Skip to main content

Michigan State Transportation Commission

The Michigan State Transportation Commission is the policy-making body for all state transportation programs. It is comprised of six members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the State Senate. Commissioners serve three-year terms, staggered so that the terms of two commissioners expire each year. No more than three Commissioners are from the same political party as required by the State Constitution.

The Commission establishes policy for the Michigan Department of Transportation in relation to transportation programs and facilities and other such works as related to transportation development, as provided by law. Responsibilities of the Commission include the development and implementation of comprehensive transportation plans for the entire state, including aeronautics, bus and rail transit, providing professional and technical assistance, and overseeing the administration of state and federal funds allocated for these programs.

The Office of Commission Audits reports directly to the Commission. The Office of Commission Audits is charged with the overall responsibility to supervise and conduct auditing activities for the Department of Transportation. The Commission Auditor submits to the Commission reports of financial and operational audits and investigations performed by staff for acceptance by the Commission. 

Click here to access the Transportation Commission homepage and meeting information


Act 286 of 1964

Contact Information

Troy Hagon, Commission Adviser
Shukeyna Thurman, Executive Management Assistant
Michigan State Transportation Commission
Phone:  517-719-2574



Todd Wyett (I), Charlevoix -Chair

Term expires 12/21/2022


Stephen Adamini (D), Marquette

Term expires 12/21/2022


Michael Hayes (I), Midland
Term expires 12/21/2023


Richard Turner (D), Monroe

Term expires 12/21/2023


Heath Salisbury (I), Gaines 

Term expires 12/21/2024


Gregory Johnson (D), Wixom

Term expires 12/21/2024