Skip to main content

Ski Area Safety Board

The Michigan Ski Area Safety Board was created under Public Act 199 of 1962, as amended to license and regulate ski areas and ski lifts in Michigan. The Ski Area Safety Act defines ski area as an area used for skiing and served by one or more lifts. Ski lifts are defined as a device for transporting persons uphill on skis, or in cars on tracks, or suspended in the air by use of cables, belts, or ropes, and usually supported by trestles or towers with one or more spans.
The Board works with the Department to oversee the operation of ski areas, surface and chair lifts, and rope tows.
The Board consists of 7 members: 3 ski area managers (1 from Upper Peninsula, 2 from Lower Peninsula), 1 member of the central US Ski Association, 1 engineer with skiing experience, 1 person with skiing experience from the Upper Peninsula representing the general public, and 1 person with skiing experience from the Lower Peninsula representing the general public. Each member serves 4 year terms. The appointments of this board are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.



Contact Information

BCC Boards & Commissions
PO Box 30254
Lansing, MI  48909
517/241-9570 (facsimile)

Jeff Cranson, Grand Rapids
Term expires 6/8/22
Public Member from the Lower Peninsula w/ski experience
Matthew Torreano, Marquette
Public Member from the Upper Peninsula w/ ski experience
Term expires 6/8/22
Thomas Wheat, Kalamazoo
Term expires 6/8/23
Professional Engineer w/ski experience
Samuel Brackett, Kingsford
Term expires 6/8/24
Upper Peninsula Ski Area Managers
Charles Gano, Petoskey
Term expires 6/8/24
Central US Ski Association
Timothy Meyer, Cadillac
Term expires 6/8/25
Lower Peninsula Ski Area Managers
Dana Carnevale, Grawn
Term expires 6/8/25
Lower Peninsula Ski Area Managers