Skip to main content

Michigan Civil Rights Commission

The Michigan Civil Rights Commission was created by the Michigan Constitution of 1963 to carry out the guarantees against discrimination articulated in Article I, Section 2.  As further stated in Article V, Section 29, the State Constitution directs the Commission to investigate alleged discrimination against any person because of religion, race, color or national origin, and to "secure the equal protection of such civil rights without such discrimination."  Public Acts 453 and 220 of 1976 and subsequent amendments have added sex, age, marital status, height, weight, arrest record, and physical and mental disabilities to the original four protected categories.

The Commission consists of eight Commissioners, each serving four-year terms. Of these eight Commissioners, no more than four can be members of the same political party.

Click here to access the Civil Rights Commission homepage and meeting information 


Article 5, Section 29 of the Michigan Constitution of 1963

Contact Information

Shawn Sanford
Civil Rights Commission
Phone: (313) 456-3843
Fax: (313) 456-3791


Stacie Clayton (I), Detroit

Term expires 12/31/2021


Regina Gasco-Bentley (I), Petoskey 

Term expires 12/31/2022


Anupama Kosaraju (D), Franklin

Term expires 12/31/2022


Portia L. Roberson (D), Detroit

Term expires 12/31/2023  


Zenna Faraj Elhasan (D), Dearborn

Term expires 12/31/2023


Richard Corriveau (D), Northville

Term expires 12/31/2024


Gloria Lara (I), Grand Rapids

Term expires 12/31/2024


David Worthams (R),Kalamazoo

Term expires 12/31/2025