Health Information Technology Commission

The Michigan Health Information Technology (HIT) Commission was created by PA 137-06. The HIT Commission is housed within the Michigan Department of Community Health. The Commission's mission is to facilitate and promote the design, implementation, operation, and maintenance of an interoperable health care information infrastructure in Michigan.

Contact Information

Meghan Sifuentes Vanderstelt
Director, Policy Division Policy, Planning, and Legislative Services  
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Office: 517-284-4758
Fax: 517-335-8297 

Current Members:

Jack Harris, Lansing
Term expires 8/3/20
Designee of the Director of DTMB

Sarah Esty, Ann Arbor
Term expires 8/3/20
Designee of the Director of DHHS
Rozelle Hegeman-Dingle, Rochester Hills
Term expires 8/3/20
Represents pharmaceuticals manufacturers
Jonathan (Jack) Kufahl, Jackson
Term expires 8/3/21
Represents hospitals

Norman J. Beauchamp, Grand Rapids
Term expires 8/3/21
Represents Schools of medicine in Michigan

Patricia Rinvelt, Ann Arbor
Term expires 8/3/21
Represents purchasers or employers

Heather Somand, Ann Arbor
Term expires 8/3/22
Represents pharmacists

Nicholas D’Isa, Haslett
Term expires 8/3/22
Represents health plans or other party payers

Thomas Simmer, Ann Arbor
Term expires 8/3/22
Represents nonprofit health care corporations operating pursuant to the nonprofit health care corporation reform act, 1980 PA 350, MCL 550.1101 to 550.1703

Jim VanderMey, Byron Center
Term expires 8/3/22
Represents the health information technology field

Paul LaCasse, West Bloomfield
erm expires 8/3/23
Represents Doctors of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery

Michael Zaroukian, Okemos
Term Expires 08/03/23
Represents doctors of medicine

Renee Smiddy, Howell
Term expires 8/3/23
Represents the general public