Skip to main content

Board of Pharmacy appointments announced

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Contact: Sara Wurfel
Office: 517-335-6397

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today appointed Patricia Harney, Nichole Penny, Suit Hing (Mary) Moy-Sandusky and Patricia Smeelink to the Michigan Board of Pharmacy. 

The board oversees Michigan's pharmaceutical industry, including drug manufacturing and distribution.

"These individuals will provide the board extensive knowledge and skill in the pharmaceutical industry and I am confident their contributions will benefit our state," Snyder said.

Harney, of Grand Haven, is the new business development and legislative affairs manager at Hospice of Michigan. She previously served as facility marketing manager for Metron Integrated Health Systems and as a market development consultant for Tendercare Inc. She earned a bachelor's degree in psychology and gerontology from Eastern Michigan University, a master's degree in therapeutic recreation and health science from Wayne State University and a master's degree in business administration from Cornerstone University. Harney represents the general public and replaces Ilene Hartman-Abramson.

Penny, of Three Rivers, is a district pharmacy supervisor for Walgreens. She is a member of the Ohio Northern University College of Pharmacy advisory board and has served on several committees for the Michigan Pharmacists Association. Penny also previously served as an adjunct professor at Ohio Northern. She earned a bachelor's degree from the Ohio Northern University College of Pharmacy. Penny represents pharmacists and replaces Gwenesia Collins. 

Moy-Sandusky, of Ann Arbor, is a psychiatry clinical pharmacist specialist at the Veterans Affairs Hospital and president of Drug Therapy Consultants Inc. She is a clinical instructor at the University of Michigan and received the Michigan Pharmacists Association's "CPSM Pharmacist of the Year" award in 2011. Moy-Sandusky earned a bachelor's degree in pharmacy from the University of Michigan. She represents pharmacists and replaces David Bach.

Smeelink, of Ada, is the owner of East Paris Pharmacy and an adjunct faculty member at Ferris State University. Smeelink was named "Community Pharmacist of the Year" in 2009 by the Michigan Pharmacists Association. She earned a bachelor's degree in pharmacy from Ferris State University. Smeelink represents pharmacists and replaces Suhair Farida.

The appointees will serve four-year terms expiring June 30, 2015 and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.