Skip to main content

Utility Consumer Participation Board

The Utility Consumer Participation Board was created by Act 304, P.A. of 1982, (Section 460.6l of the Michigan Compiled Laws). The five-member Board provides grants to qualified applicants that represent the interests of Michigan's residential energy (gas, electric, and other fuel) utility customers at residential energy proceedings before the Michigan Public Service Commission. Funding is generated through annual assessments of certain regulated utility companies.
The board shall consist of 5 members appointed by the governor, 1 of whom shall be chosen from 1 or more lists of qualified persons submitted by the attorney general. The members of the board shall be appointed for 2-year terms beginning with the first day of a legislative session in an odd-numbered year and ending on the day before the first day of the legislative session in the next odd-numbered year or when the members' successors are appointed, whichever occurs later.




Contact Information


Susan Weber
SEMA to LeAnn Droste
(517) 335-5968 




Term expires 1/12/23
Paul Isely, Grand Rapids
Term expires 1/12/23
Samuel Passmore, Ann Arbor
Term expires 1/12/23
Michael Troupos, Grand Rapids
Term expires 1/12/23
Elise Matz, Marquette
Term expires 1/12/23
Qualified person submitted by the Attorney General