Tribunal Members

 Steven H. Lasher



Judge Lasher was appointed to the Tax Tribunal in 2010. Judge Lasher comes to the Tribunal from the Michigan law firm of Foster, Swift, Collins and Smith, P.C., where he was a partner for 17 years. At Foster, Swift, Judge Lasher was Practice Group Leader for the firm's Municipal Practice Group, with a practice primarily focused on state and local tax law, including property tax appeals at the Tax Tribunal. Prior to joining Foster, Swift, he was Vice President and General Counsel for the Midland Cogeneration Venture, the nation's largest cogeneration facility. Judge Lasher has also served as Tax Counsel/Tax Manager at General Motors Corporation, American Natural Resources Company, and Guardian Industries. He has also served as an Adjunct Professor of taxation and related business courses at Alma College and Northwood University. Judge Lasher is a member of the Michigan State Bar, graduated from the Detroit College of Law in 1977, and has been named as a Best Lawyer in America.

Appointment expires: June 30, 2018

Preeti P. Gadola 

Attorney Member


Preeti Gadola was appointed to the Michigan Tax Tribunal in 2011, for a partial term, and reappointed in 2013. She earned a bachelor’s degree, with honors, from the University of Michigan in 1986 and a law degree from Wayne State University Law School in 1990. Judge Gadola worked as a Hearing Referee for the Tax Tribunal from 1992-1994 and again from 2010-2011. She also worked as a grader for the Michigan Bar Exam for over a decade. She previously served as an Assistant Attorney General in both the Social Services and Revenue Divisions, representing the Family Independence Agency and the Michigan Department of Treasury. Previous to that she was an associate attorney at Adams, Mott and Staniszewski. She also served as a Public Member of the Michigan Board of Medicine and is a Member of the State Bar of Michigan, Taxation Section.

 Appointment expires: June 30, 2021.

David B. Marmon

Attorney Member  



Judge Marmon was appointed to the Tribunal in June of 2014.  For the past 15 years, he has worked as an attorney for Hoffert & Associates P.C., where he litigated in the area of property taxation before the Tribunal and the state’s appellate courts. He earned his LLM in taxation in 1993 from Wayne Law School where he previously earned his JD in 1981. Since admission to the State Bar of Michigan in 1981, he has practiced in a variety of areas including business law, collections, real estate, bankruptcy, family law and municipal law. He has taught federal income taxation and business law and served as Deputy Treasurer for the City of Warren.

 Appointment expires June 30, 2019.

Marcus L. Abood 

At Large Member


Judge Abood was re-appointed to the Tax Tribunal in February 2016. He was originally appointed to the Tax Tribunal from 2010 to 2015. Prior to coming to the Tribunal, and for the past 25 years, Judge Abood owned and operated a real property valuation practice. He is a past president of the Mid-Michigan Chapter and holds an SRA designation with the Appraisal Institute. Judge Abood is a Certified General Real Estate Appraiser in the State of Michigan. He was an instructor for Lansing Community College from 1999 to 2011. In addition, he is an AQB Certified USPAP Instructor with The Appraisal Foundation. 

Appointment expires: June 30, 2019

 Valerie F. Lafferty        

Appraiser Member 


Judge Lafferty was appointed to the Michigan Tax Tribunal in 2015. Ms. Lafferty has extensive real estate and valuation experience working in both the public and private sectors throughout Michigan. She is a graduate of Michigan State University, Wayne State University, and MSU College of Law. Most recently, Ms. Lafferty served as Review Appraiser for Michigan Department of Natural Resources and Michigan Natural Resources Trust Fund. Ms. Lafferty continues to be an active volunteer in her community and in professional associations. 

Appointment expires: June 30, 2018.