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Michigan Adopts Sales and Use 
Tax Economic Nexus Standards for 
Remote Sellers 
The 1992 U.S. Supreme Court decision in Quill Corp v North Dakota 
limited the ability of states to require out-of-state sellers to collect or 
pay sales taxes on sales to purchasers within their state unless that seller 
had a “physical presence” in the state. As noted in the February Update, 
the result was that states and local governments were losing billions of 
dollars in uncollected sales and use taxes from out-of-state sellers. 

In 2016, South Dakota enacted legislation that requires out-of-state 
retailers to collect and remit sales and use tax if they annually conduct 
with South Dakota residents either (1) $100,000 worth of business, or 
(2) 200 separate transactions. Shortly after South Dakota enacted this 
economic presence statute, litigation ensued. The case South Dakota v. 
Wayfair, Inc proceeded all the way to the U.S. Supreme Court. 

On June 21, 2018, the U.S. Supreme Court issued its opinion in Wayfair 
holding that that an out-of-state seller may be required to collect or pay 
a state’s sales tax if the seller “avails itself of the substantial privilege 
of carrying on business in that jurisdiction.” Applying this new test, the 
Court held that South Dakota’s law was constitutional. The Court also 
cited approvingly to various aspects of South Dakota’s law. First, the 
Court found it important that South Dakota’s law had a safe harbor for 
smaller sellers. Second, the law explicitly stated that it applied only 
on a prospective basis. And finally, South Dakota is a member of the 
Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement (as is Michigan), therefore, it 
has standardized its sales tax to reduce administrative and compliance 
costs under the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement. 

Wayfair represents an expansion of activity that may require an out-
of-state seller to collect or pay a state’s sales tax; note, however, that a 
seller’s physical presence in a state may still require it to collect or pay a 
state’s tax regardless of economic activity. 

On August 1, 2018, the Department published RAB 2018-16 establishing 
a new policy for when an out-of-state seller is required to pay Michigan 
sales tax. The RAB provides that, effective October 1, 2018, an out-



Page 2

of-state seller that has sales into Michigan exceeding $100,000, or a 
seller that completes 200 or more separate transactions of sales into 
this state in the previous calendar year is required to remit sales or use 
tax on all of its taxable sales into this state and file all required returns. 
Upon request, the Department will waive failure to file and deficiency 
penalties for returns and payments due prior to December 31, 2018, if 
the taxpayer incurring those penalties is required to pay Michigan sales 
tax solely based on its economic activity in the state (i.e., no physical 
presence); interest will not be waived. Sellers with a physical presence in 
Michigan, or sellers required to pay sales or use tax under MCL 205.52b 
or 205.95a, must also pay Michigan sales tax on all Michigan sales even 
if they do not exceed either of the new economic thresholds. 

For more information regarding the new policy please visit 
https://www.michigan.gov/remotesellers

Simplified Sales and Use Tax 
Refund Procedures Coming in 2019 
 
Under the Michigan Sales and Use Tax Acts, purchasers who mistakenly 
failed to claim an available exemption at the time of purchase have 
historically been unable to claim a refund of the tax paid from Treasury. 
Indeed, only the person that actually collected and remitted the tax – 
the seller – could claim a refund. This necessitated a complicated refund 
procedure in which purchasers had to request tax reimbursement 
from the seller who, after documenting that the tax reimbursement 
was actually paid, could then claim a refund of the tax from Treasury. 
This claims procedure and its reliance on the interactions between the 
purchaser, seller and Treasury proved to be a cumbersome process for 
what was otherwise a standard refund claim. 

To simplify this process, 2018 PA 168 created a new avenue for 
purchasers to claim a refund of tax from Treasury. Effective 
January 1, 2019, a purchaser may request a refund directly from 
Treasury in circumstances where that purchaser failed to present a claim 
of exemption or otherwise notify the seller of an available exemption 
at the time of purchase. Because this new procedure applies only in 
the event the purchaser failed to claim an available exemption in the 
original transaction, it does not apply to other potential refund claims 
by purchasers. For example, refund claims related to returns of tangible 
personal property upon which tax was paid or refund claims related to 
retroactive changes in law will not be eligible for this new procedure. 

For eligible purchasers, the refund claim is timely if made within 4 years 
from the date of purchase. 

Continued on page 3
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To support the refund claim, the purchaser is required by statute to 
submit certain documentation, including:  

•	 An accurate record of the purchase that includes the date of the 
purchase and the amount of sales tax originally paid; 

•	 A proper exemption claim; and
•	 A Treasury form that provides information needed by Treasury 

to substantiate the refund claim and that also contains a signed 
statement by the seller indicating that the seller paid tax on the 
original transaction and has not, and will not, seek a refund of that 
tax. 

Treasury is currently in the process of creating a standard form for sellers 
to report the tax information for the transaction at issue and to affirm 
that no refund has, or will be, claimed in the future. This form will be 
made available to taxpayers beginning January 1, 2019. 

The new claims procedure is effective only beginning January 1, 2019. 
Any refund claims made prior to that date remain subject to existing 
law and, consequently, can only made by the seller who collected and 
remitted the tax. Refund claims from purchasers received prior to 
January 1, 2019, will be denied. Purchasers who choose to wait until 
January 1, 2019, to file refund claims with Treasury should consider the 
application of the statute of limitations to their claims.

Taxpayers should monitor Treasury’s website at www.michigan.gov/
taxes and future editions of this newsletter for additional updates.  

 
 
 

Recently Issued 
Guidance from 
Treasury

Revenue Administrative 
Bulletins
RAB 2018-12 
Corporate Income Tax, Unitary 
Business Group Control Test 
and Relationship Tests

RAB 2018-16
Sales and Use Tax Nexus 
Standards for Remote Sellers

Notices to Taxpayers
Notice Regarding 
Amendments to the Taxpayer 
Bill of Rights Rules, June 8, 
2018

Update to Michigan State Real 
Estate Transfer Tax Refunds for 
Transfers from June 24, 2011 
to Present,  June 26, 2018

Corporate Income Tax 
Guidance on Federal “Tax Cuts 
and Jobs Act,”
July 2, 2018

Notice to Remote Sellers 
Regarding Sales Tax and South 
Dakota v Wayfair, August 1, 
2018 

Notice Regarding Michigan 
Taxes on Illegal Activities 
September 13, 2018

Revenue Administrative Bulletins 
(RAB) can be found on the website at 
www.michigan.gov/treasury under 
the Reports and Legal Resources 
tab.



Page 4

Health Insurance Claims 
Assessment Act To Be Replaced 
By Insurance Provider Assessment 
Act 
On June 11, 2018, legislation creating a new multi-tiered health 
insurance tax was signed into law by Governor Snyder. Specifically, 
2018 PA 175 (“PA 175”) creates the Insurance Provider Assessment Act 
(“IPAA”), which institutes a new health care-related tax incorporating 
both a fixed and variable rate structure. A companion act, 2018 PA 
173, repeals the current Health Insurance Claims Assessment Act 
(“HICAA”) as of the date that the assessment under the IPAA begins 
to be levied, and a second companion act, 2018 PA 174, eliminates a 
provision of the Use Tax Act that would have reinstated the Medicaid 
managed care use tax on July 1, 2020, the date that HICAA was 
previously scheduled to sunset.

The IPAA will apply at varying rates to non-Medicaid health insurers, 
prepaid inpatient health plans (providers of Medicaid behavioral 
health services) and Medicaid managed care services. The revenue 
produced by the IPAA will support Michigan’s Medicaid program.

For purposes of calculating federal Medicaid reimbursement, federal 
law requires state health care-related taxes to be both “broad-based” 
and “imposed uniformly.” However, states are permitted to submit 
waiver applications requesting that a specified health care-related tax 
be treated as broad-based and uniform if the tax at issue can meet 
certain complex statistical thresholds that are outlined in federal 
regulations. These statistical tests are intended to ensure states do 
not structure health care-related taxes that place a disproportionate 
amount of tax liability onto Medicaid providers. If the tax at issue 
meets the stated statistical thresholds, the federal Medicaid 
authorities are required to approve the waiver.

The IPAA is intended to meet these statistical thresholds. The act 
therefore requires the Michigan Department of Health and Human 
Services (“DHHS”) to request from the federal Medicaid authorities 
a waiver of the broad-based and uniformity provisions governing 
state health care-related taxes, for a period of at least 5 years. The 
assessment imposed by the IPAA will not begin to be levied until 
the first day of the calendar quarter in which DHHS provides written 
notice to Treasury that the federal waiver permitting implementation 
of the IPAA has been approved, or October 1, 2018, whichever is 
later. Accordingly, it is important to note the new tax will not be 
implemented immediately, and HICAA remains in place until the 

Continued on page 5

Statement of 
Acquiescence/
Non-Acquiescence 
Regarding Certain 
Court Decisions
In each issue of the quarterly 
Treasury Update, Treasury 
will publish a list of final 
(unappealed), non-binding, 
adverse decisions issued by 
the Court of Appeals, the Court 
of Claims and the Michigan 
Tax Tribunal, and state its 
acquiescence or 
non-acquiescence with respect 
to each. The current quarterly 
list applying Treasury’s 
acquiescence policy appears 
below. "Acquiescence” means 
that Treasury accepts the holding 
of the court in that case and will 
follow it in similar cases with the 
same controlling facts. However, 
"acquiescence” does not 
necessarily indicate Treasury’s 
approval of the reasoning used 
by the court in that decision. 
“Non-acquiescence” means 
that Treasury disagrees with 
the holding of the court and 
will not follow the decision in 
similar matters involving other 
taxpayers. 

ACQUIESCENCE:
No cases this quarter.

NON-ACQUIESCENCE:
No cases this quarter.

Archives of Treasury Update can be found 
on the website at Michigan.gov/Treasury 
under the Reports and Legal Resources 
tab.
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IPAA assessment has been 
implemented and begins to be 
levied upon providers. Treasury 
will publish on its website a 
taxpayer notice containing 
additional information about the 
transition to the IPAA shortly after 
the notification of waiver approval 
from DHHS has been received.

The tax imposed by the IPAA 
is levied upon the number of 
“member months” reported by 
each “insurance provider” for the 
previous calendar year. The IPAA 
defines a “member month” as 
the total number of individuals 
for whom an insurance provider 
has recognized revenue for one 
month.	 An “insurance provider” 
is defined as a Medicaid managed 
care organization or a health 
insurer. “Health insurer” means 
an insurer authorized under 
Michigan’s insurance code to 
issue health insurance policies in 
this state. The definition includes 
health maintenance organizations 
but specifically excludes self-
insured entities.

The new tax will be levied at both 
variable and fixed rates, according 
to three rate tiers. The Tier 1 
rates will apply to the member 
months of Medicaid contracted 
health plans supported with 
federal Medicaid funds, the Tier 2 
rate will apply to health insurers’ 
member months not supported 
with federal Medicaid funds, 
and the Tier 3 rate will apply to 
the member months of specialty 
prepaid health plans supported 
with federal Medicaid funds.
 
Information with respect to the 
insurance providers that will 

be subject to the new tax, the 
number of member months to 
be assessed, and the rate to 
be imposed on those member 
months will be provided to 
Treasury by DHHS and by the 
Department of Insurance and 
Financial Services, and will be 
based upon regulatory filings 
made by the providers.

For the initial year of assessment 
as well as succeeding years, the 
IPAA mandates that Treasury 
calculate the actual assessment 
due from each insurance 
provider based on that provider’s 
reported member months from 
the previous calendar year. 
Treasury is then required to notify 
each insurance provider of the 
assessment amount that will be 
due the next year. Assessments 
will be payable in quarterly 
installments.

The IPAA will be administered 
by Treasury under the Revenue 
Act and Treasury expects to 
promulgate such administrative 
rules as may be necessary to 
implement the act. Treasury may 
issue additional taxpayer guidance 
regarding the IPAA in the form of 
FAQs or more formal guidance, as 
necessary.

Again, note that the new tax will 
not be implemented immediately, 
and HICAA remains in place until 
the IPAA assessment has been 
implemented and begins to be 
levied upon providers. Treasury 
will publish on its website a 
taxpayer notice containing 
additional information about the 
transition to the IPAA shortly after 
the notification of waiver approval 
from DHHS has been received.

continued from page 4
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Court of Appeals Upholds Old 
Orchard: Tolling Applies to Audits 
Started on or Before September 30, 
2014
The June 2017 issue of Treasury Update announced the Court of Claims’ 
decision in favor of the Department in Old Orchard Brands LLC v Dep’t 
of Treasury, which held that, because tolling of the statute of limitations 
for state audits was in effect under section 27a(3) at the time the audit 
began, tolling applied to calculate the limitations period applicable 
to the final assessment issued to Old Orchard. Shortly thereafter, Old 
Orchard appealed the decision to the Court of Appeals. The Court of 
Appeals consolidated the case with two others and on May 22, 2018, 
affirmed the Court of Claims in a published decision. 

As a reminder, Public Act 3 of 2014 (PA 3) changed the way the statute 
of limitations applies for state audits. Before the enactment of PA 3, the 
limitations period was tolled during the audit and then restarted at the 
audit’s conclusion, remaining open for the balance of the limitations 
period plus one year. PA 3 eliminated tolling for state audits and 
significantly shortened the time for conducting them. For audits started 
after September 30, 2014, the limitations period is generally extended 
only for the length of time beyond the limitations period that it takes to 
issue a preliminary audit determination (PAD) but no longer than one 
year. An additional extension of nine months is permitted for issuance 
of the assessment if the PAD is issued timely. PA 3, which went into 
effect February 6, 2014, was silent about which version of the statute 
controlled Treasury audits initiated before September 30, 2014. 

In affirming the Court of Claims in Old Orchard, the Court of Appeals 
held that the legislative silence regarding audits commenced on or 
before September 30, 2014, reflected an intent to allow tolling in 
those cases. It reasoned that the necessary corollary of providing 
for extensions of the limitations period for audits commenced after 
September 30, 2014, is that audits commenced on or before that date 
remain subject to tolling. 

The taxpayers have sought leave to appeal to the Michigan Supreme 
Court. 

About Treasury 
Update

Treasury Update is a periodic 
publication of the Tax Policy 
Division of the Michigan 
Department of Treasury. 

It is distributed for general 
information purposes only 
and discusses topics of broad 
applicability. It is not intended 
to constitute legal, tax or other 
advice. For information or 
advice regarding your specific 
tax situation, please contact 
your tax professional.

For questions, ideas for 
future newsletter or Revenue 
Administrative Bulletin (RAB) 
topics, or suggestions for 
improving Treasury Update, 
please contact:

Mike Eschelbach,  
Director, Tax Policy Bureau 
517-373-3210

Lance Wilkinson, Administrator, 
Tax Policy Division 
517-373-9600

Email address: 
Treas_Tax_Policy@michigan.
gov
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Federal Tax Reform Affects The 
Michigan Net Operating Loss For 
Individual Income Taxpayers
The May 2016 Treasury Update explained the Michigan net operating
loss (NOL) deduction and some common errors to avoid in
computing and claiming the deduction. This article highlights some
changes to the deduction from the federal tax reform signed into law
at the end of 2017, which result from Michigan’s piggyback on the
federal NOL provision. The changes apply to tax years 2018 through
2025.

The amendments to the Internal Revenue Code made by the
popularly-named Tax Cuts and Jobs Act include a limitation of
$250,000 on the deduction of business losses for single filers
($500,000 for married taxpayers filing jointly). Business losses
exceeding the new cap are considered excess business losses and are
carried over to future years and treated as an NOL under the federal
NOL provision. These limits also apply to non-corporate farmers. 

Additionally, the federal amendments limit a taxpayer’s current tax
year NOL deduction to the lesser of the total aggregated NOL
carryover or 80% of taxable income, computed without regard to
the NOL deduction. Federal reform also eliminated the carryback
provisions for nonfarmers, reduced the carryback from three to two
years for farmers, and permited indefinite carryforward of NOLs
created during the applicable tax years. 

Treasury is awaiting Internal Revenue Service guidance regarding
the treatment of the changes before a final determination is made
regarding the Michigan treatment. However, Treasury expects to issue
an updated version of the MI-1045, Application for Michigan
Net Operating Loss Refund and possibly new forms and worksheets. 
Taxpayers are advised to watch Treasury’s website for the
announcement of new and updated forms and to pay special 
attention to selecting forms for the appropriate year since the 
carryback and carryforward provisions have changed for tax years 
2018 through 2025. 



Page 8

Limited Use Tax 
Exemption for 
Contractors Acquiring 
Property from Others 
for Affixation to Real 
Estate Enacted into 
Law
Michigan recently enacted 2018 PA 
201 (Act) to add section 4ee to the 
Use Tax Act.  This new section of the 
Use Tax Act provides an exemption 
to a person engaged in the business 
of constructing, altering, repairing, 
or improving real estate for others 
(Contractor) regarding tangible 
personal property acquired from 
another person (Property) if  
certain conditions are satisfied. 

Specifically, a Contractor is not liable 
for use tax under the Act for storing, 
using or consuming the Property 
as long as all of the following three 
conditions are satisfied:

•	 The Property was purchased by 
that other person

•	 That other person is not  
exempt from either Michigan 
sales tax or Michigan use tax

•	 The Property was acquired 
by the Contractor for the sole 
purpose of affixing the Property 
to real estate on behalf of that 
other person

The Department intends to update 
its formal guidance applicable to 
Contractors to reflect the changes to 
the Use Tax Act resulting from the 
Act. 

For more information regarding the 
Act, visit the Legislature’s web page 
at www.legislature.mi.gov.

State Real Estate Transfer Tax: 
Amendment to Exemption (u)
In general, the transferor of any interest in real property must pay 
state real estate transfer tax (SRETT), unless an exemption applies. One 
of the most common exemptions is MCL 205.526(u), which provided 
an exemption for transfers where (1) the seller claimed a principal 
residence exemption (PRE) on the property, (2) the state equalized value 
(SEV) of the property at the time of the transfer was less than or equal 
to the SEV at the time it was purchased, and (3) the sale was an arms-
length transaction. 

However, in the past, when a vacant parcel was purchased and a 
residence was constructed after the purchase, the SEV of the property 
would remain throughout the year as it was valued for the vacant parcel. 
After construction of a residence, the SEV would increase due to the 
construction. In this scenario, the subsequent transfer of the residence 
would never qualify for exemption “(u)” – even in a declining market – 
since the value at the time of transfer would always be greater than the 
SEV of the vacant parcel. 

2018 PA 172 was recently enacted to amend exemption “(u)” to address 
this gap in the statute. Specifically, the provision regarding the SEV 
now requires the SEV of the subject property to be less than or equal 
to the SEV as of the first Tax Day (December 31) after the issuance of 
a certificate of occupancy for the residence or the date the residence 
was acquired, whichever is later. This presumably expands the scope of 
exemption “(u)” to address the scenario described above. 

The amendment is retroactive, but limited by the statute of limitations 
in MCL 205.27a. If a taxpayer previously requested a refund based on 
the scenario PA 172 is meant to address and was denied, the taxpayer 
may submit another request. 
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Ford Motor Co v Dep’t of Treasury
Appeals court rules that Treasury has discretionary authority to require 
substantiating evidence beyond the minimum information required 
under the refund provisions of the Motor Fuel Tax Act (MFTA)

In the recent case Ford Motor Co v Dep’t of Treasury, the Michigan Court 
of Appeals affirmed the Court of Claims’ grant of summary disposition 
in favor of Treasury related to Treasury’s denial of Ford’s motor fuel tax 
refund in excess of the portion already approved by Treasury. The case 
involved motor fuel tax refund claims for motor fuel placed into newly-
manufactured vehicles destined for export outside Michigan for testing, 
quality control, and transportation purposes. 

Although key aspects of this case were controlled by the Court’s decision 
in Auto Alliance Int’l, Inc v Dep’t of Treasury, 282 Mich App 492 (2009), 
this is the first opinion of the Court of Appeals addressing the distinct 
issue of substantiation of a refund claim. 

Treasury asserted that Ford was required to provide computer fuel 
specification sheets or similar documentation to demonstrate how 
much fuel (in excess of Treasury’s standard allowance of 3.2 gallons of 
motor fuel per vehicle - established in response to the Auto Alliance 
decision) was placed in the specific vehicle models during the tax 
periods for which the refunds were claimed.  Ford argued that affidavits 
it submitted (in lieu of the fuel specification sheets) were sufficient 
to establish the amount of fuel Ford claimed to have placed into each 
vehicle and that Treasury did not have the authority to dictate what 
evidence substantiates a refund claim beyond the express requirements 
of MFTA’srefund  provision – MCL 207.1048. 

The Court rejected Ford’s argument since the plain language of the 
statute grants Treasury the authority (although not unfettered) to 
investigate a refund claim and determine what documentation is 
adequate for substantiation of that claim. 

On review of the record, the Court ruled that the Court of Claims was 
correct in finding that the evidence presented by Ford was insufficient 
to support its entitlement to a refund beyond the 3.2 gallons per vehicle 
amount Treasury granted. Notably, the Court pointed out that Ford 
previously had within its possession the documentation necessary 
to substantiate its claims, but admitted that it failed to retain that 
documentation due to its own record retention protocols. 

The Court also rejected Ford’s argument that MCL 207.1048 is an 
impermissible delegation of legislative powers to Treasury, Ford’s 
challenge based on constitutional due process grounds, and Ford’s 
assertion that the Administrative Procedures Act applied. 

Both Treasury and Ford 
contended their respective 
positions were supported by 
MCL 207.1048, which states, in 
relevant part:

In order to make a refund claim 
under this act, a person shall do 
all of the following:

(a) File the claim on a form or 
in a format prescribed by the 
department.

(b) Provide the information 
required by the department 
including, but not limited to, all of 
the following:

(i) The total amount of motor fuel 
purchased based on the original 
invoice unless the department 
waives this requirement.

(ii) The total amount of tax paid.

(iii) A statement that the fuel was 
used for an exempt purpose or by 
an exempt user.

(iv) A statement that the fuel was 
paid for in full.

(v) A statement printed on the 
form that the claim is made 
under penalty of perjury.

(c) Comply with any specific 
requirement described in sections 
32 to 47.

(d) Sign the claim.

(e) File the claim not more than 
18 months after the date the 
motor fuel was purchased.
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Michigan Supreme Court Rules on 
Bad Debt
Michigan’s sales and use tax acts include a provision that allows a 
taxpayer to recover taxes remitted on financed sales when the sales/
purchase price is not fully recovered from the purchaser and the 
transaction is written off as a bad debt for federal income tax purposes.  
In Ally Fin Inc et al v Dep’t of Treasury,____Mich__(2018), the Michigan 
Supreme Court ruled on three issues regarding the proper application of 
the bad debt deduction.  

First, the Court held that the exclusion of repossessed property from the 
deduction did not prohibit the taxpayers from recovering tax remitted 
on unrecovered amounts from repossessed property. Thus, to the extent 
there was a deficiency on a loan remaining after repossession and sale 
of the property, the taxpayer is entitled to claim the bad debt deduction 
on those uncollected amounts.  

Second, the Court held that the bad debt deduction grants Treasury 
broad authority to determine what documentation is sufficient to 
establish a valid bad debt claim.  Specific to this case, the Court found 
that the Department may require a taxpayer to provide validated RD-
108s to prove sales tax was paid on vehicle transactions.  A validated 
RD-108 is a Secretary of State form that indicates that it collected sales 
tax on a vehicle sale.  

Finally, the Court held that the requirement that a retailer and lender 
enter into a written election regarding which party may claim the 
deduction is satisfied even if the election is made after the bad debts 
have been written off of the taxpayer’s books.  The Court reasoned that 
these accounts still exist in that the taxpayer would still collect on them 
if given the opportunity.  

Because factual issues remain regarding substantiation of the refund 
amounts, the case was remanded to the Court of Claims for resolution.  

Rolling Stock Use Tax 
Exemption Primary 
Business Purpose 
Must be Transport for 
Hire Across State
In Midwest Power Line, Inc 
v Department of Treasury, 
___ Mich App___(2018), the 
Michigan Court of Appeals ruled 
that the taxpayer could not claim 
a rolling stock use tax exemption 
for its trucks. The taxpayer’s 
trucks crossed state lines while 
carrying poles, transformers 
and other equipment owned by 
utility companies but used by the 
taxpayer to do emergency repairs 
for the companies.

The court held that the Use Tax 
Act exemption for rolling stock 
used in interstate commerce by 
an interstate fleet motor carrier 
is only available to a taxpayer 
whose primary business purpose 
is transporting people or property 
for hire across state lines. The 
taxpayer could not claim the tax 
exemption because the transport 
of customers’ property across 
state lines was incidental to its 
primary purpose of providing 
repair services. 
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Tomra of N America, Inc v Dep’t of 
Treasury
Appeals court rules on the scope of the 
industrial processing exemptions in the sales 
and use tax acts. 

In a 2-1 published decision issued by the Michigan Court of Appeals on 
July 17, 2018, in the matter of Tomra of N America v Dep’t of Treasury 
(Docket Nos. 336871 and 337663), the majority reversed the Court of 
Claims’ grant of summary disposition in favor of Treasury and remanded 
the case back to the Court of Claims for further proceedings.  

Tomra appealed Treasury’s denial of its refund request for sales and 
use taxes from its sales of reverse vending machines (bottle return 
machines) and use of repair parts for those machines based on the 
industrial processing exemptions under MCL 205.54t and MCL 205.94o.    

The majority rejected Treasury’s argument that the explicit definitions 
of “industrial processing” in MCL 205.54t(7)(a) and MCL 205.94o(7)(a), 
which state that “[industrial processing begins when tangible personal 
property begins movement from raw materials storage to begin 
industrial processing …,” establish a temporal requirement that must 
be met before any activity (whether described in those definitions or 
enumerated under MCL 205.54t(3) or MCL 205.94o(3)) can constitute 
exempt industrial processing.  

The majority concluded that the statute “does not say that industrial 
processing must begin this way, but rather that when tangible personal 
property begins movement from raw materials storage to begin 
industrial processing, one can rest assured that industrial processing has 
begun.”  Accordingly, the majority determined that activities that fall 
within the enumerated list under MCL 205.54t(3) and MCL 205.94o(3) 
may qualify for the industrial processing exemption regardless whether 
there is “movement from raw material storage” as purportedly required 
under MCL 205.54t(7)(a) and MCL 205.94o(7)(a) in order to constitute 
“industrial processing.”  

The dissent followed the Court of Claims, finding the machines are 
not engaged in “industrial processing” because they “simply facilitate 
the collection of raw materials” and, therefore, “perform activities 
before the industrial process begins” under MCL 205.54t(7)(a) or MCL 
205.94o(7)(a).

Treasury has filed Applications for Leave to Appeal with the Michigan 
Supreme Court in these matters seeking reversal of the Court of Appeals 
decision.
   

Need Assistance?

For further assistance with 
reissuing refunds or rectifying 
other issues, contact Treasury’s 
Income Tax Information line at 
517-636-4486. 

Please note the Office of the 
Taxpayer Advocate does not 
check the status of current year 
tax returns. 

For other Frequently Asked 
Questions, please refer to 
www.michigan.gov/treasury


