Skip Navigation
Michigan's Former, official Web site for the state of Michigan Home
  • Former Governors Home
  • close print view

    Constitution of the State of Michigan of 1835

    Michigan ConstitutionThe Constitutional Convention of 1835 drafted Michigan's first constitution. The convention was held in Detroit (the capital of the territory) from May 11 to June 24, 1835. John Biddle, a delegate from Wayne County, served as president of the convention.


    The 91 delegates to the convention represented the counties of Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Chippewa, Hillsdale, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Lenawee, Mackinac, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair, St. Joseph, Washtenaw and Wayne.


    On June 24 the delegates adopted the constitution for submission to a vote of the people. On October 5 and 6, 1835, the people of Michigan approved the constitution by a vote of 6,299 to 1,359. Michigan was admitted to the Union as a state on January 26, 1837.


    (Michigan had five constitutional conventions after its first in 1835. The people of Michigan adopted the constitutions drafted in the conventions of 1850, 1907-1908 and 1961-62 (adopted April 1, 1963). The people rejected constitutions proposed by the conventions of 1867 and 1873.)


    The Constitution of the State of Michigan of 1835 is housed at the Archives of Michigan. The fragile document is displayed for public viewing once a year for the "Statehood Day" celebration in January.


    Read or download a transcription of the Constitution of the State of Michigan of 1835. [PDF, 22 pages]

    -Mark Harvey, State Archivist

    Click Archives of Michigan to visit the Archives of Michigan home page.

    Click Image of the Month Archives for other archived image pages.

    Archives of Michigan
    Michigan Library and Historical Center
    702 W. Kalamazoo Street
    Lansing, MI 48913
    Phone: (517) 373-1408

    Updated 05/18/2006.


    Michigan Historical Center, Department of History, Arts and Libraries
    Use and Reproduction Information [PDF]
    Send comments about this page to

    QR code Home
  • Former Governors Home

  • Accessibility Policy
  • Link Policy
  • Privacy Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Michigan Survey

    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan