Mackinac Island State Park Commission

The Mackinac Island State Park Commission was formed in 1895 and is responsible for all aspects of managing Mackinac State Historic Parks. The commission, which meets approximately six times a year, is made up of seven members appointed by the Governor of Michigan and confirmed by the state's Senate. Commissioners serve six-year terms.

Mackinac Island State Park Commission homepage and meeting information 



Public Act 451 of 1994, MCLA 324.76702


Contact Information

Phil Porter

Mackinac State Historic Parks

Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 873
Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone: (231) 436-4100
Fax: (231) 436-4210



Marlee Brown (D), Mackinac Island

Term ends 4/12/25


Rachel Bendit (D), Ann Arbor 

Term ends 4/12/25

Dick Posthumus (R), Alto
Term ends 4/12/21


Dan Loepp (D), Birmingham
Term ends 4/12/21


Richard A. Manoogian (I), Grosse Pointe Park

Term ends 4/12/23


Phillip Pierce (D), Grosse Pointe Shores

Term ends 4/12/23


William Marvin (R)

Resident of Mackinaw City

Term ends 4/12/24