FAQ
Assessment/Bill for Tax Due
1. What options are available if I am unable to pay my assessment in full at this time?

In order to avoid the addition of monthly penalty and interest charges you should pay your assessment in full by the due date. If you are unable to pay your assessment in full, we recommend that you pay as much as you can, as often as you can.

If you are sending in a partial payment, make a copy of the voucher to mail with each payment. Write the last four digits of the filer's social security number on the check. This will ensure accurate and timely processing of your payment. Failure to pay assessment amounts in full by the due date may result in the referral of your account to a Collection Agency.

2. Why did I receive this assessment letter?

The reason for the assessment is provided on the notice you received. If you have further questions, contact the City Income Tax Administration at 517-636-5829.

3. I received a bill, what options do I have?

1. Pay the balance according to the instructions on the letter received and include the voucher with your payment.

2. If you do not agree with the balance on your notice contact the City Income Tax Administration at 517-636-5829
    or by mail at:

Michigan Department of Treasury
City Income Tax Administration
PO Box 30741
Lansing, MI 48909

 

4. Why did I received an assessment letter after mailing my payment?

Allow 10-14 business days to process your payment. If the payment you submitted has already cleared your bank account, provide a copy of the front and back of the canceled check or money order to:

Michigan Department of Treasury
City Income Tax Administration
PO Box 30741
Lansing, MI 48909

Include a copy of the assessment with your correspondence so it can be credited to your account.

Note: To avoid any future processing delays, always include the appropriate voucher when mailing your payment. This ensures timely and accurate processing of your payment.

5. I made a timely payment and my check has not cleared my financial institution, what should I do?

Allow 10-14 business days to process your payment. If you have additional questions contact the City Income Tax Administration at 517-636-5829.

6. I received a bill for a deceased taxpayer, what should I do?

Prior to any review or action on the bill, the proper documentation must be filed with the Michigan Department of Treasury. Proper documentation can include the following:

  • A completed MI-1310 form and copy of death certificate
  • Letters of Authority from the court

If there is a probate estate please provide the following information:

  • Probate case number
  • Date of death
  • Court where case was filed
  • Final date to file claim
  • Name and address of personal representative and
  • If the estate is open or closed

Always include a copy of the bill with your correspondence.