Skip Navigation
MI.gov
MSP - Michigan State Police | MSP Michigan State Police | MSP
Michigan State Police | MSP
Email this Page
Share this Link on Facebook
Tweet this page on Twitter!

Search, Modify, Locate, Set Aside or Expungement of Criminal History Records

Procedure to search criminal history records: 

Procedure to modify your criminal history record information: 

Procedure to search criminal history records for employment/licensing when fingerprints are required by law: 

 The search is for arrests with conviction unless the governing statute requires arrests without conviction to be provided: 

  • Obtain a Live Scan request form from your employer/licensing agency. 

  • Complete the center section of the form. 

  • Contact approved Live Scan vendor

  • The Live Scan site will collect the State and FBI search fee.  Plus a fee for the service will be set by the Live Scan vendor. 

  • Other Live Scan sites may be available through the sheriff or local police departments. 

  • Turn around time is 7 business days or less.  Responses will be returned to the requestor identified by the agency ID number. 

  • Employers needing an agency number can call the number below. 

Further questions
Phone (517) 241-0606
FAX (517) 241-0866
E-Mail: msp-crd- applhelp@michigan.gov 

Procedure to search criminal history records for visa, immigration, personal records check or adoption (fingerprints are required): 

 

Individuals requesting their own criminal history receive all data (public & nonpublic): 

  • If you are a Michigan resident, go to your local Michigan law enforcement agency and ask to be printed on a Michigan Applicant Fingerprint card (RI-8).  Complete the card entirely. 

  • If you are not a Michigan resident but require a Michigan criminal history record check, go to any law enforcement agency in the state where you reside and ask to be printed on a FBI Applicant Fingerprint card (FD-258).  In the "Reason Fingerprinted" block of the card write in "Michigan Record Check".  Complete the card entirely.  Include a cover letter explaining the reason for the fingerprint submission.  Requirements are the same as Michigan residents. 

  • If more than one original certified or notarized response is required, there will be an additional fee of $1.00 each added to the processing fee. 

  • Provide a return address in block F of the form.  We can only send a criminal history to the individual that was printed.  Even, if requested, we cannot mail it to another individual or agency.  The applicant should include a return address, phone number and/or e-mail address. 

  • Submit the card and a $30.00 processing fee in the form of a money order or check made payable to the State of Michigan. 

  • Mail the above information to the Michigan State Police, CRD, Identification Section, P.O. Box 30266, Lansing, Michigan 48909. 

  • Allow 3 to 5 weeks for processing and mail delivery for the Michigan criminal history record search. 

  • No walk-in traffic is allowed. 

  • If you require a national criminal history record check for a visa, immigration, personal records or adoption, you must ask the local law enforcement agency to be printed on a FBI Applicant Fingerprint card (FD-258) or a similar card.  The card, fee and a letter explaining your requirements must be sent directly to the FBI.  Details regarding the FBI requirements can be found at www.fbi.gov.  Select the link titled "More Services" and follow the instructions for "Requesting your FBI Identification Record/Rapsheet" or you may phone their office in West Virginia at (304) 625-5590 and speak with a Customer Service Representative. 

 

Further questions:
Phone (517) 241-0606
FAX (517) 241-0866
E-Mail: msp-crd- applhelp@michigan.gov 

Petitioning the court for a legal change of name: 

  • Make a formal application with the court for a legal name. 

  • Go to your local Michigan law enforcement agency and ask to be printed on a Michigan Applicant card (RI-8). Complete the card entirely. 

  • Submit the card to the Michigan State Police, CRD, Identification Section, P.O. Box 30266, Lansing, Michigan 48909, fully completed with "name change" written in segment E "other" block and mark the box under "search requirements" for FBI & State. The name of the court must be written in segment F "send response to". A $46.50 processing fee for each individual (check or money order) made out to the State of Michigan and a copy of the court application form must also be submitted with the card. 

  • Allow approximately 3 to 5 weeks for both the State and FBI response to be returned to the court. 

  • No walk-in traffic is allowed, please call for an appointment at the number below under further questions. 

  • Questions regarding your legal change of name should be directed to the originating court. 

 

Further questions:
Phone (517) 241-0606
FAX (517) 241-0866
E-Mail: msp-crd- applhelp@michigan.gov 

Procedure to search criminal history records, by name, without fingerprints: 

The search by name is only for criminal convictions that may be on file.  Most employment checks are by name only, unless fingerprints are required for licensing or by state law. 

  • Go to www.michigan.gov/ichat.  You will be required to register with an e-mail address as well as your name and address.  All fields marked with an asterisk(*) are mandatory.  You will need to create your own password; the password must be between 6 and 12 characters long, contain both letters and numbers, and it is case sensitive. 

  • Once you have registered, click on "Search for Criminal History".  You will be asked how many searches you wish to perform. 

  • You will then be prompted for credit card information.  The cost is $10.00 for each search, payable with a Visa or MasterCard credit or debit card. 

  • Once your credit card transaction has been approved, you will be sent to the search information page.  All fields marked with an asterisk(*) are mandatory; the search cannot run without name, race, date of birth, and gender.  You are also allowed up to three variations on a name.  Examples: Mary Jane Doe, Mary Jane Smith, Jane Doe, and Jane Smith can all be searched together. 

  • Once you click on the submit button, the search should be completed in less than a minute.  You will still be on the search screen.  Scroll down and you will be given the option of doing more searches or viewing the responses. 

  • When you view the response, click on the person's last name.  You will either be told that the person has no record or you will be shown the person's conviction record.

Further questions:
Phone (517) 241-0606
FAX (517) 241-0866
E-Mail: msp-crd-ichathelp @michigan.gov
 

Procedure to set aside a conviction 

 This is a judge-ordered removal of a criminal record (from public to nonpublic) for a juvenile with not more than three juvenile offenses and no felony convictions or an adult with one criminal conviction and not more than two minor offenses: 

  • The criteria to set aside an adjudication for a juvenile offense is found within MCL 712A.18e and the criteria to set aside a conviction for an adult offense is found within MCL 780.621 . 

  • You must receive and complete an application to set aside a conviction or set aside an adjudication from the court where you were convicted and a certified copy of the judgment of sentence, probation order, or register of actions. The proper form for adults is the MC227 and for juveniles is the JC66. 

  • Go to a Michigan law enforcement agency and ask to be printed on a Michigan Applicant Fingerprint card (RI-8). Complete personal information on the card. Make sure that the place labeled "FBI & State" is marked in block E of the card under "Search Requirements". 

  • Submit the applicant fingerprint card (RI-8), the application form from the court (MC227 or JC66), a certified copy of the judgment of sentence, probation order, or register of actions, and a $50.00 ($25.00 juvenile set aside) processing fee in the form of a money order or check made payable to the State of Michigan.  If applying for multiple juvenile set asides, include a copy of each application and certified judgment/order. Juvenile set aside applications submitted separately will require additional fingerprints and $25.00 fees. 

  •  Mail the above information to the Michigan State Police, CJIC- Criminal History, P.O. Box 30266, Lansing, Michigan 48909. 

  • Instructions for setting aside juvenile adjudications and adult convictions are Here

  • As noted in the SCAO instructions, you can check your public criminal history at ICHAT.  ICHAT searches cost $10, and you can save or print a copy immediately. This may save you time and money by helping you determine if you are eligible for a set aside.  Please note that ICHAT will not show juvenile cases for which the final adjudication is not on file with the Department of State Police, and local court files may have additional information.

  • No walk-in traffic is allowed, please call for an appointment at the number below under further questions. 

  • Allow 4 - 6 weeks for processing and mail delivery. 

 

Further questions:
Phone (517) 241-0606
FAX (517) 241-0866
E-Mail: msp-crd-crimhelp@michigan.gov 

Information regarding the "return of prints" with disposition findings of: not guilty, not guilty by reason of insanity, dismissal, or nolle prosequi can be found in MCL 28.243 

  • The criteria to have fingerprints removed are found within MCL 28.243. 
  • The form MC235 (Motion and Order for Destruction of Fingerprints and Arrest Card) must be completed by the court and signed by the judge. 
  •  The Defendent's or Juvenile's name, current address, and date of birth must be completed on the form. 
  • Fingerprints cannot be returned when the case is dismissed under the following statutes: 
    • MCL 333.7411, Controlled Substance Act 
    • MCL 750.350a, Parental Kidnapping Act 
    • MCL 762.14, Holmes Youthful Trainee Act 
    • MCL 769.4a, Spouse Abuse Act 
  • The form can be faxed to (517) 322-6288 or mailed to: 

Michigan State Police 
Criminal Records Division
P.O. Box 30634 
Lansing, Michigan 48909 

  • No walk-in traffic will be allowed, please call for an appointment at the number below.

Further questions:
Phone (517) 241-0606 
FAX (517) 241-0866
E-Mail:  msp-crd-crimhelp @michigan.gov

Procedure for the suppression of records (nonpublic): 

  • A suppression of records is a record made nonpublic by court order (fingerprints are not returned). 

  • If you feel your record should be suppressed/nonpublic, contact the court of conviction. 

  • No walk-in traffic is allowed, please call for an appointment at the number below. 

 

Further questions:
Phone (517) 241-0606
FAX (517) 241-0866
E-Mail:  msp-crd-crimhelp @michigan.gov

Procedure to correct a court disposition: 

  • If the judicial segment of your criminal history record is in error, obtain a copy of the correct court disposition from the court and attach it to the record print out for mailing. 

  • Mail the above information to the Michigan State Police, CRD, Identification Section, P.O. Box 30634, Lansing, Michigan  48909. 

  • No walk-in traffic is allowed, please call for an appointment at the number below under further questions. 

  • Allow 4 - 6 weeks for processing and mail delivery. 

Further questions:
Phone (517) 241-0606
FAX (517) 241-0866
E-Mail:  msp-crd-crimhelp @michigan.gov

FBI Record: 

If you would like to correct information posted on the FBI record, you must contact the agency that furnished the information to the FBI.  For details outlining this procedure, please call (304) 625-5590 and select option 2 or you may visit their website at www.fbi.gov for instructions on how to challenge your FBI record.  This includes all arrests by federal agencies, even those in Michigan. 

Contact crimhelp@michigan.gov if the entry on the FBI record is a Michigan law enforcement agency other than a Michigan-based federal agency.