School Safety Task Force

The School Safety Task Force was created to advise the Governor and the Michigan State Police by identifying structural and policy recommendations for collaboration, planning, and assessment of school infrastructure and safety policies. Additionally, the task force will analyze top performing states to determine best practices for law enforcement and preventative policies. The task force is chaired by MSP Director Colonel Kriste Kibbey Etue and includes the state school superintendent, director of the Department of Health and Human Services, and 10 members appointed by the Governor.
Appointed members serve terms expiring at the pleasure of the Governor. The Task Force will submit a final report to the Governor and Legislature no later than November 30, 2018, and shall be abolished 45 days after the submission of the report.
Cory Chavis, Canton
Representing Parents
Nicholas Dent, Marshall
Representing Teachers
David Forystek, Fenton
Nominee of the Speaker of the House
Brian Gard, Rockford
Nominee of the Senate Majority Leader
Patricia Kovacs, St. Clair Shores
Nominee of the Senate Minority Leader
Rick Joseph, Royal Oak
Nominee of the Minority Leader of the House
Larry Johnson, Kentwood
Representing School Administrators
Paul Lauria, Mount Pleasant
Representing Law Enforcement
Elizabeth Newell, Williamston
Representing Mental Health Professionals
Nolan Wright, Saline
Representing Students