The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Michigan National Guard State Tuition Assistance Program
Public Act 259 of 2014 established the Michigan National Guard State Tuition Assistance Program (MINGSTAP) to provide tuition assistance to members of the Michigan National Guard who are attending any public or private college, university, vocational school, technical school or trade school located in Michigan. For more information about the program, please call 517-481-7640 or email MINGSTAP@michigan.gov.
- Training Programs - up to $6,000
- Certificate Programs - up to $6,000
- Master's Degree - up to $6,000
- Associate Degree - up to $14,400
- Baccalaureate Degree - up to $14,400
MINGSTAP is available to members of the Michigan National Guard who (1) are active in the National Guard (including the traditional service of one weekend/month and two weeks/year; (2) are not absent without leave or under MCMJ or UCMJ charges; and (3) meet the additional criteria established by the TAG consistent with the guard's recruiting and retention requirements.
- Vocational Training
- Technical Training
- Associate's Degree
- Bachelor's Degree
- Master's or first Professional Degree (Effective Fall 2023, students already enrolled in MINGSTAP will be grandfathered in. New professional degrees will not be accepted.)
Public Act 33 of 2023 expands eligibility for tuition assistance to spouses and dependents of National Guard members. It allows one or more of the following individuals who are family members of the eligible person to utilize the eligible person’s tuition assistance established under this act. Spouses and dependents are described as:
(a) A lawfully married spouse.
(b) A dependent child, stepchild, or legally adopted child who has graduated high school or obtained a high school diploma equivalent certificate, or who has turned 18 years of age, and who must use the eligible person's tuition assistance before turning 26 years of age.
Public Act 531 of 2016
Public Act 33 of 2023
MINGSTAP Approved Flight Schools