Skip to main content

Great Lakes Commission

The Great Lakes Commission was created for the following purposes:
To promote the orderly, integrated, and comprehensive development, use, and conservation of the water resources of the Great Lakes Basin (hereinafter called the Basin).
To plan for the welfare and development of the water resources of the Basin as a whole as well as for those portions of the Basin which may have problems of special concern.
To make it possible for the states of the Basin and their people to derive the maximum benefit from utilization of public works, in the form of navigational aids or otherwise, which may exist or which may be constructed from time to time.
To advise in securing and maintaining a proper balance among industrial, commercial, agricultural, water supply, residential, recreational, and other legitimate uses of the water resources of the Basin.
To establish and maintain an intergovernmental agency the end that the purposes of this compact may be accomplished more effectively.
Member States: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin


Great Lakes Basin Compact and MCL 324.32202, Act 451 of 1994

Contact Information

Tim Eder
Executive Director
Great Lakes Commission
2805 S. Industrial Hwy, Suite 100
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-6791
Fax: 734-971-9150
Phone: 734-971-9135, ext.
Webpage: or 


Mark Smith, Ann Arbor
Serves at the Pleasure of the Governor
Jennifer McKay, Petoskey
Serves at the Pleasure of the Governor
Additional Members
Michigan Governor or designee
Michigan Attorney general or designee
Member appointed by the Senate Majority Leader
Member appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives