Skip to main content

Western Michigan University Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of Western Michigan University. It derives its powers from the Constitution of the State of Michigan (1963, Article VIII, Sec. 6), Enrolled House Bill No. 54 (72nd Legislature, Second Extra Session of 1963), and Enrolled Senate Bill No. 30 (75th Legislature, 1969).
There are eight members of the Board appointed by the Governor to eight-year terms. Appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. 



Contact Information

Dr. Kahler B. Schuemann
Chief of Staff and Secretary to the Board of Trustees
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo, Michigan 49008-5219
Phone: 269-387-2360


William "Bill" Johnston, Portage
Term expires 12/31/22

Jeff Rinvelt, Ann Arbor
Term expires 12/31/22
Term expires 12/31/24
Shani Penn, Farmington Hills
Term expires 12/31/24
Lynn Chen-Zhang, Portage
Term expires 12/31/26
Shelly Edgerton, Plainwell
Term expires 12/31/26
Kurtis Trevan, Grand Rapids
Term expires 12/31/28
A. Alan Turfe, Northville
Term expires 12/31/28