Skip to main content

Mental Health Diversion Council

Reiterated by Executive Order 2014-7, the Mental Health Diversion Council is an advisory body to the Governor within the Department of Health and Human Services charged to advise and assist in the implantation of a diversion action plan and provide recommendations for statutory, contractual or procedural changes to improve diversion.  The Council is comprised of 18 members appointed by the Governor to four-year terms.



Contact Information

Steven M. Mays
Diversion Administrator
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Mental Health Diversion Council Liaison 
320 S. Walnut Lansing, MI 48913
Phone: 517-241-3302

Current Members

Steve Kempker, Zeeland
Represents County Sheriffs
Term expires 1/30/23
Jessica Taylor, Detroit
Represents Community prisoner or Jail Re-Entry
Term expires 1/30/24  
Milton L. Mack, Wayne
Represents the State Court Administrative Office
Term expires 1/30/24  
Eric Doeh, Belleville
Represents Medicaid pre-paid inpatient health plan
Term expires 1/30/24  
Bradley Casemore, Battle Creek
Represents adult service agencies and/or providers from a local community mental health service program
Term expires 1/30/24  
Sara Spencer-Noggle, Mount Pleasant
Represents the judiciary
Term expires 1/30/24  
Christopher Becker, Ada
Represents prosecutors
Term expires 1/30/25  
George Strander, Albion
Represents court administrators
Term expires 1/30/25  
Frank K. Fischer, Plymouth
Represents advocates or consumer representatives
Term expires 1/30/25  
James A. Blocker, Delton
Represents local law enforcement
Term expires 1/30/25  
James R. Samuels, Mecosta
Represents licensed attorneys with experience representing individuals with mental illnesses
Term expires 1/30/25
Carlynn D. Nichols, Southfield
Represents juvenile mental health treatment practitioners
Term expires 1/30/26
Johanna L. Clark, Frankenmuth
Represents school systems
Term expires 1/30/26  
Gabrielle Dresner, Northville
Represents advocates of consumer representatives 
Term expires 1/30/26
Debra Pinals, Ann Arbor
Designee of the Department of Health and Human Services  
Lia Gulick, Wheeler
Represents the Department of Corrections  
Soleil Campbell, Okemos
Designee of the Department of Health and Human Services
Lt. Governor Garlin Gilchrist II or his designee