Gov. Whitmer's Request for U.S. Small Business Administration Disaster Declaration Approved for Newaygo County


April 4, 2019  


Gov. Whitmer’s Request for U.S. Small Business Administration Disaster Declaration Approved for Newaygo County  


LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Gretchen Whitmer today announced the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved her request for aadministrative declaration of disaster for Newaygo County. The declaration means residents and businesses affected by heavy rainfall and snowmelt on March 14 that resulted in widespread flooding are eligible to apply for SBA financial assistance. 


The SBA disaster assistance program will make low-interest loans available to eligible residents and businesses in Newaygo Countyas well as the neighboring counties of Kent, Lake, Mason, Mecosta, Montcalm, Muskegon, Oceana, and Osceola. 


“I want to thank the SBA for recognizing the need for disaster assistance in Newaygo and neighboring counties,” Whitmer said. “The availability of these low-interest loans will provide some relief to our residents as they continue to recover from the impacts of recent flooding.” 


Based on information provided by the Michigan State Police, Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division, state leaders requested a joint damage assessment with federal and local leaders to review and validate the most severely damaged homes, businesses and other facilities across the affected area. The team conducted their assessment from March 26-28. 


The SBA disaster assistance program provides low-interest loans for homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private nonprofit organizations to repair or replace real estate, personal property, machinery and equipment, inventory, and business assets that were damaged or destroyed. The SBA tailors the repayment of each disaster loan to the borrower’s financial capability. 


The SBA will establish a disaster loan outreach center in the affected area for one-on-one assistance. Loan applications will also be made available online or by mail. 


Whitmer declared a state of emergency on March 19 for Newaygo County after heavy rainfall and snowmelt on March 14 resulted in widespread flooding damage. The declaration makes available state assistance to communities in the affected area.