Skip to main content

Michigan Technological University Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body for Michigan Technological University. Among their responsibilities are the bylaws for the governing of the institution, fixing tuition rates and other fees and charges, appointing and removing personnel, determining compensation, conferring degrees, managing gifts, entering agreements, and acquiring and disposing of property.
The Board consists of eight members appointed by the Governor for eight-year terms. Appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. 



Contact Information

Sarah H. Schulte
General Counsel and Secretary to the Board of Trustees
Room 508, Administration Building
Phone: 906-487-2318


Brenda Ryan, Commerce Township
Term expires 12/31/22

Matthew Johnson, Marquette
Term expires 12/31/22
Derhun Sanders, Redford Township
Term expires 12/31/24
Steven Tomaszewski, Howell
Term expires 12/31/24
Jeffrey Littmann, Grosse Pointe Park
Term expires 12/31/26
John Bacon, Ann Arbor
Term expires 12/31/26
Andrea Dickson, Grosse Pointe Farms 
Term expires 12/31/28
Jon Jipping, Ada
Term expires 12/31/28