State Building Authority Board of Trustees

The State Building Authority (SBA) was organized under P.A. 183 of 1964, as amended.  The purpose of the Authority is to acquire, construct, furnish, equip, renovate, buildings and equipment for the use of the State, including public universities and community colleges.  It is governed by a 5-member Board of Trustees appointed by the Governor, with advice and consent of the Senate. 
The Authority is authorized to issue and sell bonds and notes for acquisition and construction of facilities and State equipment in an aggregate principal amount outstanding not to exceed $2.7 billion.  Not included in this limitation are bonds allocated for debt service reserves, bond issue expenses, bond discounts, bond insurance premiums and certain refunding bonds. 
All bonds and commercial paper notes are limited obligations of the Authority and are not general obligations of the State or Authority.  The debt service on the bonds are payable from lease revenue paid by the State pursuant to the provisions of the leases.
In addition to capital financing SBA houses Risk Management providing state agencies with commercial property, general liability, aviation, builder's risk, as well as other needed insurance and administers the state's Vehicle Self Insurance Fund. The appointments of this board are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.




Contact Information


Debbie Roberts
Executive Director
State Building Authority
Phone: (517) 241-2432
Fax: (517) 335-1638



Dale Zahn, Holland
Term ends 8/21/20
Represents the general public
Peter F. Schwartz
Term ends 8/21/21
Represents the general public
Patrick Devlin, Livonia
Term ends 8/21/21
Represents the general public

Jimmy Greene, Saginaw
Term ends 8/21/22
Represents the general public

Ehrlich Crain, Detroit
Term ends 8/21/23
Represents the general public