• Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce Records
    Order a Record By Mail

    Regular processing time for mail-in orders is 4-5 weeks and rush processing is 2-3 weeks.  This includes mail time and processing your payment through our Accounting Department. If you have questions, please contact our Eligibility Unit at 517-335-8666.

    Please select from the following application forms for birth, death, marriage, divorce and Affidavit of Parentage records. Please review the entire list below to determine the appropriate form for your needs.

    **PHOTO ID REQUIREMENTS**
    Birth records less than 100 years old and Affidavit of Parentage records filed in the Central Paternity Registry are restricted documents and you must prove eligibility in order to request one. We will accept a current valid driver's license, state-issued photo identification card or passport. If you do not have photo ID, click on the alternative documents link for a list of alternative documents that can be used.  Verifications do not require Photo Identification.


    **** IMPORTANT NOTICE ****
    The State Vital Records Office will be closed on recognized state holidays.

Birth Record Applications

  • Birth Certified Copies

    A certified copy is printed on special safety paper and contains a raised, embossed seal. Records are available as early as 1867, however, the initial registration year varies by the county where the birth occurred click here for table. Birth records are restricted in Michigan and only a person or parent named on the record or a court-appointed legal guardian of the person named on the record may request a copy of a birth record that is LESS than 100 years old. A legally licensed representative is eligible to request a copy if he/she represents the person named on the record. Power of Attorney documents may be used, depending upon the limitations of the power of attorney order. Each will be handled on an individual case-by-case basis. An heir may request a copy of a birth record LESS than 100 years old if they can provide an out-of-state death certificate or the death information if it was a Michigan death with the request. Requests placed by a legal representative, power of attorney, or heir must be ordered by mail with appropriate documentation. Anyone can request a birth record that is OVER 100 years old as they are no longer restricted documents.

  • Birth Senior Citizen Certified Copies

    A person who is age 65 or older and applying for a certified copy of his or her own birth record is charged a reduced fee. The reduced fee does NOT apply to a senior citizen ordering a record for someone else.

  • Birth Authenticated Copies (Exemplified) w/Apostille

    An authenticated (exemplified or containing an apostille) record is typically required by a foreign government for adoption, work visas, or establishing residency. An authenticated document is NOT needed for foreign travel. You must provide the name of the FOREIGN country where the document will be used. An apostille CANNOT be applied to a document that will be used in the United States.

  • Birth Verification

    Key facts on any Michigan birth record can be verified. Anyone is eligible to request a verification of a Michigan birth record as long as the information to be verified can be supplied by the applicant. A verification does not include a signature, state file number or a copy of the birth record, but a stamp that indicates that a record is/is not on file in the state repository that matches the criteria supplied by the applicant. Parents names cannot be verified. Only the name on the record, date, place and date of filing can be verified.  Photo ID not required.

  • Birth - Stillbirth

    The Michigan Vital Records office issues certificates of stillbirth that occurred in Michigan with information filed after June 1, 2003 with the state. Michigan law limits who can receive a certified copy of a Michigan Certificate of Stillbirth to the parent named on the certificate or a court of competent jurisdiction (court order required).

Affidavit of Parentage

  • Affidavit of Parentage

    Effective March 31, 2003, Michigan law restricts who can receive a certified copy of an Affidavit of Parentage record. The Michigan Vital Records office has Affidavit of Parentage records that were properly filed and registered in the Central Paternity Registry since June 1, 1997. If the Affidavit of Parentage form you are requesting was filed prior to June 1, 1997, please contact the Probate Court in the county where the mother resided at the time of signing, or the Probate Court in the county where the child was born.

  • Affidavit of Parentage Verification

    Key facts on any Michigan Affidavit of Parentage record can be verified. Anyone is eligible to request a verification of a Michigan Affidavit of Parentage record as long as the information to be verified can be supplied by the applicant. A verification does not include a signature, state file number or a copy of the Affidavit of Parentage record, but a stamp that indicates that a record is/is not on file in the state repository that matches the criteria supplied by the applicant. Parents names cannot be verified. Only the name on the record, date, place and date of filing can be verified.  Photo ID not required.

    Verification of Intent to Claim Paternity (Putative Father Registry)

    Submitting this form will produce a search of the Michigan Putative Father Registry to determine whether or not a paternity claim has been registered for a particular mother-to-be. Anyone is eligible to request a verification of a Michigan Notice of Intent as long as the information to be verified can be supplied by the applicant. A verification of a Notice of Intent to Claim Paternity will include a signature of the searcher who performed the search and the date, but will not include a copy of the notice of intent to claim paternity form. The form will indicate whether or not an intent has been filed, and the results can be faxed or mailed to the applicant (or both).  Photo ID not required.



Death Record Applications

  • Death Certified Copies

    Records are available since 1867.  Any individual may request a copy.

  • Death Authentication (Exemplified) w/Apostille

    An authenticated (exemplified or containing an apostille) record is typically required by a foreign government for adoption, work visas, or establishing residency. You must provide the name of the FOREIGN country where the document will be used. An apostille CANNOT be applied to a document that will be used in the United States. Anyone can order this type of document.

  • Death Verification

    Key facts on any Michigan death record can be verified. Anyone is eligible to request a verification of a Michigan death record as long as the information to be verified can be supplied by the applicant. A verification does not include a signature, state file number or a copy of the death record, but a stamp that indicates that a record is/is not on file in the state repository that matches the criteria supplied by the applicant. Parents names cannot be verified. Only the name on the record, date, place and date of filing can be verified.



Marriage Record Applications

  • Marriage Certified Copies

    Records are available since 1867. Any individual may request a search.

  • Marriage Authenticated (Exemplified) w/Apostille

    An authenticated (exemplified or containing an apostille) record is typically required by a foreign government for adoption, work visas, or establishing residency. You must provide the name of the FOREIGN country where the document will be used. An apostille CANNOT be applied to a document that will be used in the United States. Anyone can request this type of document.

    No Marriage (Single Status) Authenticated (Exemplified) w/Apostille

    This application should be used if you need to request a STATEMENT OF NO MARRIAGE from the State of Michigan so you can be married in a foreign country.  Click here for additional information and instructions on requesting this type of search.

  • Marriage Verification

    Key facts on any Michigan marriage record can be verified. Anyone is eligible to request a verification of a Michigan marriage record as long as the information to be verified can be supplied by the applicant. A verification does not include a signature, state file number or a copy of the marriage record, but a stamp that indicates that a record is/is not on file in the state repository that matches the criteria supplied by the applicant. Parents names cannot be verified. Only the name on the record, date, place and date of filing can be verified.



Divorce Record Applications

  • Divorce Certified Copies

    Records are available since 1897. Any individual may request a search.

  • Divorce Authenticated (Exemplified) w/Apostille

    An authenticated (exemplified or containing an apostille) record is typically required by a foreign government for adoption, work visas, or establishing residency. You must provide the name of the FOREIGN country where the document will be used. An apostille CANNOT be applied to a document that will be used in the United States. Anyone can request this type of document.

  • Divorce Verification

    Key facts on any Michigan divorce record can be verified. Anyone is eligible to request a verification of a Michigan divorce record as long as the information to be verified can be supplied by the applicant.  A verification does not include a signature, state file number or a copy of the divorce record, but a stamp indicating if a record is/is not on file in the state repository that matches the criteria supplied by the applicant.  Parents names cannot be verified. Only the name on the record, date, place and date of filing can be verified.

TEXT