MiSTEM Advisory Council

The 11-member council was created to advise the governor, legislature, the Department of Talent and Economic Development, and the Department of Education with recommendations designed to improve and promote innovation and collaboration in STEM education and prepare students for careers in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The council shall recommend a statewide strategy for delivering STEM education-related opportunities to pupils and objective criteria for determining preferred STEM programs and make recommendations to the governor and the legislature no later than March 1, 2016. Members serve at the pleasure of the governor and are not subject to the consent of the Senate. 
Edward Silver, Dexter
Harrison Ford, Flint
Lee Graham, Fenton
Richard Bacolor, Ann Arbor
Hina Baloch, West Bloomfield
Gerald "Jay" Kulbertis, Gladstone
William Joshua Nichols, Pleasant Lake
Kathleen Owsley, Plymouth
Heidi Maltby-Skodack, Traverse City
Christian Velasquez, Midland
Carolyn Wierda, Bay City