Skip Navigation
Michigan Department of Environmental QualityMichigan.gov, Official Web Site for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
close print view

Drinking Water Operator Certification

You need to know which exam or exams you would like to take. The exams available are based on the classifications and requirements explained in our "Exam Applications and Study Guides" section. After you know which test you want to take you need to get a copy of an exam application. You can do that by contacting us or by printing the application available on this web site. The rest of the process follows.  

Rules:  The Safe Drinking Water Act 399 contains information for Supplying Water to the Public, and consists of 27 parts.  The Rules for Drinking Water Operator Certification are included in Part 19 . 

Requirements for Certification: PDF or  Word 
Certification Renewal Status:   PDF or  Word 
    
Drinking Water Certification Renewal Application:  PDF or Word 
Directions for Drinking Water Certification Renewal Applications: do not send in applications before 90 days prior to your certification expiration date.  Do not use this application for any other certification renewal.

HOW TO BE CERTIFIED: 

  1. Apply by the deadline: Applications received after the deadline will not be processed.
  2. Application Review: We will review your application to make sure you have the required operating experience and education requirements for the certification(s) you are applying for.
  3. Eligibility: You will be notified whether or not you have been approved to take an exam approximately two weeks prior to the exam date. If approved, you will be notified of the time and place you will be taking the exam.
  4. Exam time: The next step in the process is taking the exam itself.
  5. Immediately after the exam, the grading process is started. You will be notified of your score within 45 days of the exam date for levels 1-4 and 20 days for level 5. If you pass, you will receive a certificate.
  6. Certifications have a renewal requirement that involves completion of drinking water Advisory Board approved courses. Within three years from the issue date on your certificate, you will need to earn Continuing Education Credits ( CEC's) for your certification(s) to be renewed. Certificates that expire can be renewed if the pro-rated continuing education requirement is satisfied within one year of the certification expiration date. A certification "Renewal" postcard is mailed to all individuals 8 weeks prior to their expiration date detailing steps necessary to renew current certification(s). Use the chart below to determine renewal requirements for each certification level. The CEC's required are based on the highest certification level held.

Certification Level Held 

Renewal CEC's needed 

1-90 days expired 

91-180 days expired 

181-270 days expired 

271-365 days expired 

1, 2, or 3 

2.4 

2.6 

2.8 

3 

3.2 

4 

1.2 

1.3 

1.4 

1.5 

1.6 

5 

0.9 

0.9 

1 

1.1 

1.2 

Related Content
 •  Drinking Water Operator Training Contacts
 •  Certification Renewal Information PDF icon
 •  Drinking Water Online Payment System
 •  Exam Applications and Study Guides
 •  Check Your Drinking Water CECs Online
 •  Drinking Water Training Materials
 •  List of Approved Courses for CECs
 •  Participant Roster for Drinking Water DOC icon
 •  Drinking Water Manuals and Books Order Form PDF icon
 •  Training Courses and Continuing Education Credit Information
 •  2014 Certification and Training Calendar PDF icon
 •  Small Systems Training
QR code

Michigan.gov Home
PoliciesMichigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan