Skip to main content

U.P. Energy Task Force

The UP Energy Task Force (UPETF) was created by Executive Order No. 2019-14. The charge to the Task Force according to section 2(a) of the Executive Order is to: 
  • Assess the UP’s overall energy needs and how they are currently being met. 
  • Formulate alternative solutions for meeting the UP’s energy needs, with a focus on security, reliability, affordability, and environmental soundness. This shall include, but is not limited to, alternative means to supply the energy sources currently used by UP residents, and alternatives to those energy sources.
  • Identify and evaluate potential changes that could occur to energy supply and distribution in the UP; the economic, environmental, and other impacts of such changes; and the alternatives for meeting the UP’s energy needs in response to such changes.
The Task Force shall prepare a final report and submit it to the governor in two stages. First, the Task Force shall submit a propane plan to the governor by March 31, 2020. This plan shall focus on alternative means to supply propane to the UP. Second, the Task Force shall submit the remainder of its report by March 31, 2021.


Contact Information


Liesl Clark - Chair, Howell
Director, Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy
Mike Prusi - Vice-Chair, Ishpeming
U.P. Resident
Tayna Paslawski - Secretary, East Lansing
President, Michigan Electric and Gas Association
Kristopher Bowman, Gulliver
President, Bowman Gas Company
David Camps, Hancock
Owner, Blue Terra Energy, LLC
Mike Furmanski, Escanaba
Electrical Superintendent, City of Escanaba
Thomas Harrell, Gladstone
CEO, Alger Delta Cooperative Electric Association
Jennifer Hill, Marquette
Marquette City Commissioner, contractor with Citizens Utility Board of Michigan
Douglas Jester, East Lansing
Partner, 5 Lakes Energy
Aaron Johnson, P.E., Escanaba
Designee of the Michigan Department of Transportation Director, Region Engineer from the MDOT Superior Region
James Kochevar, Marquette
General Manager, Cleveland Cliffs' iron ore mining location in Ishpeming
Michael Larson, Marquette
Upper Peninsula Operations Manager, Michigan Energy Options
Mike Nystrom, East Lansing
Executive Vice-President and Secretary, Michigan Infrastructure and Transportation Association
Anthony Retaskie, Marquette
Executive Director, U.P. Construction Council
Maj. General Paul Rogers, Farmington Hills
Adjutant General and Director of the Michigan Department of Military and Veterans Affairs
Dan Scripps, Northport
Designee of the Chair of the Michigan Public Service Commission
Dr. Roman Sidortsov, Hancock
Assistant Professor of Energy, Michigan Technological University
Warren "Chris" Swartz, Baraga
President, Keweenaw Bay Indian Community and tribal council member
Tonya Swenor, Marquette
Program Manager, Superior Watershed Partnership