Michigan Community Corrections Board

The Michigan Community Corrections Board serves in an advisory capacity to the Director for the Michigan Department of Corrections and is charged with approving many components of community corrections programs including: goals, eligibility criteria, program guidelines, program standards and policies, the application process, procedures for funding, and criteria for evaluation.
The Board consists of 13 members, each representing a certain entity related to corrections. Board members serve 4 year terms.The appointments of this board are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.



Contact Information:

Crissa Blankenburg, CBSP
Office of Community Corrections, A/Manager
206 E. Michigan Ave.
Lansing, MI 48910
Phone: (517) 483-6121
Fax: (517) 373-9545
Email: BlankenburgC@michigan.gov
Current Members:
Heidi Washington
Director of Department of Corrections
William DeBoer, Byron Center

Represents Existing Community Alternatives Program
Term expires 3/31/20
Cory Chavis, Canton

Represents the General Public
Term expires 3/31/20
Keith Turpel, Kalamazoo

Represents Criminal Defense Attorneys
Term expires 3/31/20
Todd Woodcox, Macomb

Represents City Police Departments
Term expires 3/31/20
The Honorable Bradley Knoll, Holland

Represents District Court Judges
Term expires 3/31/21
The Honorable Martha Anderson, Troy

Represents Circuit Court Judges
Term expires 3/31/21
Deborah Smith-Olson, Baldwin

Represents the General Public
Term expires 3/31/21
Jennifer C. Janetsky, Flushing

Represents County Prosecuting Attorneys
Term expires 3/31/21
Bobby Hopewell, Kalamazoo

Represents Members of City Government
Term expires 3/31/21

Anna R. Kohn, Detroit - Chairperson

Represents the General Public
Term expires 3/31/2023
L. Paul Bailey, Berrien Center

Represents County Sheriffs
Term expires 3/31/2023
Jake W. Smith, Battle Creek

Represents County Commissioners
Term expires 3/31/2023