Skip to main content

The Grand Rapids-Kent County Convention/Arena Authority

The Grand Rapids-Kent County Convention/Arena Authority (CAA) is the seven-member board that administers Van Andel Arena, DeVos Place and DeVos Performance Hall.  The CAA was established on March 29, 2000 by the City of Grand Rapids and County of Kent under the Convention Facility Authority Act, Act 203 of the Public Acts of Michigan of 1999. The mission of the CAA is to encourage economic development within the West Michigan region, create jobs, and provide facilities for the entertainment, enjoyment, and/or benefit of the citizens in an economical manner by developing and operating convention, entertainment, and sports facilities within Kent County.
The Board consist of 7 members who are residents of the county: Two members appointed by the county board of commissioners, two members appointed by the mayor, one member appointed by the governor, and two members appointed by the other 5 members. Members are appointed for 4-year terms. 



Contact Information

Susan M. Waddell
Administrative Manager
Grand Rapids-Kent County Convention Area Authority
303 Monroe, NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone: (616) 742-6594
Fax: (616) 742-6595


Current Members

Richard A. Winn, Chairman
AHC Hospitality
County Appointee
Birgit M. Klohs, Vice Chair
City Appointee
Mandy Bolter
Chair, Kent County Board of Commissioners
County Appointee
Floyd Wilson, Jr.
Pinnacle Construction Group
CVB Appointee
Hon. Rosalynn Bliss
Mayor, City of Grand Rapids
City Appointee
Lew Chamberlin
West Michigan Whitecaps
CVB Appointee
Charles Secchia, Grand Rapids
Governor Appointee
Term expires 2/29/20