines	TT Trinidad & Tobago
BJ Benin	FR France	LI Liechtenstein	PN Pitcairn	TN Tunisia
BM Bermuda	GF French Guiana	LT Lithuania	PL Poland	TR Turkey
BT Bhutan	PF French Polynesia	LU Luxembourg	PT Portugal	TM Turkmenistan
BO Bolivia	TF Fr. Southern Terr.	MO Macao	PR Puerto Rico	TC Turks & Caicos
BA Bosnia, Herzegovina	GA Gabon	MK Macedonia	QA Qatar	TV Tuvalu
BW Botswana	GM Gambia	MG Madagascar	RE Réunion	UG Uganda
BV Bouvet Island	GE Georgia	MW Malawi	RO Romania	UA Ukraine
BR Brazil	DE Germany	MY Malaysia	RU Russian Federation	AE United Arab Emir.
IO Brit. Ind. Ocean Terr.	GH Ghana	MV Maldives	RW Rwanda	GB United Kingdom
BN Brunei Darussalam	GI Gibraltar	ML Mali	BL St. Barthélemy	US United States
BG Bulgaria	GR Greece	MT Malta	SH St. Helena	UM U.S. Minor Out. Isl.
BF Burkina Faso	GL Greenland	MH Marshall Islands	KN St. Kitts & Nevis	UY Uruguay
BI Burundi	GD Grenada	MQ Martinique	LC St. Lucia	UZ Uzbekistan
KH Cambodia	GP Guadeloupe	MR Mauritania	MF St. Martin	VU Vanuatu
CM Cameroon	GU Guam	MU Mauritius	PM St. Pierre & Miquelon	VE Venezuela
CA Canada	GT Guatemala	YT Mayotte	VC St. Vincent, Grenad.	VN Vietnam
CV Cape Verde	GG Guernsey	MX Mexico	WS Samoa	VG Virgin Islands, British
KY Cayman Islands	GN Guinea	FM Micronesia	SM San Marino	VI Virgin Islands, U.S.
CF Cent. African Repub.	GW Guinea-Bissau	MD Moldova	ST Sao Tome & Principe	WF Wallis & Futuna
TD Chad	GY Guyana	MC Monaco	SA Saudi Arabia	EH Western Sahara
CL Chile	HT Haiti	MN Mongolia	SN Senegal	YE Yemen
CN China	HM Heard, McDonald Isl.	ME Montenegro	RS Serbia	ZM Zambia
CX Christmas Island	VA Holy See (Vatican)	MS Montserrat	SC Seychelles	ZW Zimbabwe
CC Cocos Islands	HN Honduras	MA Morocco	SL Sierra Leone	
CO Colombia	HK Hong Kong	MZ Mozambique	SG Singapore	XX Countries-Other
KM Comoros	HU Hungary	MM Myanmar	SK Slovakia	
CG Congo	IS Iceland	NA Namibia	SI Slovenia	