Michigan Historical Commission

The Michigan Historical Commission was established in 1913 and advises the director of the Michigan Department of Natural Resources on the museum, archival and other programs of the Michigan Historical Center.  It approves Michigan Historical Markers.  The Governor appoints commission members to four-year terms. 
Each year, the Michigan Historical Commission presents the Governor John B. Swainson Award to state and local government employees who do not work in the field of history but have made exceptional contributions to preserving and interpreting the stories of Michigan's past.

Click here to access the Historical Commission homepage and meeting information
Contact Information
Michelle Davis
Michigan Historical Commission
P.O. Box 30740
702 W. Kalamazoo St.
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 373-6362
Thomas Truscott, Lansing
Appointed by the Senate Majority Leader
Joseph Calvaruso, Galesburg
Appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives
Brian Egen, Monroe
Term ends 5/21/19
Susan Safford, Mackinaw City
Term ends 5/21/20
Larry Wagenaar, Ada
Historical Society of Michigan
Term ends 5/21/20
Timothy Chester, Grand Rapids
Term ends 5/21/20
Eric Hemenway, Harbor Springs
Term ends 5/21/21
Laura Ashlee, Okemos
Term ends 5/21/21

Delia Fernandez, Lansing
Term ends 5/21/22