Central Michigan University Board of Trustees

Central Michigan University's Board of Trustees consists of eight members appointed by Michigan's governor with the consent of the State Senate and with authority granted through the state constitution. The board governs the business and affairs of the university.
One of its most important duties is to appoint and evaluate the university president. CMU's president serves as an ex officio, non-voting, member of the board. The trustees also clarify the institution's mission, approve long-range plans, assess the educational program, ensure financial solvency, preserve institutional independence, maintain the relationship between the university and the public it serves, and protect and preserve the assets of the institution.
In addition, the board retains ultimate responsibility for academic matters and reserves authority over such areas as the mission and goals of the institution; admissions and retention policies; policies governing intercollegiate programs; faculty promotions, sabbatical leaves and tenure; establishing fees; accepting gifts; naming facilities; and a number of other areas.
Board members do not receive compensation, although their necessary travel and other expenses related to CMU business are reimbursed by the university. Please visit the link below for more details on the Board of Trustees, such as budget, meetings, members' names and addresses, and audit information. The appointments of this board are subject to the advise and consent of the Senate.

Central Michigan University Board of Trustees homepage and meeting information



Public Act 48 of 1963, MCLA 390.551


Contact Information

Mary Jane Flanagan
Secretary to the Board of Trustees
Central Michigan University
Phone: (989) 774-7393
Fax: (989) 774-3665
Email: flana1mj@cmich.edu or trustees@cmich.edu

Tricia Keith, Royal Oak

Term Expires Dec 31, 2020
William Weideman, Midland
Term expires Dec 31, 2020

Robert Wardrop II, Grand Rapids
Term expires Dec 31, 2022

Richard Studley, Grand Ledge
Term expires Dec 31, 2022
Isaiah Oliver, Jr., Flint
Term expires Dec 31, 2024
Michael Sandler, West Bloomfield
Term expires Dec 31, 2024


Edward Plawecki, Plymouth
Term expires Dec 31, 2026
Todd J. Anson, Charlevoix
Term expires Dec 31, 2026