Skip to main content

Who is considered an eligible noncitizen?

The state follows federal guidelines for its scholarships and grants. Futures for Frontliners is a last-dollar program after other state and federal aid have been applied, therefore applicants must be eligible for federal student aid to receive Futures for Frontliners.

Eligible non-citizens are defined by the federal government as:

A U.S. national (includes natives of American Samoa or Swains Island), U.S. permanent resident (who has an I-151, I-551 or I-551C [Permanent Resident Card]), or an individual who has an Arrival-Departure Record (I-94) from U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) showing one of the following designations:

  • "Refugee"
  • "Asylum Granted"
  • "Cuban-Haitian Entrant (Status Pending)"
  • "Conditional Entrant" (valid only if issued before April 1, 1980)
  • Victims of human trafficking, T-visa (T-2, T-3, or T-4, etc.) holder
  • "Parolee" (You must be paroled into the United States for at least one year and you must be able to provide evidence from the USCIS that you are in the United States for other than a temporary purpose and that you intend to become a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.)

Based on the above list, the individuals who would not qualify for federal aid, and thus Futures for Frontliners, include but are not limited to:

  • F1 Student Visa and their dependents/spouses (F2)
  • Temporary Protected Status (TPS)
  • Individuals on work-sponsored visas (i.e. J1 and H1-B) or their dependents/spouses (J-2 and H-4)
  • Asylum Pending
  • Business/Tourist visa holders (B-1, B-2)
  • DACA recipients