Michigan Truck Safety Commission

The goal of the Commission is to improve truck safety by providing Michigan's trucking industry and the citizens of Michigan with effective educational programs, and by addressing significant truck safety issues.
The Michigan Truck Safety Commission (MTSC) is unique, the only organization in the nation dedicated to commercial truck driver education and training supported not with tax dollars but solely by the industry it serves. What was born of modest beginnings has grown to become a renowned safety advocate for the state's trucking industry. The Michigan Truck Safety Commission is committed to enhancing truck and truck driver safety by providing truck driver education and training, heightening all drivers' awareness of the operational characteristics and limitations of trucks, initiating data collection and research, and supporting enforcement of motor carrier safety laws.
It is an 11 member commission, with 7 members appointed by the Governor. The 11-member Commission meets bimonthly. The appointments of this board are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.
Funding is provided by a Truck Safety Fund, established by Public Act 348 of 1988, and administered by the Office of Highway Safety Planning, a division of the Michigan Department of State Police.
Much of the mission of the Michigan Truck Safety Commission is accomplished through two primary grants. One is to the Michigan Center for Truck Safety, which provides education and training to truck drivers and the motoring public. The other is to the Traffic Safety Division of Michigan State Police, which provides enforcement of truck safety laws. Additional grants are also occasionally awarded for research and other truck safety activities.



Contact Information

Kara Rueckert

Executive Assistant to Michael Prince

Office of Highway Safety Planning
7150 Harris Drive 

Dimondale, Michigan 48921
Phone: (517) 284-3066h
Email: Rueckert, Kara (MSP)


Kim Kelly, Dimondale
Represents the general public
Term ends 8/4/21
Gregory Casuley, Saginaw
Represents the Michigan Trucking Association
Term ends 8/4/21
Jeremy Worm, Ahmeek
Represents 4 year colleges
Term ends 8/4/21
Jeffrey Lee, Canton
Represents organized labor
Term ends 8/4/21
Carol Heinowski, Grand Ledge
Represents private motor carriers
Term ends 8/4/21
James Shea, Waterford
Represents the general public
Term ends 8/4/21
Michelle Taylor, Muskegon
Represents Michigan community colleges
Term ends 8/4/21
Capt. Harold Love
Represents the Michigan Department of State Police
Mr. Fred Bueter, Chair
Represents the Secretary of State
Chuck Moser, Drummond Island
Represents the Michigan Transportation Commission
Mr. Michael L. Prince
Represents the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning