School Safety Commission

The School Safety Commission shall review and make recommendations to the office of school safety, including model practices for determining school safety measures. The school safety measures must address at least the following:

  1. The development and evaluation of school safety model practices.
  2. A review of the statewide school safety information policy and the emergency operations plans.
  3. The role of school safety liaisons.
  4. The emerging trends in school safety technology.
  5. The baseline safety requirements for schools.
  6. The baseline hardening measures for new and existing schools.

School Safety Commission Meeting Information


Public Act 548 of 2018

Current Members:

Rick Joseph, Royal Oak
House Minority Leader
Term Expires:  01/14/21

Patricia Kovacs, St. Clair Shores
Senate Minority Leader
Term Expires:  01/14/21
Brian Gard, Grand Rapids
Senate Majority Leader
Term Expires:  01/14/21
David Forystek, Fenton
Senate Majority Leader
Term Expires:  01/14/21
Larry Johnson, Kentwood
School Administrators
Term Expires:  01/14/23

Elizabeth Newell, Williamston
Health Professionals
Term Expires:  01/14/23

Ken Plaga, Okemos
Law Enforcement
Term Expires:  01/14/24
Justine Galbraith, Troy
Term Expires:  01/14/24