Skip to main content

Pipeline Safety Advisory Board

The Pipeline Safety Advisory Board was established to advise and assist in the implementation of matters relating to hazardous liquid and gas pipeline safety, routing, construction, operation and maintenance, and provide recommendations for statutory, contractual, or procedural changes to improve the safety of pipelines in this State.
The Board consists of 15 member who shall serve a term to expire December 31, 2018, and will be housed in the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality.
Heidi Grether, Co-Chair
Director of Department of Environmental Quality
Anne Armstrong Cusack
Executive Director of Michigan Agency for Energy
Matthew Schneider, Chief Deputy Attorney General
Designee of Bill Schuette, Attorney General
Keith Creagh, Co-Chair
Director of Department of Natural Resources
Capt. Chris Kelenske
Designee of Col. Kriste Etue, Director of Michigan State Police
Sally Talberg
Chairperson of the Michigan Public Service Commission
Jerome Popiel, Avon Lake, OH
Federal Response and Recovery Agencies
Jennifer McKay, Petoskey
Environmental Groups
Michael Shriberg, Ann Arbor
Statewide Conservation Groups
Brad Shamala, Eden Prairie, MN
Pipeline Operators
Shawn Lyon, Findley, OH
Oil and Gas Industry
Anthony (Tony) England, Ypsilanti
Public Universities
Christopher Shepler, Harbor Springs
Hospitality and Tourism Industry
Jeffrey Pillon, East Lansing
Consultants with Experience in Pipeline Operations and Safety
Craig Hupp, Grosse Pointe
General Public
Homer Mandoka, Bronson
An individual who is an elected official of a tribal government located within Michigan that is recognized by and eligible to receive services from the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs