Skip to main content

Appointments made to Biofuels Coalition and Onion Committee

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Contact: Sara Wurfel
Office: 517-335-6397

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced appointments to the Governor's Biofuels Coalition and the Michigan Onion Committee.

"These individuals will help continue the important focus on Michigan's rural areas and agricultural development," Snyder said. "Not only to help create an environment for more and better job creation, but to provide opportunities for our rural communities to flourish."

Governor's Biofuels Coalition 

The coalition is a bipartisan organization of representatives from 33 states promoting national biofuels policies that support economic development and energy innovation.

Martin Dober, of Lansing, will serve as the representative for the state of Michigan. He is the senior vice president of new markets with the Michigan Economic Development Corporation. Dober will serve a term expiring at the pleasure of the governor.

Michigan Onion Committee

The committee is dedicated to improving the profitability of Michigan's fresh and processed onion industries.

Glenn Leep, Mark Nail and Eric Schreur are reappointed.

Leep, of Martin, is the president of 4-L Farms Inc. in Shelbyville. He has been farming for more than 30 years with over 900 acres of onions, potatoes, pumpkins and soy beans. Leep previously served on the Michigan Potato Industry Commission and the Allegan County Farm Bureau Board of Directors.

Nail, of Marshall, is the owner of Mark Nail Farms and has been farming for 15 years with 200 acres of onions, soybeans and corn.

Schreur, of Hudsonville, is the field manager of Schreur Farms Inc. and has been farming for 20 years with 330 acres of onions and celery. He previously served as president of the Michigan Celery Promotional Cooperative. Schreur earned a bachelor's degree in horticulture from Michigan State University.

Appointees serve three-year terms expiring Sept. 20, 2013, and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.