Mental Health Diversion Council

Reiterated by Executive Order 2014-7, the Mental Health Diversion Council is an advisory body to the Governor within the Department of Health and Human Services charged to advise and assist in the implantation of a diversion action plan and provide recommendations for statutory, contractual or procedural changes to improve diversion.  The Council is comprised of 18 members appointed by the Governor to four-year terms.




Contact Information

Steven M. Mays
Diversion Administrator
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Mental Health Diversion Council Liaison 
320 S. Walnut Lansing, MI 48913
Phone: 517-241-3302
Current Members:
Meghan Groen
Lt. Governor’s Designee
Debra Pinals, Ann Arbor
Designee of the Department of Health and Human Services
Lia Gulick, Wheeler
Represents the Department of Corrections
Christopher Becker, Ada
Represents prosecutors
Term expires 1/30/21
George Strander, Albion
Represents court administrators
Term expires 1/30/21
Larry Cameron, Southfield
Represents advocates of consumer representatives
Term expires 1/30/21
Jon Gale, Twin Lake
Represents local law enforcement
Term expires 1/30/21
Christopher Cooke, Traverse City
Represents licensed attorneys
Term expires 1/30/21
Michele Bell, Midland
Represents advocates of consumer representatives on juvenile justices issues
Term expires 1/30/22
Soleil Campbell, Okemos
Designee of the Department of Health and Human Services
Term expires 1/30/22
Ronald Derrer, Grand Rapids
Represent juvenile mental health treatment practitioners
Term expires 1/30/22
Steve Kempker, Zeeland
Represents County Sheriffs
Term expires 1/30/23
Jessica Taylor, Detroit
Represents Community prisoner or Jail Re-Entry
Term expires 1/30/24
Milton L. Mack, Wayne
Represents the State Court Administrative Office
Term expires 1/30/24
Willie Brooks, Rochester Hills
Represents Medicaid pre-paid inpatient health plan
Term expires 1/30/24
Bradley Casemore, Battle Creek
Represents adult service agencies and/or providers from a local community mental health service program
Term expires 1/30/24
Sara Spencer-Noggle, Mount Pleasant
Represents the judiciary
Term expires 1/30/24
John Searles, Wheeler
Represent school systems