Skip to main content

Governor makes appointment, reappointment to Certificate of Need Commission

Thursday, April 25, 2013

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointment of Denise Brooks-Williams, of Detroit, and the reappointment of James "Chip" Falahee, of Kalamazoo, to the Certificate of Need Commission.   

The 11-member commission regulates and balances the cost and quality of and access to Michigan's health care system. It also develops, revises and determines approval or disapproval for Certificate of Need standards. No more than six members can be from the same political party.


"I am confident Denise and Chip will effectively serve in these roles, and continue the important work of ensuring all Michiganders have access to and receive quality, affordable health care," said Snyder.  

Brooks-Williams is president and chief executive officer of the Henry Ford Wyandotte Hospital. She previously served as president and chief executive officer of Bronson Battle Creek and the Battle Creek Health System, and held various leadership positions with St. Joseph Mercy Oakland Hospital and the Detroit Medical Center. Brooks-Williams holds a bachelor's degree in psychology and a master's degree in health services administration, both from the University of Michigan. She will represent hospitals, serve as a Democrat and replace Edward Goldman.

Falahee is the corporate compliance officer and senior vice president of legal and legislative affairs for the Bronson Healthcare Group. He brings more than 30 years of experience in health care law and legislation and is former president of the Michigan Society of Hospital Attorneys and Michigan Bar Association Healthcare Council. Falahee earned a bachelor's degree in political science from the University of Michigan and a law degree from Wayne State University. He will serve as a Republican and continue to represent hospitals.

Appointees will serve three-year terms that expire April 9, 2016, and their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.