The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Under the Michigan Insurance Code, you have important rights governing the payment of benefits from your auto insurance company. Upon receipt of an auto insurance claim, Michigan law requires your auto insurance company to do the following:
- Tell you within 30 days of the auto insurance company being informed of the loss, what information is needed to handle your claim.
- Pay any part of your claim the auto insurance company has received proper supporting documentation (proof of loss) for and pay the rest of your claim when proper supporting documentation is received.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) claims, including medical bills, are considered overdue if they are not paid within 30 days after the auto insurance company has received satisfactory supporting documentation. Interest is owed on the amount overdue at a rate of 12% simple interest.
If your auto insurance claim for damages to a vehicle are not paid within 60 days after your auto insurance company has received satisfactory supporting documentation, the claim may be considered overdue. Interest may be owed on the amount overdue at a rate of 12% simple interest.
For more information, please review DIFS’ consumer publication: Insurance Policies and How to Claim What's Yours.
If you are concerned your auto insurance company is not paying your benefits in a timely fashion or is unfairly delaying or denying your claim, you may file a complaint with DIFS. DIFS will review your concern and will attempt to resolve your complaint and see that your questions are answered.