Skip to main content

Task Force on Juvenile Justice Reform

The Task Force on Juvenile Justice Reform will focus on analyzing our juvenile justice system, while recommending proven practices and strategies for reform grounded in data, research, and fundamental constitutional principles.  

This task force will exist as a partnership between the county and state leaders, as well as other leaders involved in the juvenile justice system. Additionally, the Task Force's goal will be to develop an ambitious, innovative, and thorough analysis of Michigan's juvenile justice system, complete with recommendations for changes in state law, policy, and appropriations to improve youth outcomes.




Alisha Bell, Detroit, represents a county commissioner nominated by Michigan Association of Counties from a county with a population over 100,000

John Casteel, Ann Arbor, represents an individual who has lived experience as a justice involved youth in Michigan

Cameron Fraser, Traverse City, represents a juvenile defense attorney

Jeannine Gant, Detroit, reoresents a juvenile service provision community which may include juvenile detention, residential treatment or community based services

Steve Hinkley, Homer, represents a county sheriff nominated by the Michigan Sheriff's Association

Karen McDonald, Birmingham, represents a prosecuting attorney nominated by the Prosecuting Attorneys Assocation of Michigan

Everette Robbins II, New Boston, represents a police chief nominated by the Michigan Association of CHiefs of Police

Kimberly Thomas, Ann Arbor, represents a youth justice advocate

Marlene Webster, Owosso, represents a county commissioner nominated by the Michigan Association of Counties from a county under 100,000 in population

Colbert Williams, Grand Rapids, represents a parent or guardian of a justice involved youth in Michigan

Thom Lattig, juvenile court director, 20th Circuit Court

Supreme Court Justice Elizabeth Clement

Judge Doreen Allen, Midland County Probate Court

Judge Karen Braxton, 3rd Circuit Court

Sen. Kim LaSata

Sen. Sylvia Santana

Rep. Sarah Lightner

Rep. Brenda Carter

Asst. Attorney General Stine Grand

State Superintendent Dr. Michael Rice

Derrick McCree, Director of Juvenile Justice Programs, MDHHS

Jason Smith, Representative from Michigan Commission on Juvenile Justice

Lieutenant Governor Garlin Gilchrist