Skip to main content

Northern Michigan University Board of Trustees

Michigan's Constitution, which was adopted in 1963, granted constitutional autonomy to Northern Michigan University. It also vested governing authority in an eight-member Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees affirms its obligation to the citizens of Michigan to provide high quality education to people from all walks of life. It correspondingly pledges itself to the wisest use and distribution of resources at its disposal to meet this major objective.
The Board of Trustees consists of eight members appointed for eight-year terms. Appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. 



Contact Information

Cathy A. Andrew
Secretary, Board of Trustees
1401 Presque Isle
Marquette, Michigan 49855-5301
Phone: 906-227-2232


Robert Mahaney, Marquette
Term expires 12/31/22

Tami Seavoy, Marquette
Term expires 12/31/22


Lisa Fittante, Kingsfrod
Term expires 12/31/24
Alexis Hart, Royal Oak
Term expires 12/31/24
Donna L. Murray-Brown, Detroit
Term expires 12/31/26
Stephen Young, Lansing
Term expires 12/31/26
Jason Morgan, Ann Arbor
Term expires 12/31/28
Gregory Seppanen, Marquette
Term expires 12/31/28