Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments to Commission on Community Action and Economic Opportunity

Friday, April 20, 2012

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Jill Edwards-Sutton, of Mount Pleasant, Nancy Macfarlane, of Battle Creek, and Douglas J. Williams, of Clarkston, to the Commission on Community Action and Economic Opportunity. He also appointed current board member Anne Armstrong Cusack to serve as chair for a term at the pleasure of the governor.

Established in 1981, the council seeks to mitigate the causes and effects of poverty as well as promote self-sufficiency and economic opportunity.


"These individuals are great picks for this commission and will help work for a better quality of life for all Michigan citizens," said Snyder.


Edwards-Sutton is executive director of the Mid Michigan Community Action Agency in Farwell, where she has worked since 1989. Previously, she served as the director of early childhood education for Shepherd Public Schools. Edwards-Sutton holds a bachelor's degree in child development and a master's degree in community agency counseling from Central Michigan University.


Macfarlane is chief executive officer of the Community Action Agency of South Central Michigan. She also is a member of the Branch, Barry and Calhoun Workforce Development Board and its planning committee. Previously, Macfarlane served as vice president of community impact for United Way of Greater Battle Creek. She earned a bachelor's degree in psychology from Michigan State University.


Williams retired in 2005 as Oakland County's deputy county executive, and then served for three years as the county's retirement administrator. Previously, he worked as Oakland County's deputy county treasurer and in the Michigan Department of Treasury's local audit division. Williams earned a bachelor's degree in accounting from Ferris State University.


Appointees will serve three-year terms that expire June 21, 2014, and their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.