Skip to main content

Education Commission of the States

The Education Commission of the States (ECS) was created in 1965 to improve public education by facilitating the exchange of information, ideas, and experiences among state policymakers and education leaders. As a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization involving key leaders from all levels of the education system, ECS creates unique opportunities to build partnerships, share information, and promote the development of policy based on the best available research and strategies.
Forty-nine states, three territories and the District of Columbia constitute the commission's current membership. Each member state or territory is represented by seven commissioners -- the governor and six other individuals, typically legislators, chief state school officers, state school board members, higher education officials, and business leaders. The chairmanship and vice chairmanship of ECS are held by a governor and a state legislator, respectively, alternating between the two major political parties. Various committees, made up of ECS commissioners, govern investment decisions, oversee the budget, and guide the work of ECS.
The ECS Information Clearinghouse maintains the nation’s most comprehensive education policy resources, including a publicly accessible state policy database, summaries of research studies, and 50-state overviews. ECS has three institutes that focus on specific policy areas: Early Learning and P-3 Institute, National Center for Learning and Citizenship, and Postsecondary and Workforce Development Institute.
ECS, headquartered in Denver, Colorado, is supported financially by a combination of state fees, contracts, corporate sponsorships, and foundation grants.



Contact Information

Lisa Guilfoile
State Relations Associate
Education Commission of the States
Phone: (303) 299-3629
Fax: (303) 296-8332



Punita Thurman


Kellie Dean
Tyler Sawher
Eileen Weiser
Sheila Alles
Additional Members
Governor of the State of Michigan
Representative of the Michigan Senate
Representative of the Michigan House of Representatives