Skip to main content

Michigan Historical Commission

The Michigan Historical Commission was established in 1913 and advises the director of the Michigan Department of Natural Resources on the museum, archival and other programs of the Michigan Historical Center.  It approves Michigan Historical Markers.  The Governor appoints commission members to four-year terms. The appointments to this commission are subject to the advise and consent of the Senate.
Each year, the Michigan Historical Commission presents the Governor John B. Swainson Award to state and local government employees who do not work in the field of history but have made exceptional contributions to preserving and interpreting the stories of Michigan's past.



Contact Information

Michelle Davis
Michigan Historical Commission
P.O. Box 30740
702 W. Kalamazoo St.
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 373-6362


Delia Fernandez, Lansing
Term ends 5/21/22


Brian Egen, Monroe

Term ends 5/21/23
Robin Terry, Rochester Hills
Term ends 5/21/24
Larry Wagenaar, Ada
Historical Society of Michigan
Term ends 5/21/24
Timothy Chester, Grand Rapids
Term ends 5/21/24
Eric Hemenway, Harbor Springs
Term ends 5/21/25
Laura Ashlee, Okemos
Term ends 5/21/25
Thomas Truscott, Lansing
Appointed by the Senate Majority Leader
Joseph Calvaruso, Galesburg
Appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives