Skip to main content

Snyder appoints members to Board of Chiropractic

February 18, 2011

Contact: Sara Wurfel
(517) 335-6397 

LANSING, MI -- Governor Rick Snyder today appointed Thomas Klapp and Christophe Dean to the Board of Chiropractic.

"The board performs an important service by upholding chiropractic standards for the well-being of Michigan residents," Snyder said. "We appreciate the willingness of these two professionals to work toward the betterment of their industry and state."

Klapp, of Ann Arbor, has 27 years of chiropractic practice. He is the president of First Choice Chiropractic of Ann Arbor, which he founded in 2001. He was named Chiropractor of the Year in 2003, 2006 and 2007 by the Michigan Chiropractic Association. Klapp was heavily involved in the creation of the Michigan Association of Chiropractors. He created the Benefit-Oriented Long Term Chiropractic Seminar and co-founded the assistants for Chiropractic Excellence Program for chiropractic assistants. Klapp is a graduate doctor of chiropractic from Life Chiropractic College in Marietta, Ga.

Dean, of Troy, has 35 years of chiropractic practice and has been at Dean Chiropractic in Berkley since 2000. He was named 2008 Chiropractor of the Year by the Michigan Association of Chiropractors. Dean was also involved in the merger of the two institutes that created the Michigan Association of Chiropractors. He is the president of the Michigan Association of Chiropractors and is a trustee of Logan College of Chiropractic. He earned a bachelor's degree from Penn State University and is a graduate of Palmer College of Chiropractic in Davenport, Ia.

Klapp replaces board member, Patricia Ann Odette and Dean replaces Jeffrey Louis Eisman. Appointments are for four-year terms that expire Dec. 31, 2014, and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.