Skip to main content

Appointment, reappointment made to State Employees Retirement System board

Friday, September 21, 2012

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder has appointed Ruth Duquette, of Holt, and reappointed Matt Fedorchuk, of Okemos, to the State Employees Retirement System board.

The nine-member board oversees the State Employees Retirement System defined benefit plan. In addition to the governor's four appointed members, the state insurance commissioner, attorney general, state treasurer, deputy legislative auditor general and the state personnel director also serve on the board.


"Ruth and Matt are experienced professionals and I am confident they will effectively oversee retirement matters for state of Michigan employees," said Snyder.


Duquette is director of payroll and tax reporting for the Michigan Department of Technology, Management and Budget. Previously, she served as a manager and senior manager with Andrews Hooper & Pavlik, as an auditor with the Office of the Auditor General, and held various positions with the Michigan departments of Management and Budget, Environmental Quality and Treasury. Duquette is a certified public accountant. She holds a bachelor's degree in business administration and accounting from Davenport University and is currently pursuing a degree at Thomas M. Cooley Law School. Duquette will represent employee members of the retirement system and replaces David Dekker.


Fedorchuk is director of the Michigan Civil Service Commission's Office of Classification, Selection and Compensation. He also serves as the commission's senior policy executive, legislative liaison and public information officer. Fedorchuk brings more than 20 years of experience with the commission, having previously served in the areas of compensation, classification and human resource information systems. He received a bachelor's degree in multidisciplinary social sciences and a master's degree in public administration, both from Michigan State University. Fedorchuk will continue to represent employee members of the retirement system.


Duquette will serve the remainder of a three-year term that expires July 31, 2014, and Fedorchuk will serve a three-year term that expires July 31, 2015. Appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.