Skip to main content

Governor makes appointments to Board of Counseling

Friday, July 20, 2012

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder has appointed Robyn Emde, of St. Joseph, and Gerald Papazian, of Lake Ann, to the Michigan Board of Counseling. 

The 11-member board assists the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs in overseeing the practice of more than 8,800 counselors in Michigan.


"Robyn and Gerald bring great skills and years of experience, and I am confident they are excellent choices for this board," said Snyder.


Emde serves as a counselor at Comfort in Counseling Robyn's Nest as well as a guidance counselor for Holland Public Schools. Previously, she worked as an at-risk counselor for Buchanan Community Schools and as a home-based therapist for Riverwood Community Mental Health in Benton Harbor. Emde is a member of the Michigan Counseling Association and the American Counseling Association. She holds a bachelor's degree in elementary education from North Central University in Minnesota, a master's degree in counseling from Bethel College in Indiana and is currently working toward a doctorate in counselor education supervision from Walden University. Emde will represent those engaged primarily in teaching, training or research in counseling and replaces Martha Burkett.


Papazian is owner of Northern Woods Counseling and Consulting and serves as an at-risk counselor for Elk Rapids Senior High School. Previously, he worked for Benzie County Central Schools. Papazian is a member of the Michigan Counseling Association, Michigan Association for Marriage and Family Counseling and the Michigan Association for Clinical Counseling. He earned a bachelor's degree in history and physical education from Eastern Michigan University and a master's degree in educational psychology from Michigan State University. Papazian will represent professionals primarily engaged in providing counseling techniques, behavior modification techniques or preventative techniques to clients and replaces Harriet Singleton.     


Appointees will serve four-year terms that expire June 30, 2016, and their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.