Skip to main content

State Fire Safety Board

The Michigan State Fire Safety Board was created by the Legislature through 1941 PA 207. The State Fire Safety Board has the mission of protecting life and property from fire, smoke, hazardous materials and fire related panic in specific types of public facilities in cooperation with the Bureau of Fire Services and other fire organizations within the state.
The State Fire Safety Board assists in development of fire safety rules covering the construction, operation and maintenance of schools, health care facilities, penal facilities; state owned and leased facilities; operation and maintenance for public assembly and other buildings; oversight of delegation of fire inspection responsibilities; and serving as an administrative hearing body on decisions made by the Bureau of Fire Services.
The Board consists of 17 members who are residents of this state: the State Fire Marshal and 16 members appointed by the Governor for four year terms. Appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. 



Contact Information

Hollie Metts
Assistant to the State Fire Marshal
Bureau of Fire Services
3101 Technology Blvd., Suite H
Lansing, MI  48910
Telephone:  (517) 241-2074
Fax:  (517) 332-1428



Lindsey Haley, Ada

Represents owners of adult foster care facilities 

Term expires 7/15/21


Tina Kerr, Eaton Rapids
Represents people who are members of a statewide association representing school board members or school administrators

Term expires 7/15/21


Robert Williams III, Dexter
Represents the building trades

Term expires 7/15/21


Kenneth Letts, Marshall
Represents the flammable liquids industry
Term expires 7/15/21
Paul Korte, New Boston 
Represents the nursing home industry
Term expires 7/15/21
Represents organized fire departments in the Lower Peninsula 
Steven Densmore, Melvindale 
Term expires 7/15/23
Patrick Phelan, Marine City
Represents registered professional engineers 
Term expires 7/15/23
Kenneth Herbart, Lansing - Chair
Represents registered architects
Term expires 7/15/23
Dylan Rogers, Lansing
Represents people who own a place of public assemblage
Term expires 7/15/23
Andrew Marceau, Alpena
Represents organized fire departments in the Lower Peninsula
Term expires 7/15/23
Tavis Millerov, Williamston
Represents organized fire departments in the Lower Peninsula
Term expires 7/15/24
Randall Halstead, Lowell
Represents the liquefied petroleum or flammable compressed gas industry
Term expires 7/15/24
Jeramie Morris, Saginaw
Represents the chemical manufacturing industry
Term expires 7/15/24
Brian Talvensaari, Marquette
Represents organized fire departments in the Upper Peninsula 
Term expires 7/15/24
Julie Bulson, Grand Rapids

Represents hospital administrations

Term expires 7/15/24


David Williams, Lansing 
Represents licensed electrical contractors or master electricians
Term expires 7/15/24
Ex-Officio Member
Kevin Sehlmeyer, State Fire Marshal